We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vogue Living should definitely pay a visit here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vogue Living should definitely pay a visit here”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow! The cave rooms are breathtaking - even with a forewarning. I loved the way the large beds were quite high in keeping with the way they were in ancient times (they used to keep hens under the bed!) The shower was amazing: the biggest shower rose I've ever seen! And the floor heating in the bathroom! The breakfast room was filled with the strains of Mozart and Vivaldi which was divine. The breakfasts were probably the best I encountered. The clever soft coloured lighting that was placed in deep holes in the limestone walls made for a very beautiful ambience. And to hear cow bells in the distance - wait a minute - then look across and down to see the cows coming down the mountain and across the river that faces the front of the hotel, is quite extraordinary! I could've looked at that scene for ages. And also all the fabulous restaurants nearby was wonderful.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have a bath (a huge Italian one, though). There are rooms with a shower if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    94
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
118
847
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This has got to be the most unique place that my husband and I have ever experienced. Imagine being able to live in a cave that has this much history. They have done an incredible job with this property to make sure that it retains its' history but making it livable and comfortable. The simplicity of it is part of the beauty. We looked out onto a gorge with a stream at the bottom and everyday about 40 or 50 cows would meander down to the stream for a cool drink. They were wearing cowbells which made the most beautiful music that I will never forget. The Sassi is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and there are findings dating back to the Paleolithic era. Being amidst the history of this area left a deep emotional impact on me. Also the breakfast that was served in the dining cave was the most outstanding breakfast during our whole trip in Italy. Fresh cheeses and breads, vegetables and fruit and fresh squeezed oj, excellent coffee.
To the wonderful folks from LA that we met, I hope you read this so that we can apologize for not meeting you for dinner in Benevento. It turned out to be an hours drive in very nasty weather and we had no way to contact you. So sorry, we had been looking forward to spending the evening with you all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chevyflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The ancient grottoes that serve as hotel rooms are authentic stone cave dwellings that have been equipped with ultra-modern (think sleek, spare Italian design) plumbing and electricity. The bed is comfortable. The lighting is minimal, by design, and this was a bit of an issue for me as some of the sassi (grottoes/rooms) are deep. The only natural light may be one or two very small windows at the front entrance (or leaving the main arched entrance door open during daylight - not always practical). There is an temperature controlled air-flow system, but there is still a slight dampness inside. From a visual standpoint, the rooms are unbelievable. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The "breakfast room" is a grotto that was once a church. The hotel is on three levels; all face out onto the hillside and valley of the archeological park --- very pleasant. The steps up to the hotel and uneven flooring inside the rooms would be very difficult for those with mobility issues. Room amenities include shampoo and slippers but no robe or safe. I liked the hotel and the experience, but in my opinion, a stay longer than a night or two is probably too much.

Room Tip: If you need natural light, make sure to ask for a "room" with larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlustnyc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have nothing to say about this place but wow! The service, food, wine, cave, the overall atmosphere... simply amazing. Despite the cold wind and rain on the outside, the cave was warm. Everything is well thought through to maintain the atmosphere without losing out on comfort. An exceptional experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this incredible hotel for 2 nights and I can honestly say it was the best hotel experience of my life given its uniqueness. The cave suites are spacious and authentic and equipped with discreet modern day luxuries which don't spoil the unique ambience of the caves.

The location is excellent with a free car park nearby and the staff were all very helpful.

It's a truly magical and unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The cave rooms are facing a magnificent gorge and we could actually hear the sound of the
stream in our room to further add to the magical ambience. Staying here really adds to the Matera experience. The cave rooms are exquisite, linen sheets, candle lite, the oval shaped
bathtubs on the heated stone floors, huge rooms all carved in tufa stone.
This is the place to stay in Matera!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

For my wifes's birthday celebration we wanted something special, and truely we got more than we could have hoped for.
Imagine a hotel in old caves, centuries ago inhabited by people and their domestic animals, now converted into candlelight lit rooms. We got an upgrade to a deluxe "room" actually (a bit pricy normally) comprising three connecting caves with all modern amenities. Breakfast (soon also restaurant for dinner) is served in a huge church-cave, and was almost exclusively composed of delicious local produce and freshly made delicacies. The staff was very friendly, the whole atmosphere is in tune with the extraordinary place. The place is a bit hard to find, but once discovered it proved to be an amazing experience.

Room Tip: If you are not willing to climb too manu stairs, ask for one of the lower rooms close to the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henricus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita

Property: Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Address: Via Civita 28, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Matera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#1 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#9 Business Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matera can be found in the south of Italy and is world famous because of its Sassi quarters, a stunning and well preserved example of a village where hundreds of caves were turned into dwellings, churches and palaces. A UNESCO World Heritage site since 1993, the Sassi represent a unique hamlet throughout Italy: the earliest inhabitants date back to the stone and bronze age, in the middle ages it boasted several monastic communities and later became a vibrant farming centre, owing to the rich harvests from the surrounding hills and plains. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is placed in the oldest part of the Sassi quarters, the CIVITA, facing the spectacular Murgia park and its rock-hewn churches. It comprises 18 rooms (some of them exceeding 160m²) and an ancient church, the "Cripta della Civita," now used as a common area, all renovated to retain their original features. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is situated in the historical heart of Matera. The 18 caves have been renovated in full respect of the local heritage. Each cave reveals the original shape and materials. The interior design, the respectful and minimalistic approach of Sextantio is reflected in the plain furniture elements. The guests will experience a particular atmosphere evoking the cultural and human history of the Sassi of Matera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sextantio Civita Caves Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing