We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good paella”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Rall

El Rall
Ranked #218 of 3,452 Restaurants in Valencia
Price range: $0 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Mercat
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good paella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited El Rall after the recommendation of the man who owned the apartment we rented in Valencia. He reported this was his favorite paella in the area.
It was easy to find and the outside terrace was lovely. We had good service and the paella was very good.
We actually enjoyed the dogs who obviously belonged to the restaurant. They did not beg us for food and it added some character to the area.
There were also a couple of musicians who played during lunch that were quite good. It was apparent that El Rall screens the musicians who play there rather than allowing just anyone to play that shows up. They were tasteful and added to the experience.
I would recommend El Rall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathrynJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    412
    199
    65
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

we settled into this restaurant as it boasts a beautiful terrace and it looked so inviting and relaxed, just like a holiday should be. The food was nothing special, paella was not too bad but the service is way tooo sloooow for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tapas + atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had dinner there. Pros: Located in the heart of an Old Town - quiet, romantic place. Tables outside - on the tiny plaza, tables inside as well. Good tasty tapas, descent paella, tasty "Agua de Valencia" :) good service.

Cons: dogs walk around the tables asking for the food; annoying flowers sellers :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank St_yugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ok but not great.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went early as we have a toddler (who had already eaten) and the restaurant was already busy. We ordered what we thought was a traditional paella, however what came out was more of a soup than a "dry" paella which neither my husband or I were keen on. Most of the other tables were having paella and it did look good. Jamon was being carved on order - that looked great and was a very effective marketing act. Felt it was quite expensive for what it was......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkthewhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good, but slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Food was good but we weren't blown away. Service was slow - lots of waiters but only one seemed to be able to take food orders. Not cheap either. I think there are better places in Valencia.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurumba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rall also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to El Rall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing