We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveler rating
1,298
111
31
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,298
111
31
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderfloor heatingunique experienceprivate dinnerwooden doorunique hotelburratacave churchcow bellsnational parkour honeymoonrustic furniturefilm setan upgradebreakfast was amazingbucket listmod consbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Amazing hotel with amazing history. A unique experience staying in a cave, a once in a life time ‘must do’. The ambience is truly historic, but with all the luxury touches. Breakfast was an outstanding local affair. Matera itself must be on your itinerary if you are visiting Italy. Truly spectacular.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TheDnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We visited because we had seen Matera presented on TV by The Hairy Bikers.
The hotel was everything we had hoped for and so much more - staggering attention to detail and absolutely wonderful, helpful, friendly staff.
Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and served with a smile.
There is no parking - you can drop your suitcases, but then you have to take your car away. The hotel offers a valet service, but we found that quite expensive, so we chose to find a parking place in the 'modern' part of the city (the hotel helped us locate streets with free parking).
We would highly recommend this hotel, and can't wait to return ourselves.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, but the surfaces are very uneven (it's old!!) so we would not recommend for the infirm/children.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

I came away fro the Sextantio Le Grotte Della Civita, not knowing quite what happened. So taken aback were we, at the location, history, atmosphere and of course the absolutely wonderful kind staff, that made our stay even more memorable and even more special. This is like staying a night in a museum, but in sheer luxury. The staff are genuinely very proud of Le Grotte history and roots, which is the story of human kind.

This truly is a very special place to stay.

My only advice is that although the staff help and offer a brilliant porterage service and valet parking so your luggage and car will not be an issue. There are many steps within Matera, so one needs to be fairly active to enjoy the town and her sights.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElvisPhish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

I booked the entire structure to throw my husband a surprise birthday party. We had family and friends stay there and organised a great dinner al fresco. The place, location and rooms are amazing but I was completely taken aback by the staff who went beyond each and every time we had a question or request. Unbeatable. Thank you xxx

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank mdamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

What an experience! I was completely blown away and speechless by the hotel and it's surroundings. Our trip to Matera and stay at Sextantio was a gift from me to my boyfriend for his 30th birthday and I could not be happier with the whole package. Upon arrival, we got the warmest welcome with some tea and biscuits (also because we arrived 2 days after it snowed so it was quite cold). Reception service was impeccable and super efficient. And we got an upgrade! What a pleasant surprise - I had booked one of the standard caves to only be given the key to one of their amazing suites. After being escorted to our amazing suite and given some information regarding breakfast, we were able to look around. The suite was wonderful, spacious, had a whole separate room with the most romantic bath tub gave us the experience of being in a 'cave' which really came alive for us. The large iron key for the main door, dim lighting, candles, authentic stone flooring and walls, dark wood furniture and linen sheets was a perfect blend of modern and old, perfectly and simply balanced with not too much furniture and the best part was the lack of electronics (tv and such) which made the whole experience so much more relaxing. A nice little touch was a personalized letter from the hotel to us which explained the history of Matera and the hotel which was placed right near a large fruit bowl and complimentary water jug (loved how it wasn't a plastic bottle). The whole hotel was plastic free. The staff at the reception, dining hall and even the cleaners were amazingly attentive, efficient and polite. It was lovely to always see a smile and they were always ready to help, give advice on where to go in the city and explain the history of Matera. Breakfast was splendid, a large buffet with all possible treats, hand selected bio foods from the area and artisan cakes. Eggs, toast and other items that needed to be freshly cooked as well as tea and coffee could be ordered once seated. Cereals, yoghurt, a selection of cheeses (omg the burrata) and salamis, fruit, nuts you name is was laid out on long wood tables, we could have literally eaten everything! Without a doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and will happily return in the near future. A truly magical and unique experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Teizeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews