We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic service shame about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forge Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Lulsgate B&B and Inns
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic service shame about the room”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Absolutely excellent service, car parked quickly, taken to room within minutes and the pick up and collection from the airport was brilliant. The room however let it down, it was clean but tired the bathroom very basic and had no toilet paper when we arrived. There was nowhere except the bed to sit and pillows and bed quite uncomfortable. Whilst the accomodation could be improved your service was just first class

Room Tip: If you like basic it's fine car park excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    575
    224
    108
    102
See reviews for
399
771
141
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Great place to stay if you have an early flight. Friendly and clean and about 5 mins drive from Bristol airport.
Was a bit noisy as we had neighbours arriving/leaving at about 1.30 am ,but would not stop me booking again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2011

O.K; the room was clean and well furnished but maybe a little small,the bed was comfortable and we liked the little fridge - the only minus was the noisy road and the room will get very hot during the summer. the plus side was the friendly welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrrh1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff,wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is the second time ever i've written one of these reviews on any website , but i feel that people need to know to never stay at this accomadation.
My family and i where flying to Nice sat the30th april 2011 , so on the friday i booked a family room via booking.com ,for the friday evening as our flight was 7am the next day,we felt it would be better to be close to the airport rather than drive there so early .
Due to the fact of the description that the :hotel: is 100 metres from bristol airport made it sound appealing ,let me assure you it ain't and this is where the lies start ,it's probably one and half miles to the terminal .
Before setting off to the Hotel on the friday ,i rang to confirm that i would arrive quite late on the friday ,between 11-12pm and was told this would be ok.
We eventually arrived at the accomadation at 11pm ,what it really is ,is some rooms on the side of the A38 with a mobile number on a board outside ,that if your lucky enough to notice ,you are to call as there is no reception ,just rooms on the side of the road .
So i called the number and a man by the name of Greg answered and said that he would come over from the "Office" to bring me the keys.
Ten minutes later no sign so i called again ,this seemed to annoy the guy ,as how dare i have a problem waiting at 11pm with my young family ,eventually 25 mins after i arrived at the "hotel" he pulled up ,this is where it gor extremely weird .
On the phone he had said that he would bring the keys for the room over with him ,only to turn up with no keys ,saying that i'd have to go with him to the office to get them ,in the mean while some people had arrived at the airport and wanted him to pick them up ,as they offer a shuttle service. So he tried to get myself to go with him to pick these people up then get my keys ,obviously i was having none of this ,so we drove to the "Office" , which as it turns out is across the road from the accomadation and down an old lane for approx three quarters of a mile ,to where you come to a porta cabin in a old fenced area at the side of the lane , obviously leaving the people at the airport waiting.
We proceeding into the porta cabin to get my keys , i had my full booking forms from booking.com with myself , but he now after we'd had some heated words earlier had to check if i had a booking ,amazingly i didn't have a booking no more and he wasn't sure what he could do , so i suggested he had spare rooms, i had the monies to pay for the room, £110 for the family room ,really he didn't want me to have the room and was lying ,he then went on to state that thjere were no family rooms available , only to amazingly after some conversation to have the room available at £110 , what confused me was that earlier when we'd spoke on the phone , he stated that as i'd booked with booking.com that i'd have to pay them as booking.com don't take any monies on line and then later stated that i had no booking, he then 45 mins after my arrival gave me the keys and drove me back to the accomadation ,during which he recieved a further call from the people at the airport only to state that he was still busy and they'd have to wait .
As for the room ,at least it was clean ,but as for continental breakfast ,this is a pint of milk and some minature cereal boxes left in your room.
I have read reviews since on booking.com for this "Hotel: and realise i'm not the only one to have these views .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Room crowded with 2 beds - (1 single, one double) both against the wall. Space between beds is max. half metre. Nowhere to put cases. No soap for handwashing - when we asked for some, we were told to use the shower gel. Reception was 1 mile away - in a caravan. Only food available was in a very poor pub across the road. This is the worst value we have experienced.

However, transport to airport was good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Dropped the car at the parking area and I was taken to the accommodation in minutes. My room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Even though my room was next to the main road I did not notice alot of traffic noise. Breakfast was cereals with fresh milk in the fridge and tea and coffee. I had to be at the airport at 4.00am so rang for a transfer at 3.50am. A mini bus arrived in less than 5 mins and dropped me off at the airport a few minutes later. On my return I again rang for a transfer back to my car and was driving home in under 10 minutes. A weeks parking, 1 nights B&B and super fast transfers for less than £50. Will definately use again

Room Tip: Might want to ask for a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Very pleased with the room. Transfers on time and efficient. Already booked for parking and a night stay in may.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrensale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lulsgate
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
1.3 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
455 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Town and Country Lodge
2.0 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
310 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forge Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forge Accommodation

Property: Forge Accommodation
Address: The Old Forge Bridgwater Road | Bristol Airport, Lulsgate BS40 9UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Lulsgate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lulsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Forge Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Forge Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forge Hotel Lulsgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing