We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HolaHotel Del Carmen
Ranked #90 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Florida West Coast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Del Carmen at the end of October and again the first week of November. We were visiting my daughter who is an FSU student studying abroad. First of all, it is an excellent location for anyone visiting the study center as it is about a one minute walk. The hotel is also very centrally located and we were able to walk everywhere.

I agree with the previous poster about the noise level from the street. However, I never travel without earplugs. Unless you stay in a high rise, street noise is very common in large European cities so come prepared. I did not find that the wood floor caused any noise from our neighbors however.

The hotel was spotless and had one of the best bathrooms I've seen in Europe--esp. the shower. The beds were extremely comfortable and each had two pillows which is always appreciated.

The front desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. My only complaint is that the only English speaking station was the BBC and we were there during the election. Thank goodness we were able to watch CNN at the study center.

This was my first trip to Spain and found it to be very charming with some of the nicest people I have ever met during my travels. I would absolutely return to and recommend the Hotel Del Carmen.

  • Liked — Comfortable and spotless
  • Disliked — Street noise--nothing ear plugs couldn't resolve.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    100
    69
    41
    59
See reviews for
31
174
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Beautifully refurbished modern hotel but it's on one of the main roads of Valencia with 6 lanes of traffic seemingly non stop. We couldn't get the AC to work so had to keep the windows open so it was very noisy. Although the rooms are nicely furnished the wooden floors meant again more noise form our neighbours. They clattered about getting ready to go out then more clattering when they stumbled in at 6.30am (and slammed their door!)  It does have a good location as it's important to be inside the old town of Valencia. Pleasant reception staff and a good but expensive breakfast (12.5 Euros)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise of traffic
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabsterabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valencia hotels

london
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Very modern hotel in great location for the town with its bars and restaurants and a short walk to the tram to get to the beach .
Helpful staff with well equipped rooms and at a reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We stayed here at the end of April 2008 and the hotel is a hidden gem. The staff and management were very helpful and friendly and the hotel is conveniently located close to the main bars & restaurants in the old town of Valencia. The only gripe we had was with the room we were initially given on the very top floor. The room is the only one on that floor and although the room itself is fully kitted out with all facilities it feels like a converted storeroom due to it's location right next to the spa and sauna literally on your doorstep!! OK in some respects but not as private as we would have liked. The management kindly moved us to another room upon request which was even nicer. Valencia itself is a fantastic city which is generally easy to get around. Lots of nice tapas bars and restaurants plus you can catch the tram from across the bridge to the beach to soak up the sun. We will definitely be returning!!

  • Liked — Location/Friendly Staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank donquijote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

The hotel del carmen was in a great location close to lots of restaurants and bars and all the tourist attractions. The room was large, had a modern bathroom (including hairdryer and loads of complimentary toiletries), the shower was fantastic with a big old fashioned style shower head. The mirror was even heated so as not to get steamed up from the shower. There was plenty of wardrobe space and a flat screen TV with Sky (all Spanish channels though!) The staff were fantastically helpful in providing info on how to get to places and advising where to eat. When I left I forgot my mobile phone and they even arranged a taxi to take it to the airport! Great service. The only down points was the fact that when we first arrived we could not get in as the doors were locked (although there was a swipe mechanism for people who already had room keys) and there was no one on reception. However after we had had a quick drink we returned and we could get in. The other thing was the horrendous smell coming from the shower drain one night.... it reeked! Also, if you want breakfast it is a good idea to book before you arrive as it was 12 euros to book once you were there compared with 8 euros before hand (although they allowed us to book it at the cheaper rate after we arrived). I would recommend having breakfast there as although it doesn't have full English breakfast type foods there is a good variety of meats, cheeses, eggs, muffins etc. Buying juice at a cafe was often 3-4 euros anyway! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ang186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Seu
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
#44 of 99 in Valencia
226 reviews
Checkin Valencia
#67 of 99 in Valencia
455 reviews
Hotel Malcom and Barret
#70 of 99 in Valencia
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Seu
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
#7 of 99 in Valencia
341 reviews
Hotel Turia
#86 of 99 in Valencia
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HolaHotel Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HolaHotel Del Carmen

Property: HolaHotel Del Carmen
Address: Calle Blanquerias 11, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HolaHotel Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a 4 four stars hotel located in the heart of Valencia in the famous district of El Carmen, within walking distance of Old Town: Plaza de la Reina, Miguelete, Valencia City Council … Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a hotel that has 25 rooms, offering customers a personalized and unique treatment.The common areas and other facilities have been specially designed for the enjoyment of customers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your HolaHotel Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Del Carmen Valencia
Acta Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing