We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Blend of the Past with the Present”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Nice Blend of the Past with the Present”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Cannot say much more than what has already been said. A little difficult to find, but well worth the trouble. Our room was perfect - clean, dimly lit and with candles strategically placed throught the room. Only had a tub which worked out great - nice to soak those sore muscles after walking the stairs of Matera. The room was spacious - hard to believe there were families living in smaller sassi until the mid 1950's. Enjoyed our time in Matera and our stay at Le Grotte della Civita.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    94
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
118
849
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Honestly, I can't really say much more than what others have said. I'd also give it a 6 star, if that were possible. Romantic, cozy, candle-lit caves; the nicest breakfast in italy; incredible and fascinating city; not too touristy. The city and this hotel are a MUST! I would suggest disregarding the one negative comment entirely. This is a perfect place.

Room Tip: Our family stayed in two rooms - one a suite, the other a regular double room. Each was absolutely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank personfromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wow, what a place.... We were blown away! They might not have showers and all the conventional stuff, but it is absolutely gorgous! A place we will never forget.

Our breakfast was also very interesting. Not the ussual croissant and coffee sage.

Bedding very good quality and the room nice and warm.

In the town there was not much to do, but the panoramics are breathtaking. I suspect we will be returning seeing that my husband is a profesional photographer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tree10075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Don't read this review. Book the cave. Magical. The downside of this hotel is that it kept us from going outside due to its amazingness. This hotel is a heavenly blend of Four Seasons and medieval grotto. Why are you still reading? Book the cave.

Room Tip: Cave 21 has amazing architecture and a bathtub that can fit 3 people, or two people with lots of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euphgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. It is in authentic caves with modern luxuries. One of the most romantic settings especially in the evenings with all the candles provided in the suites. There are no TVs which is perfect because you are not then distracted from the beauty that surrounds you. Our children love it here as well. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are spotless. Wish we were staying longer than 2 nights. Location is great. Pack light, there are about 50 stairs to climb to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHappyHappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

A very remarkable hotel. This place is to be cherished. In spite of living in a cave you will be cosy and comfortable and well looked after by the friendly staff. But please don't bother if TVs, minibars and such are of importance to you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We would give an extra star if we could! This may be the most special hotel we've ever stayed in. Our family of four was upgraded to a superior room. It was cold and rainy outside, and we'd been very cold in our (heated) room the night before, but our cave in Matera stayed the perfect temperature throughout our stay (thanks to a heated floor). The cave was lit with candles when we arrived, and the bath looked so inviting that we took four baths in our 22 hour stay. The fruit basket was overfilling with perfect persimmons, grapes and oranges. Wifi worked perfectly.
The breakfast was incredible (and most of it vegetarian!). Everything locally sourced and home made. Our favorites were the ricotta-chocolate spread and the mozzarella's. Highly recommended!

Two sidenotes:
1.) The coffee at breakfast didn't live up to the standards of everything else.
2.) There was no door that separates the toilet from the rest of the cave in the cave where we stayed, which could be a problem for some people (the cave is very big though, with lots of nooks and crannies).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoverRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita

Property: Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Address: Via Civita 28, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#1 Family Hotel in Matera
#1 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#9 Business Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matera can be found in the south of Italy and is world famous because of its Sassi quarters, a stunning and well preserved example of a village where hundreds of caves were turned into dwellings, churches and palaces. A UNESCO World Heritage site since 1993, the Sassi represent a unique hamlet throughout Italy: the earliest inhabitants date back to the stone and bronze age, in the middle ages it boasted several monastic communities and later became a vibrant farming centre, owing to the rich harvests from the surrounding hills and plains. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is placed in the oldest part of the Sassi quarters, the CIVITA, facing the spectacular Murgia park and its rock-hewn churches. It comprises 18 rooms (some of them exceeding 160m²) and an ancient church, the "Cripta della Civita," now used as a common area, all renovated to retain their original features. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is situated in the historical heart of Matera. The 18 caves have been renovated in full respect of the local heritage. Each cave reveals the original shape and materials. The interior design, the respectful and minimalistic approach of Sextantio is reflected in the plain furniture elements. The guests will experience a particular atmosphere evoking the cultural and human history of the Sassi of Matera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sextantio Civita Caves Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing