We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of B&B Sassolino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Sassolino
Ranked #34 of 206 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Nice B&B in a good location at the bottom of the sassi. Lots of privacy, nice room and well furnished. Minimal breakfast, but generally a nice stay. Matera is beautiful and the B&B has a nice terrace with a great view of the caverns

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJR_004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 225 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

We enjoyed with our stay.Easy car park,perfect position to explore Sassi,charming cave dwelling...Very friendly owners.
Matera is very interesting place and Sassolino is ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linomatera, Proprietario at B&B Sassolino, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011
Google Translation

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This place was absolutely charming. It's right at the bottom of one of the only car accesses into the Sassi. The parking was easy and it is right next to a great restaurant and also a bar.

It only has two rooms that I could see, a lovely little patio that overlooks the edge of town, a nicely stocked kitchen for a self-service continental breakfast. We got the upper room which sort of overlooks the kitchen area. It could be noisy if you had inconsiderate neighbors coming and going from the lower room but we had no such problems. It was clean and the owners were so friendly and helpful. Its central location made it very easy to explore all of the Sassi at our leisure. And nothing beats the charm of staying in a comfortably modernized prehistoric cave dwelling!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I’ve been there, visiting Matera does worth it... it’s amazing!!! I stayed in this wonderful B&B, and I really liked it. The place is comfortable, the service is totally satisfying and the owners were so kind to me. It made my stay in Matera really enjoyable! I do recommend it! Greetings from Belgium!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kruggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This was a great little place that was right in the middle of the Sassi in Matera. We are a young couple and were looking for a nice and not too expensive place to stay and this fit the bill to a tee! The service was friendly and there were smiles all around. The bathroom was nice and clean and the shower was good. The breakfast was good with a great cappuccino maker that we could use. The room was nice and comfortable and made us feel happy to stay in it because it was nicely designed and tastefully decorated. It had extremely friendly owners and was a pleasure to stay at. In short: I would highly recommend this place to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanTrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Susi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank attiliosepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Dimora Santa Barbara
Dimora Santa Barbara
#14 of 206 in Matera
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fra i Sassi Residence
Fra i Sassi Residence
#8 of 206 in Matera
457 reviews
0 mi away
BB La Corte dei Pastori
BB La Corte dei Pastori
#4 of 206 in Matera
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Donna Eleonora Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Casastella B&B
Casastella B&B
#13 of 206 in Matera
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sassolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sassolino

Address: Via Bruno Buozzi 180, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range: $99 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sassolino B&B is located in the oldest part of the Sassi of Matera – UNESCO world Heritage since 1993. It was an Old Cave House. Now, after a careful and a long period of restoration became a toasty residence for many Italian and Foreign people.Sassolino B&B is divided in tow Old Houses on different floor. The Houses are formed in two parts, one is excavated and one is built.Every house has an independent entrance with a little and nice terrace in front of her, private toilet with shower, air conditioning, telephone, cable TV, internet Wi-Fi. Accettiamo anche carte di credito e bancomat.also accept credit cards and ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Sassolino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing