We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Dodici Lune Residence
Ranked #13 of 179 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helena island, South Atlantic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights although it was in a separate accommodation building which was a short detour down 2 flights of steps as the hotel was full. We didn't know this before arrival but the room was nevertheless perfectly comfortable, clean and well equipped. The proprietor and daughter, Marie Therese were very welcoming and friendly and made plenty of helpful suggestions as to what to do and see in Matera. The hotel itself has been sensitively renovated from an ancient cave dwelling and was buzzing when we arrived, full of locals enjoying a bank holiday lunch.
Breakfast was back up to the hotel and was plentiful with cold meats, cheese and yogurts as well as the usual sweet pastries.
Matera itself is awesome and totally unexpected. A real undiscovered gem.

Room Tip: The Agora rooms are very nice but not part of the main hotel. If you want a traditional cave room, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    122
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
87
168
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fun, different type of room. Musty, but then it is a cave so you have to expect that! Great service, great breakfast, great location with nearby parking ( a short walk). All our family in one room but it was huge, with a sitting area and various little alcoves for beds. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here just one night among my twenty-days trip to Italy.
But this place remains in my mind as
the most wonderful place I've ever been.
That was not only because the city itself has great beauty and sad history,
but also because there were great people in La Doldici.
Everyone was so kind for us,
but especially I cannot forget a guy named Liridon.
He gave me and my family full of memories and thoughts.
I promised him to send pictures of him and La Doldici.
But the mail I've tried to send him returned back.
Please tell him he would send me an e-mail including an available e-mail adderess.
Thank you all for your kindness.
I wish I could visit there again in my life.
-from Korea, Lee Seula

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeSeulA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had two fab nights here last week - so lovely to get back to our aircon cave after almost melting in the August heat. We shared room 3 with our son - a huge room, loads of space for 3 people. Really good shower with brilliant water pressure, unusual for Italy. Had a very good meal in the restaurant one night as well, excellent quality at fair prices. Matera is wonderful, blew us away, next time might try to visit when its not the height of summer, those steps are a killer in 38c heat, would be great to explore when its a little cooler.
Highly recommend the Dodici Lune, great position, friendly staff and sensible prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

It is a very nice and romantic place, very clean,safe and comfortable. The views are fantastic. The staff is great - they explained us everything about Matera even before we thought to ask something. The location is very convinient to the historic part of the city. Matera is great, so special and romantic, no doubts worth staying there overnight and Le Dodici Lune - is The place to stay in Matera in order to be able to feel this city.
An advice - avoid by all means coming to this hotel with heavy luggage!

Room Tip: All rooms are different, although all seem to be very good, clean and spacious enough(this was our c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lana249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here the 1st week of October for 3 nights. What an exciting place. We had a large cave with all the comforts of home. The staff were friendly and gave us a wonderful breakfast. The location was excellent, close to very good parking, and a few steps up was the Duomo, and a few more steps was the main piazza. Outside our front door we had a view of the Sassi, just awesome. I will never forget this place. One important note, you will never find better bread in the world. I would fly 8 hours from the US just for a loaf of bread, no lie.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at Le Dodici Lune for four nights the last week of October. Three of us (2 Canadians and one Brit from Wales) shared one big room and we had the best time. Very tasteful, modern restoration with minimal changes to the original cave. Exceptionally clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly, gracious and helpful. Breakfast was coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, bread, toast, jam, and a variety of biscotti with surprises every day - one morning we had potato gallette! (I think that's what it was - really tasty).
Outside on the steps were big pots of blooming rosemary and a fruiting pomegranate! And we loved the surprise visits from lovely little Luna the kitten. Many thanks to all for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Sassi San Gennaro
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.1 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.1 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dodici Lune Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dodici Lune Residence

Property: Le Dodici Lune Residence
Address: Via San Giacomo 27 | Sasso Caveoso near MUSMA, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Dodici Lune Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing