We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pub Lunch”
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Bethersden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Lunch”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a good quality home cooked meal in the sunshine in the garden. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirsteenHazel, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to write such kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed both your lunch and the atmosphere of the pub.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back. From us all at The Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    49
    18
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed on a number of grounds”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Between four of us three had to reselect the main course. On the specials board it hadn't been amended to sold out and apparently could not offer the haddock as one of the fryers was not working so could not get the oil to a hot enough temperature. Beside ourselves their was only one other table occupied by a couple. We had to wait a long time or our food. We also had to com plain about the temperature of the white wine , it was room temperature , they did replace this with another bottle at room temperature.. All in all not a good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KentPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirsteenHazel, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi there,

Many thanks for your review regarding your visit to The Bull Inn. I am very disappointed to hear there were a couple of issues that made your time with us not the pleasurable experience it should have been.

Unfortunately that week we did have some problems that were unforeseeable. One of our fryers was out of action due to a part needing replaced and therefore did affect our ability to cook certain dishes on the menu. We did rectify the situation as quick as physically possible and the following day we were back up and running again.

The wine fridge is one that we rent and an engineer had been called out as soon as we realised the temperature was not as low as it should be, these things always take time and in this case it simply needed topping up with gas which, with all fridges, need doing periodically. We did try our best to keep the wine as cold as possible but with limited resource this was difficult!

It would seem all things do indeed happen in 3's and I do apologise that the specials boards were not updated as quickly as they should! We are a fresh food venue and we have daily deliveries meaning we carry enough stock but do not have anything frozen therefore when it's gone, it's gone. It would have been an oversight to update to 'Sold Out' but I do apologise as this should not be the case.

I hope you would understand sometimes issues do crop up and we do endeavour to rectify these as quickly and effectively as we can to soften any impact this may have on our customers.
I hope that the bottle of wine we offered free of charge on the evening did go some way in a form of apology at the time.

We very much appreciate your custom and we would hope you understand that the areas in which we failed on the night you visited are not ones that ordinarily would crop up.

We would very much like to hear from you and welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks from us all at The Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect bike ride destination!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Myself and two friends decided to visit the pub during a summer bike ride.
We sat in the sun on a lovely terrace, looking over the garden. We stopped for a cold cider, but were also enticed by the menu so ordered food. We were filled up with a hearty portion of fresh fish, before riding back home.
Can't wait to visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily89_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a friendly place”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice pub lunch with Hubby. Food was very nice, presented well, and served by friendly staff. Nice day so sat outside for some of our three courses. Would like to return another time. Thank you to all the staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBouquets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirsteenHazel, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review regarding your visit to us.

I am so glad you enjoyed your meal with us and the hospitality we pride ourselves on.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

From us all at The Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good Sunday roast”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We found this pub online and were happily surprised by the quality of the food.
The menu seemed a bit limited but all the food is made to order and is of high quality. There was a choice of 3 roasts and other traditional meals. It's very well priced for the quality you get, the roast is £8.95 for a big plate.
The garden is big so there is plenty of space to enjoy the sun.
Indoors seems to have been renovated recently and is very clean and very tastefully decorated.
The staff was very friendly too which made it all the more enjoyable.

I would definitely go back, maybe in the winter to enjoy the lovely fireplace and comfy sofas :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirsteenHazel, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for leaving a review regarding your visit to us.

We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and the pub itself, we have been working very hard to renovate the pub and to offer our customers local, home cooked produce so we very much appreciate your kind feedback.
We do offer a smaller menu on Sundays which include our Roasts and a selection of alternative options for those who fancy something different. During the week our menu is more comprehensive with both our main menu and weekly specials.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

From us all at The Bull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

Bethersden, Kent
Bethersden, Kent
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing