We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Disappointing ”
Review of Le Botteghe

Le Botteghe
Ranked #163 of 402 Restaurants in Matera
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

Roast lamb was more bones than meat, some of which was inedible. Ordered combined pork, lamb tastes like leftover, and pork tastes like lamb... The only decent food we ordered was the French fries. We also detected a certain disdain for tourists!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ianwithQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 900 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

We came here 3 weeks ago when the weather was warmer, and we sat outside and had quite a nice evening, even if the food was forgettable.

We are here again last night, and we sat inside, it has become quite chilly. Even with good company, the evening was not nearly as enjoyable, in fact the food and service made the experience pretty poor.

My pizza was almost inedible, the base was rock hard and rubbery, and it did not have the toppings I asked for. Another pizza the same, and they were missing tomato sauce. Other items ordered did not arrive. Worst of all was the attitude of the server, who appeared to wish we were not there.

I have been here many times over the years, but this visit was the worst ever. Better luck next time I hope.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Rogermynett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed in the Smithsonian Journey group dinner our last night in Matera from the poor house wine to the grilled lamb, which was mostly bones. Tried to compensate with some cocktails, but they didn't have a full bar, so it was hit or miss with either rum and coke or tequila and seltzer. Many other better restaurants in Matera to choose from.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MTWOODSON76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner the other night after visiting Matera ( as we do everytime we are in puglia to see our family) and being a busy night in matera and no tables on the terraces if not reserved, we ended up inside this restaurant. We had to wait 20 min to even get the menus and during the length of our dinner at least 7 tables left due to the long wait. Service really poor, the waitress did not even look up while taking our order. As on Holiday we took it easy and ordered finally- again menu not very clear. The other waiters were friendly but always in a rush. The food was ok, however not special. The meat was good- cooked on a large open grill. Prices were ok- we had menu degustazione with apertivo, glas of spumante, cold cut and cheese platter, pasta followed by tagliata con rucola, water, house wine, coffee and liquor: 25€ per person.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Dannyde04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

We have been staying in the center of Matera and that restaurant is located right in the middle, kitchen is opened till 23:00.

Have been waiting for 40 minutes to get the menu, horrible service. Then one dish was a stew with codfish instead of ordered baked codfish, it was too late at night to change the dish. Next morning both of us had serious stomach problem.

If you don’t want to to spoil your impression about beautiful Matera - you should never ever come here!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Annushka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Botteghe also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to Le Botteghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing