We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFICK”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bethersden, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Holidayma...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not quite there!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The setting is beautiful - no complaints and alot of money has obviously been spent on renovating the property. I do think it should be a 3 bedroom & not a 4. Two of the bedrooms on the groundfloor are extremely cramped!! Tiny wardrobe space and very small ensuites!!! Not really enough comfy seating in the lounge area for 8 either. Our biggest disappointment was the quality and lack of equipment in the house!!! Ive rented many houses for the weekend and they have always had a few dishwasher tablets, some washing up liquid, some jeye cloths -there were none of any of these!!! One tea towel!!! The pots and pans were cheap and poor quality and the kitchen utensils bent when you used them!!! It seems such a shame to spend so much money on the house and then skimp on the quality the contents!! When we arrived the kitchen table was covered in crumbs - not a great start!! There was no milk waiting for us (which has been the norm with other rentals) and because of its idyllic location its along way from shops, we were lucky enough that a kind gentleman let us have some before we had the chance to go shopping. When we asked ourselves the question 'Would we go again?' The answer was no. A great house spoilt by lack of attention to detail in our view. When you have paid a lot of money for the weekend. You do exoect a certain level of quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2015
Sorry to hear that although you you found the setting beautiful you had a few complaints about a few things.

With regards to cleaning materials there is a new cleaning pack put into each property on turnaround. This includes dish cloth, scourer and dishwasher tablets. In addition there is washing up liquid and kitchen cleaner provided. It seems that either you didnt find the cleaning pack in this case or possibly our cleaner forgot to leave one in on turnaround. If the latter was the case we can only apologise. We have an onsite housekeeper with all contact details in the welcome pack, and staff here 7 days so if you had just asked we could have quickly remedied that and provided a pack from stock.

We are sorry to hear you did not approve of the quality of the kitchen utensils. They are very much NOT budget range and in fact an earlier reviewer on here commented "there has obviously been a lot of thought and effort into providing equipment - the kitchen particularly could hardly be better supplied with cutlery crockery etc and probably the most efficient dishwasher I have ever come across! "

There is seating on 3 sofas, so not sure why you thought that insufficient. There are 8 further chairs in the living space too which could have been used if you wanted to spread out more.

We don't provide milk on arrival as the accommodation is self catering so all guests generally go to the shop on arrival or arrange for a supermarket delivery but we certainly consider this if others find it such an issue.

The other reviews for this property have been pretty much all been 5* so we feel we are providing a great holiday location but we are sorry we fell short of your expectations, but we do note that around half of your trip advisor reviews have been average or below average so perhaps your standards are exceptionally high or you are easily disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PERFICK”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I supported a small group of people with mild learning difficulties staying in the Oast House, early June this year for a long weekend (not long enough)

Everyone had a fantastic stay,,all saying they want to go again., which is a first. House was furnished and decorated to a high standard,all facilities one could want, having a dishwasher an added bonus, staff very friendly,

I will be booking the farm house for June next year.

Maggie H

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh...
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfick!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a truley blissfull weekend away at the Darling Buds of May Farm!! Upon arrival we had a very warm welcome from the manager - he took the time to tell us about the history of the farm and showed us around the accomodation. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The accomodation itself was beautiful, everything has been finished to a very high standard, without taking away from beautiful original features. The rooms are lovely, very comfortable beds and powerful showers in all of the ensuites. The cosy living/kitchen area, were perfect for the 8 of us - an area that is perfect for socialising. The kitchen was well equipt & the whole place is full of bits and pieces that you might need - including wifi - which worked perfectly. Thank you for a lovely stay, we would recommened this place to anyone - the only downfall was that we had to come home!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Darlings Buds Bliss”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Oasthouse at the farm has recently been converted and we were lucky enough to be some of the first guests. It maintains the feel of a working Oast with the old wheel still in place. Great attention to details, quality fittings/linen etc and lovely Oak floors. The accomodation was spotless and has excellent facilities. All rooms en-suite. (Shower, toilet, washbasin). The lounge/dining room/kitchen are on the first floor with wonderful views across the surrounding farmland. Great countryside location. Very peaceful. Plent of attractions within short driving distance e.g. Leeds Castle, The Hop Farm, Whitstable Castle and Beaches and lovely country village atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. A must for anyone who loves the countryside and of course, wonderful to stay in pne of the buildings that featured in one of my favourite TV shows The Darling Buds of May!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walks in the grounds
Liked least: Leaving !
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccaa222
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic Country Retreat”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely weekend stay with my partner. We received a warm welcome on arrival. The property itself has just be renovated so everything is very clean and fresh inside. Loved the way some of the original features have been kept inside. We stayed at the weekend and the place was so peaceful. The owner lets you walk round his fields and we were even able to feed the resident geese and ducks round the pond! We will definitely be back next year, as its a great place to recharge the batteries so to speak!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Darling Buds of May Farm”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Darling Buds of May Farm during the latter part of August and we had the most fantastic stay! Everything was taken care of and we really felt part of the whole 'Darling Buds' experience. Although I never watched the series myself, my partner Ian absolutely loved the programme and he felt privileged to be able to stay in the actual Oast House that formed part of the filming. This place is highly recommended for anyone wanting to experience quality, comfort and relaxation with a twist of contemporary style set in a idyllic setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The idyllic setting and tranquility
Liked least: The traffic on the M25 on the way down to the farm
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batista01...
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“5 star effort 3 star comfort”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First thing to say is that the staff and especially Damian the manger could not be more friendly and efficient very welcoming and always there to help, there has obviously been a lot of thought and effort into providing equipment - the kitchen particularly could hardly be better supplied with cutlery crockery etc and probably the most efficient dishwasher I have ever come across! Strangely no washing machine not a problem if you are there for a long weekend but for a longer stay possibly a nuisance although again Damian provided the answer by giving us use of the machine in the main house. Also the quality of the bed linen and towels were excellent sadly the same could not be said for the pillows which we all found ended up looking like flat pancakes by the morning! The beds themselves also comfortable but even for the smallest of our party rather narrow at 2'6" (could be made into doubles but again would be small but maybe we have been too used to king size). Four bedrooms all with en suite certainly great if you have a full party and nice touch to have TV and hairdryers in all bedrooms should be said that maximum use of space has been made and the three downstairs bedrooms are cosy Premier Inn size rather than spacious. There is a larger bedroom on the 3rd floor with very pleasant view over the garden to the paddock which has plenty of wildlife to watch. There is a large garden for your use at the rear with picnic tables and decking and big grassed area for little ones to play in. On the second floor the open plan dining/lounge/kitchen has a good size table and 8 chairs as previously mentioned very well equipped digital TV and DVD there is free WiFi which was rather flaky when we were there but is being sorted out apparently. Plenty of parking room and acres of land to wander around with ponds and dykes so be careful if in charge of little folk who will also love the duck tribe that soon get the idea that you provide a free meal ticket if you start feeding them. Biggest disappointment was that during our stay there was a lot of building work going on where other building are being renovated and our expectations of a quiet country holiday were disturbed by power tools and cement mixers and much of the surrounding farm yard did look rather like the Larkin's scrap yard - before you book ask if the work has been finished! Good location for many attractions too numerous to mention but do be sure to eat at the Chequers in High Halden and to take a trip on the Kent & East Sussex Railway. Lastly because of the layout of the property be aware this is not suitable for wheel chair users and to some degree any one with more limited mobility and you must have a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location staff and equipment
Liked least: Poor WiFi small beds other building works going on
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing