We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Nearby Hotels
$180
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sassi(Matera)
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/27
$139
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$458
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$124
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/31
$223
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/26
Book now, pay at stay
$155
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$351
$341
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $429/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 06/02
$316
$306
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveler rating
1,251
109
29
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,251
109
29
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderfloor heatingunique experiencewooden dooronce in a lifetimecave churchelectric lightingcow bellsunique hotelnational parkour honeymoonfilm setbreakfast roombucket listan upgradebreakfast was amazingstone floorsspecial hotel
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Our recent stay in the suite cave 4 was unique and unforgettable. The cave was huge, warm and comfortable. The low lighting and candles set the mood for a very relaxing and romantic stay. The heated floor around the bed was a nice surprise and the free standing oval bath tub was a fantastic way to unwind and relax at the end of the day. The breakfast selection of fresh local produce was the best we have experienced in Italy and the fact that you are sitting in an ancient cave church to eat it just adds that special touch. It is also a nice place to have a glass of wine and fresh olives in the afternoon before going out for dinner. All of the staff at Sextantio are what made our stay complete, they are all very friendly, helpful and professional, nothing was too much trouble. I had been looking forward to our stay at Sextantio with much anticipation and it not only lived up to my expectation but far exceeded it. We thank you all for the most wonderful experience, it was unforgettable. If you are visiting Matera this is the only place to stay!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband, 16 year old son and myself stayed in Cave No 4 for 3 nights in April 2014-it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life and can't wait to stay there again-but for longer next time! The staff were so warm and welcoming-nothing was too much trouble! The cave itself was warm and beautifully scented- I loved the simple linen on the table and soft sheets on the bed. We had the best night's sleep in ages- even with jet lag from a long flight from Australia!
The breakfast buffet had to be seen to be believed-such delicious cakes, frittatas, fruits, cheeses,juices, coffee to order...I still dream about it! I absolutely loved Sextantio. Matera too was a revelation-fascinating-I will spend much longer there next time. We dined at a restauant called Baccante, which we also thought was wonderful...lovely steak and cheesecake and service! Can you tell I'm missing Matera?!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebMatera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Truly amazing hotel I ever stayed. A unique experienced to stay in the ancient cave nack in 18th century. The perfect view right in front of the room, like heaven on earth. The best services from every single staffs. I'm surely return again. Love it all can never ask for more.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank seasons-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

What an experience. Most unique place I have ever stayed in, in one of the most interesting towns I have ever visited. I absolutely loved it and was so glad we went. We stayed in Cave 8 and I would go back there in a heartbeat if we ever found ourselves in Matera again.

Since nearly everyone gives the highest remarks for this hotel, I just thought I would note why someone may not like it. And most of the reasons are related to the fact that you are staying in a cave, so you have to expect that some modern comforts may not be there.

-- relatively dark because the only natural light is from a small window up front
-- not a lot of privacy with the bathroom, the tub is wide open as is the toilet.
--Things feel ever so slightly damp; my allergies could sense it a slight bit.
-- the stone floors are a bit uneven and can get very slippery. I would think if people have difficulty walking it may not be suitable, but the whole town of Matera would be difficult.

Room Tip: Cave 8 was amazing and huge!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaHBonn_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

There are places on this planet that remain rocky,defiant and hang in a universe that time has almost forgotten. Matera is a place where its difficult to discern where rock ends and town begins. Stone fuses with stone to form a glacier-grey light that shimmers when the sun shines.
While visiting one of the oldest towns in the world, my travel agent sent me an offer to stay at Sextantio ,which we hummed and hawed about, but nevertheless decided to check it out. One look at this hotel of simplicity,authentically restored and incorporating a surreal beauty,a state of grace, a remarkable state of suspension between the past and the present.
The interior is rock,solid rock as ancient as it gets. Its theatrical,where you feel sometimes an actor on a film set,with solid wooden furniture of the region,your vision constantly updated by the magic light pouring in through the windows. The rooms are real caves each with mod- cons. Candles add the alchemy of illumination and an exotic excitement.
Breakfast is served in an old church with the staples coming from the town itself. The honey and jam as well as the butter are addictive.Matera offers plenty of dining opportunities.
By the way,if you are travelling out of a suitcase as we were,its no big deal not having anywhere to put your stuff. Great place to act out your monkish role.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews