We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally made our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Palazzo Gattini is at the top of an escarpment and has amazing views on both sides. The rooms are beautifully appointed - modern with a 'nod to Matera's history' and everything has been carefully thought through. The location is fantastic - right in the middle of old Matera, so very easy to get to all excursions. The service was exceptional - nothing was too much trouble and their recommendations were spot on. Couldn't fault it - highly recommended.

Room Tip: We splurged on the suite with the pool - stunning room, stunning views. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 793 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Located next to the Duomo and walking distance to both the caves at Sassi di Materia and the historical center, it makes a perfect venue for your stay in this great city. The atmosphere, hospitality and design of the hotel amplifies the spirit of Sassi di Matera. Never before have I exprienced such a good service, well designed rooms and friendly hospitality. If you go to Matera it's just an integrated part of your stay. Love it. Go there with your wife og fiance. It simply doesn't get any better....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortenhother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Palazzo Gattini was really memorable. It is not easy to find a hotel which lives the slogan "luxury hotel"! Not only is the design and the furniture luxury, also the service is more than personal and luxury! We were the only guests at the hotel, which did not belong to the wedding group, the reason why the hotel was fully booked! Although the hotel was full, we felt like we were the only guests! The room was large with beautiful paintings on the ceilings and it even had a nice balcony overlooking the Piazza Duomo! The bathroom was so nice in beige sand stone, with power shower and light smelling toiletries by Coté Bastide! The spa is nice, bit they charge you for using the relaxing room and for using the jacuzzi! The treatments at the spa are just average and the staff at the spa does not speak english very well! Although the hotel impressed us and Teresa at the front desk was like our personal Manager, she really made our stay a special one!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxuryexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAL_GATTINI, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Caro Travel Executive_10,
thank you very much for appreciating my property and I am very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality.

I hope to see you soon the next time you're in Matera to buy "Dama" by Laura Tonatto :)

Sincerely,
Giacinto Marchionna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is in a converted Palace. It is probably the most prime location in all of Matera. It is located in the Piazza Duomo. As soon as you walk out of the hotel you can gaze at the remarkable Sassi. A very short walk and you're in the center of town at the Piazza Vittorio. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the bed is quite comfortable. The bathrooms are beautiful. The staff were wonderful. Breakfast, which is included in the room rate, is taken In the basement cave. It is a truly wonderful hotel to stay at. As noted in other reviews, the lighting in the rooms is a bit dim, But it adds to the ambience. We definitely recommend this place

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Myron1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A WOW Experience.
Truely mesmerizing. Lovely staff, lovely clean and designer rooms. Lovely breakfast spread. Lovely ambiance. Lovely roof top candlelit dinner.
Lovely town and sightseeing.
This was a memorable holiday.
Hope to see you all soon.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iva_mehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the moment we walked in we were totally amazed. From the location Piazza Duomo and its wonderful view over Matera to the interior design of the hotel. This is truly a wonderful hotel from the service to the interior design. Our room with its delightful stone carvings to the huge bath with the Lions head. The breakfast room or rooms as its laid out in the cellar serving a truly wonderful selection of pastries etc. This has to be one of the finest hotels anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: You don't need it they are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent service. Quick business trip did not even allow us time to have breakfast, which I'm sure was wonderful. Upgraded to the most beautiful suite in the hotel with luxurious tiled jacuzzi, balcony with sweeping views of the sassi and historical center. Extremely comfortable bed. Views and amenities were outstanding. Perfect location. Next time, we will stay longer than 1 very brief evening!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ah2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAL_GATTINI, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear AH2012,
thanks so much for taking the time to write good about Palazzo Gattini.
We hope to see you soon and for several days.

Best regards
Giacinto Marchionna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.1 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#6 of 30 in Matera
476 reviews
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Matera
0.3 mi away
Basiliani Hotel
Basiliani Hotel
#3 of 30 in Matera
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel

Address: Piazza Duomo 13/14, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Matera
#2 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#3 Family Hotel in Matera
Price Range: $204 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic centre of Matera, the luxury hotel Palazzo Gattini ia a splendid modern hotel which satisfies all guest' needs. With its 20 luxury rooms 5 Suites, 3 Junior Suites and 12 Deluxe Rooms, it provides guest with a wide range of facilities such a internet connection, air conditioning, digital tv, direct phone line. Mini-bar, electronic safe, shower and bath. Don Matteo Restaurant, Gattini Spa, Duomo Cafe, Meeting Room are available for the guest of Palazzo Gattini. A pool in the spa and a private pool in an exclusive suite are available in Palazzo Gattini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Gattini Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing