We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No hot food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Bethersden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No hot food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

A group of us went to the bull on one of the hottest days of the year , only to be told sorry there is no hot food due to the kitchen extracts not working but they could do ploughman's , salads , sandwiches , chilli , pies or lasagne's the latter must have been micro wave food . We had drinks and sat in the garden, the step down into the garden is very dangerous and needs repair there was not many benches and no umbrellas out . We decided to eat , ordered at the bar, the waitress was very helpful. We had a couple of ham and cheese ploughman's and salmon and crayfish salad , when the food came out the ploughman's. where to different sizes my friend commented that he had never seen grey ham before, when the salads came out they where no more than starters with a slice of smoked salmon small pile of crayfish huge dollop on may and 2 little triangle sandwiches the food was ok we paid at the bar and left.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maybug65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    43
    17
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing; would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

It was a spur of the moment decision to go out for a meal after getting home from work. We had not been to The Bull for a few years, having been unhappy with the food quality and service previously, so thought it was worth another try.
When we arrived, the bar and restaurant were virtually empty, with one other couple eating. The menu was not very inspiring but the specials board was a bit more interesting.
We both ordered a seafood salad starter; my wife a sirloin steak for main and I went for a pork dish from the specials board. The starters were OK but nothing to write home about. My wife ordered her steak medium-rare and it came out well done. The chips were a soggy disaster – you know what happens when you cook them in oil that’s not hot enough – she left most of them and I tried one before rejecting them too. My pork dish was a casserole with peppers and tomatoes but did not appear to show any craft on the part of the chef. It was flavourless, lacking in any texture and just plain bland. If someone had told me it was made with a ‘cook-in sauce’ I would have not have been surprised.
If it wasn’t for the fact that we had both tired and hungry we would have certainly sent the steak and chips back, after all, any chef worth his reputation should be able to nail that!
We eat out regularly in pubs and restaurants near us and this was one of worst we have experienced for some time. The pub exists in a very competitive market and my fear is that if this is the general standard that they of fayre that the serve up, then they sadly won’t be in it for long.
Another pub off our list but luckily there are still plenty of other good ones around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WonkyHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirsteenHazel, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi there,

Many thanks for your review regarding your visit to The Bull.

I am very disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with the meal you had.

I would very much hope that you would re visit us one evening as we do now have a new chef and a new menu. The standards you received were clearly not up to scratch and are not the level we would ever hope to present to any of our extremely valued customers. Most feedback we have received since taking over has been positive but there were obviously occasions where standards fell below par in the restaurant, however, we feel this has now been rectified.

We sincerely hope we can welcome you back soon at The Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely country Pub which serves good food..There is a good selection on the Menu, including light lunch options. Plus a specials board. The young staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault them at all. We had a very nice lunch outside, shaded from the sun by grape vines. Lovely! Sadly, the 'Pims' didn't quite live up to expectations, being rather bland & tasteless. However, they were served with great charm by the young lady who was looking after us, and I think this was, probably, the first time she had been asked to make them. I will definitely return, and happily recommend The Bull to anyone who wants a nice Pub with good food, served by pleasant people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirsteenHazel, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review after your recent visit to us. We are so glad you enjoyed both the pub and the service you received. We take all feedback very seriously and all you have said has been taken on board. We really do appreciate it and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From us all at The Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a good quality home cooked meal in the sunshine in the garden. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirsteenHazel, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to write such kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed both your lunch and the atmosphere of the pub.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back. From us all at The Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed on a number of grounds”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Between four of us three had to reselect the main course. On the specials board it hadn't been amended to sold out and apparently could not offer the haddock as one of the fryers was not working so could not get the oil to a hot enough temperature. Beside ourselves their was only one other table occupied by a couple. We had to wait a long time or our food. We also had to com plain about the temperature of the white wine , it was room temperature , they did replace this with another bottle at room temperature.. All in all not a good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KentPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirsteenHazel, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi there,

Many thanks for your review regarding your visit to The Bull Inn. I am very disappointed to hear there were a couple of issues that made your time with us not the pleasurable experience it should have been.

Unfortunately that week we did have some problems that were unforeseeable. One of our fryers was out of action due to a part needing replaced and therefore did affect our ability to cook certain dishes on the menu. We did rectify the situation as quick as physically possible and the following day we were back up and running again.

The wine fridge is one that we rent and an engineer had been called out as soon as we realised the temperature was not as low as it should be, these things always take time and in this case it simply needed topping up with gas which, with all fridges, need doing periodically. We did try our best to keep the wine as cold as possible but with limited resource this was difficult!

It would seem all things do indeed happen in 3's and I do apologise that the specials boards were not updated as quickly as they should! We are a fresh food venue and we have daily deliveries meaning we carry enough stock but do not have anything frozen therefore when it's gone, it's gone. It would have been an oversight to update to 'Sold Out' but I do apologise as this should not be the case.

I hope you would understand sometimes issues do crop up and we do endeavour to rectify these as quickly and effectively as we can to soften any impact this may have on our customers.
I hope that the bottle of wine we offered free of charge on the evening did go some way in a form of apology at the time.

We very much appreciate your custom and we would hope you understand that the areas in which we failed on the night you visited are not ones that ordinarily would crop up.

We would very much like to hear from you and welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks from us all at The Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

Bethersden, Kent
Bethersden, Kent
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing