We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best!”
Review of La Pepica

La Pepica
Ranked #250 of 3,490 Restaurants in Valencia
Price range: $28 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
Description: La Pepica Restaurant is the oldest one at the beach of Valencia.Since 1898, their authentic Valencian paellas have been tasted by many famous people (the spanish Kings, the painter Joaquin Sorolla, the writer Ernest Hemingway, bullfighters, artists, politicians, singers and other wellknown people), whose photos can be seen in the walls of the room. Charming terrace facing the beach. Private lounge
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Two years in a row I was in Valencia and evertime I visit this place. If to believe what staff says, there is one table reserved and always preapared for a king of Spain. Interior is simple but has some kind of charm - a lot of photos on the walls. Valencia is at the sea so what they can serve in restaurant? - fishes and sea food! They have the best paella with ink from octopus!!!! Heaven in my mouth! VEry good desserts, friendly staff with which you can have a chat - for sure they will take care of you in best way. In this place you forget about time and just enjoy life. After I recommend walk at the beach.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrillaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    1,106
    674
    276
    272
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant on the beach”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a really enjoyable lunch here. Having flown out on a rainy October day from the UK we suddenly found ourselves sitting by the beach having a lovely lunch with temperatures around 27c.Restaurant looked good when we arrived nice white table clothes, smart waiters etc and the service was excellent. Our hotel advised us to book ahead or get there early - we did the later and by 1.00 pm all the outside seats had gone. .Lots of business men and women eat here and there was generally a good vibe about the whole restaurant. Predictably my wife and shared a paella together with some pleasant wine followed by a walk along the beach! We got there on the number 19 bus which picked us up near to the Science Park and were dropped off a couple of blocks away from the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonEgghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Must be doing something right”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have to agree with lots of previous reviews about the brutal service, salty paella & disappointing seafood dishes but this place gets jammed at lunchtime. There is a lovely seating area outsiðe and we managed to get a table but you will wait, and wait, and wait. The waiters are professional at avoiding your eye contact and even after you place your drinks order it may be 15 minutes before the drinks arrive. The paella takes ages which is a good thing as you know it's freshly made and the dry, slightly burnt rice at the side is very very good but why the long wait. The reason is because the outside tables were in big demand but on the day we were there the inside which is HUGE was packed to bursting. I'm kinda glad we ate there but it was more for the atmosphere than either the food or the service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandJoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“nice food but dreadful service”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This is only my second time ever not leaving a tip in restaurant but i simply couldn't juifsty it due to the absolutely terrible service we received . When we arrived it took ages to be seated and we actually had to ask someone to seat us,yes they were busy but there is no excuse.we then had to call a waiter to order as we were waiting for so long.our starter arrived quickly but that is because it was just cheese and bread.Then the long wait came and table after table got served but US. I tried many times to call a waiter but they said one minute and never came back.eventually our food came and it was nice but not worth the long wait.It was very very busy and loud and the atmosphere didn't really make the wait any easier.i have no time for poor service and this was definitely one of the worst I've experienced.I am sure we could ofgotten similar quality and better service elsewhere.would i return ...no way!

Helpful?
Thank Men-rui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Potentially a lovely restaurant with a great view”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Seventeen of us went to this restaurant for lunch to taste their wonderful meat and or fish paella.
Sadly whilst the paella was very authentic spanish paella I was a little disappointed with the experience as sadly there was only on itme of meat in my dish. Now this may have been caused by there being so many of us. If we had been in a party of two or four then we would have served ourselves out of dishes served for two.
We did have a lovely time and it was very popular.
The close proximity to the beach also added to experience

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeAbbeyGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pepica also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to La Pepica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing