We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Kariba Kariba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kariba Kariba
Ranked #3 of 6 Mandeville B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We decided to stay at this guest house on the basis of previous reviews and to see a bit of the real Jamaica. When we arrived we were met by a very courteous man. The lobby was beautifully furnished and the place seemed relaxed at first. We asked if we could order cold drinks for our driver as he did a great job driving us up from Kingston. We were told there were no drinks on the premises which we found rather strange. Apparently the fridge was not working and therefore they couldn't store any food or drinks. We were offered herbal tea though which was very kind of him. We were shown to our room which was lovely and clean. My main worry was the noise from the main road as our room was at the front . I was right to worry as we couldn't sleep all night. because of the traffic noise. We expected to stay in Mandeville for about 3 nights and had only paid for one nights stay and intended to pay the rest later. It was just as well we only paid for one night as when I went to have a shower there was no hot water. We immediately reported this to the man in reception and he said that the owner was sorting things out that evening. At what point was he going to tell us we had no hot water? It would have been courtesy to have informed us of this when we first arrived. Anyway we decided that they were doing their best to resolve the situation. The nearest place to eat anything was in town so we had to get a route taxi to take us there and back. When we returned we still had no hot water and the man in reception had gone home. In the morning we came to breakfast and it was obvious we were the only guests there. We had already made up our minds we were not staying there any longer. The same man as the night before greeted us and offered us breakfast which was nice. Then Derrick the owner appeared and we had a very pleasant chat with him. We explained we were moving on instead of staying and he understood our situation. He then offered to show us his farm nearby which was a great expereince. It certainly is a little haven with beautiful lsuh vegetation. Afterwards Derrick kindly gave us a lift to the bus station so that we could make our way to Negril.
They were all very friendly and kind there but we just couldn't stay there for practical reasons which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2008

The Kariba guest house is a wonderful place to stay if you are around Mandeville for any period of time. Derrick and his family are incredibly friendly and Dawbson is always there to help with any thing you could need and his cooking is finger licking good. The room was clean, comfortable and had its own balcony. Even Rex the dog is there to make sure you feel like home. The house is cool and decorated in local styles and using local materials. Derrick, the owner also owns and takes care of a nature park close by, ask him and he will gladly arrange for a visit. I strongly recommend Kariba Guest house to anyone looking for a quiet, homely and safe environment and will stay there again on my next visit.

  • Liked — The friendliness and homely feeling
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lulugingersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My group were the very first guests at Kariba, I believe in July of 1998. We had stayed at Kariba's previous location the year previously. Derrick O'Connor and his family have made us feel right at home during the several times we have returned. The rooms are very comfortable and the meals we were served by Derrick and company were excellent with Jamaican cuisine, occasionally adjusted for our American tastes. Derrick also provided various other services such as transport to and from Montego Bay and other side trips. He has a farm in Mandeville which is an interesting visit to see native flora and fauna. I would highly recommend. I have heard that Kariba has been expanded since my last stay in 2004. -- Rev. Brian Kinney, Nashville, Tennessee

  • Liked — Service and friendliness
  • Disliked — I had no complaints
  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RastaPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover,Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

I spent a night with church members as it was our convention. It is a lovely location. Very spacious property. Lounge area where you can relax. Price is right even for us Jamaicans.The Owner is friendly and entertaining. He will also take you to his other property which you must visit called Little Rippon farm, that memory will live with you forever.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 22, 2005

KaribaKariba is a relatively new guest house or small hotel on the northwest outskirts of Mandeville. You will need a car. It is a clean, tasteful, quiet, and comfortable place to stay. A lovely breakfast is included in the price of $45 US. Derek the owner is pleasant, gregarious, and helpful, as is his cook. The best bargain in Mandeville. The Mandeville Hotel may be nicer but is also more than twice as expensive.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandeville hotels
1.2 mi away
Mandeville Hotel
Mandeville Hotel
#2 of 3 in Mandeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel
Golf View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mandeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.6 mi away
June Plum Bed & Breakfast
June Plum Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 6 in Mandeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mandeview Flats
Mandeview Flats
#4 of 6 in Mandeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Home Villa & Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Agapantha Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariba Kariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariba Kariba

Property: Kariba Kariba
Address: 1 1/2 McKinley Road, Mandeville, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Manchester Parish > Mandeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mandeville
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the cool rolling hills of Mandeville, the heart of central Jamaica, lies the quiet, restful, cozy getaway - come and be at one or two. It is a wonderful place for families/groups, which are our specialties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kariba Kariba Hotel Mandeville
Kariba Kariba Jamaica/Mandeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing