We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21st century cave dwellers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Uppland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“21st century cave dwellers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived on a very rainy and wet evening in October. It was not very easy to find the place, but once we found it we were amazed. The whole Sassi area of Matera is fantastic, and staying in one of the caves of Sextantio is an experience you will never forget.
The cave was lit by candles and some discrete lamps. The bathroom had a good shower, but it would have been nice to have a bathtub since the weather was cold and damp. Apparently some of the standard caves have only a shower, while others have only a bathtub. It would have been nice to be able to choose. However there was a huge bottle of bath foam that was of no use.
The wifi was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay.
In the morning an excellent breakfast was served in another cave!
For staying more than one night a better reading light would be nice. But apart from that the cave was really pleasant and cozy. And don't miss the museum of contemporary sculpture, which is situated in similar caves not far from Sextantio!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kartul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    94
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
118
849
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

During a 3 week trip through southern Italy we stayed at a number of great hotels, but this one is truly unique! The caves are luxurious, the breakfasts are one of the best we experienced and the Internet connection was fast! The city itself is an explorer's paradise. If your in the south of Italy, don't miss this one.

Room Tip: Room 13 is huge (5 rooms in total), has lots of natural light including a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EatItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had some difficulties to find this pretty place, because the red sign "Sextantio" is so shy and small on the wall that you drive by...
...but once you are there it's a world of its own and we can warmly recommend it.
The rooms are really within "cave homes" and restoration has been done in a wonderful and detail-minded way.
Old wooden doors, beautiful bathtubs, nothing but natural materials, lots of candles: Every single piece in the rooms has been chosen with good taste and true love for ancient surroundings and "the real thing". So the ambiance is simply magic and quiet and peace reign the place. You won't be disturbed by any noise - like of a humming fridge in the room - , you'll only hear birds sing if you open the door.
It's luxury in a very special way. We loved it and would pay the (rather high) prices again.
Our children (10 and 13 years old) would have liked to stay another night.
Before I forget: Breakfast was excellent and the service friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: If you can't imagine to sleep in a cave (with tons of stone all around you), make sure to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elafonisi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Candles and subdued lighting added to the ancient feel and for a few days we lived as the generations gone past - but with the added bonus of underfloor heating and running water! A lovely hotel in a fascinating Unesco location. Well recommended if history and culture are your forte.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

What an amazing place to stay! I regularly stay in historic places/castles but have never been anywhere like this.

We were greeting with a warm smile and the staff could not have been more helpful throughout the stay. The atmosphere in our cave was amazing and I liked the fact it did still have modern comforts ( the underfloor heating took me by surprise!) but without losing any of the charm.

I am a very picky eater but still found enough to eat at breakfast and we were left fresh fruit in the room everyday.

The hotel was is a good place for visiting the Sassi, though we were glad we had also hired a car to visit a bit further afield.

I know they have plans to further develop the hotel and I would love to visit a few years to see how it has changed

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nesswotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our day in Matera coincided with the annual Festa della Bruna which involved grand processions through the modern town with lots of medieval men bouncing about on riding-school horses, lovely ladies in bright make-up and costume, enthusiastic consumption of foodstuffs and drinks and, finally, a deafening display of massive fireworks.
We were staying in a cave. Much of the old town is caves, where the very poor lived unhygenic lives till fifty years ago. Our sassi was called a hotel, but had no TV, WiFi, mini-bar, carpets or windows. It was spacious though, with a lovely view over the ravine to other sassi likewise gouged out of the rock. On our side of the ravine some 120 rock-hewn steps took us up to the centre of town.
In the morning we enjoyed a Basilicatan buffet breakfast in the Crypta della Civita. It was a genuine cave church - it had a stone pillar down the middle. The breakfast was nearly all cake, except for a sliced apple tart that was in fact made out of potatoes with little egg-like ovoids of wet cheese. The coffee was grittily authentic. The bill was 200€ - worth every cent !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butlerhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had never heard much about Matera nor the Sassi district of caves, but found 5 nights on a special deal and grabbed the chance. The whole atmosphere was surreal; especially in the dining room, which was in fact a deconsecrated church, where we had breakfast. Lit only by large candles and with classical music playing in the background this was something special to experience. Breakfast choice was completely Italian, as it should be, with a large array of cheese, pizza type breads, cold meats, cucumber and tomato, plain breads, and many different sweet cakes. The jam was to die for. Coffee was strong, hot and plentiful. We had room number 19 which was amazing. It had a large window (large for a cave that is!) at the front overlooking the stunning views of the ravine. Husband very impressed with the huge designer bath! The peace and quiet was noticeable with very few cars or tourists. Our particular room had it's own little area of very private terrace which was great, although it could have been improved by a couple of rustic chairs and a table so we could sit outisde and enjoy a drink. We took the little chairs provided in the room outside each day but a table would have been nice! There is no bar - but we bought our own drinks to keep in our room - and no restaurant for meals other than breakfast - but we did find lots of excellent restaurants nearby for dinner. I did expect slippers to be provided in a hotel of this quality, also there was no shampoo nor conditioner supplied - but there were beautiful large glass vats of "products" beside the bath - looked wonderful but not sure what they were but certainly not good for hair washing!! There was nothing to spoil the authentic feel of the area: no umbrellas, signs, adverts or anything which might have detracted from the timless atmosphere. Staff were all friendly and very helpful and spoke excellent English. Would we go back? Yes - Like a shot! But in reality the world's a large place so probably wont as it is expensive unless you can find a deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harribones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita

Property: Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Address: Via Civita 28, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#1 Family Hotel in Matera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#9 Business Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matera can be found in the south of Italy and is world famous because of its Sassi quarters, a stunning and well preserved example of a village where hundreds of caves were turned into dwellings, churches and palaces. A UNESCO World Heritage site since 1993, the Sassi represent a unique hamlet throughout Italy: the earliest inhabitants date back to the stone and bronze age, in the middle ages it boasted several monastic communities and later became a vibrant farming centre, owing to the rich harvests from the surrounding hills and plains. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is placed in the oldest part of the Sassi quarters, the CIVITA, facing the spectacular Murgia park and its rock-hewn churches. It comprises 18 rooms (some of them exceeding 160m²) and an ancient church, the "Cripta della Civita," now used as a common area, all renovated to retain their original features. The Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita project is situated in the historical heart of Matera. The 18 caves have been renovated in full respect of the local heritage. Each cave reveals the original shape and materials. The interior design, the respectful and minimalistic approach of Sextantio is reflected in the plain furniture elements. The guests will experience a particular atmosphere evoking the cultural and human history of the Sassi of Matera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sextantio Civita Caves Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing