We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL VIEW, DELICIOUS FOOD!”

La nicchia nel Sasso
Ranked #25 of 402 Restaurants in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $61
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 26, 2019

We sat at an outside table which had the most amazing view. The food was amazing. The servers were very attentive, but our food was presented very quickly- it was even really crowded on our table. Because of the beautiful view, we wanted to have a long meal and really enjoy our food.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AL803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 214 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

So happy we came across this amazing place. The food was great especially the pistachio cheesecake and the view was beyond compare. Make sure to ask for a table outside on the terrace.
Unforgettable!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank fionnualar373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

The location is really great especially considering the amazing view of the Sassi.
Staff is very kind, in fact despite being full, they arranged a table for me on the terrace. They were quite caring throughout my meal there.
Good food too: cooked with integrity and passion for rediscovering local ingredients and dishes.
The only complain is that the kitchen speed of service is painfully slow.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank snow_on_the_ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

The best ! Without words! Please try the cheesecake and the proseco! We ordered the beef cheeck and it was perfect!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank codrint489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefCarbone, Proprietario at La nicchia nel Sasso, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Thank you, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Away from the touristic places of Matera, we had dinner on our first night in this beautiful city. The view is very nice, the food excellent, remarkable red wine and friendly service!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank morganeb1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La nicchia nel Sasso also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to La nicchia nel Sasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing