We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HolaHotel Del Carmen
Ranked #90 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
A TripAdvisor Member
“Magnificient”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everything allright, good service, better room and the location...awesome.
I hope return back early.
Excelentes vistas de la ciudad, precioso.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We appreciate your comments about the quality, service, location, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise. We hope to have you back with us soon.

King Regards,
Hotel Acta Del Carmen, Valencia
delcarmen@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    100
    69
    42
    61
See reviews for
31
175
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for 3 nights. Whilst we thought the location was ok that was about it! As others have said the rooms were tired and not very clean and I agree seems like they had started off as a boutique hotel and got bored with the idea! The walls were paper thin we could everything from the room next door. Now thats the good part! We found the staff awful especially the day staff which when we stayed was a young male and a 40' something year old woman who was so rude I wanted to lean over the desk and give her a well deserved slap I don't think (and we have travelled alot) we have ever come across such awful staff even the woman who worked in the breakfast area made you feel like you shouldn't be troubling her "how dare you come down for breakfast!!!" seemed to be her attitude. And to top it off nicely we made one phone call home which as we had already paid for the bill at the time did not show up on our receipt it wasn't until I got my next visa statement that they had the nerve to have taken out £34.00 from my account for a 5 minute (if it was that long) phone call!!! unbelieveable. I'm sure there are much better hotels at around the same price I would spend you money elsewhere!! However I would highly recommend Valencia we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtthebulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments, your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day.

We greatly apologize for the cleaning and the attitude of our staff, will contact the in charge departments to see what happened and prevent this situation for the future.

we take your report extremely seriously. Please know this is an isolated incident and we are committed in solving this issue for you as soon as possible; Please give us more details about the dates you stayed at the Hotel so we can proceed to check the bills, it shows all the information about what do you spend your Money for, because we checked already and we can not find it.

please don't hesitate in contacting us.

Kind regards,
Acta Del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valencia hotels

brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights at the end of September. Overall our experience was average and i would agree with some others that this is more 3star than 4. First off, a couple of points on service- it was pretty good. The guy at the desk does look a little surly but he seems to be there about 18 hours a day so possibly with justification. However, whatever we asked for he tried to help with very pleasantly. We had a room on the second floor at the front of the hotel at first. It was just incredibly noisy. It looks out onto a main road, as others have pointed out but i can deal with traffic noise. The killer was the group of kids that have taken over the bit of park opposite. Shouting, drinking ALL NIGHT. These kids have stamina! I think the hotel knows this is a problem- we asked to be moved and they moved us. The guy bent over backwards to sort out a room at the back of the hotel. It was a nicer layout and much quieter- though still you could here the kids at night a bit. Such a shame.

Also, agree with others that the hotel needs some TLC- we noticed water coming out of air con vents and they were really grubby. There was a dampish smell around the place. We didn't use the terrace/jacuzzi as it was not that warm. The location is pretty good- very easy to explore the old city. Overall the price was a little high and their standards could be better. I feel sorry for them that this gang of kids was so noisy as that's not their fault but i would not go back because of this.

Its the sort of hotel you would be ok about for a business trip- it felt a bit like a very standard chain hotel of the Ibis type to me, just smaller. Overall disappointing.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are a must if those pesky kids are still partying outside the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we we´d like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Acta del Carmen for your recent stay in our city.. We are pleased to know you appreciated the staff´s dedication and commitment to delivering a top notch service.

We took note of the incident with the group of kids you mentioned in you review, and upon investigation the front-desk let us know that they recognized it as an isolated event, to which unfortunately you were witnesses of. To compensate for the noise, and as soon as it was possible, they reassigned you a different room so you could relax and enjoy of your time with us.

On the other hand we have let the Maintenance department know about the AC water issue and they will take the proper steps to have it revised as soon as possible.

On a separate note, we´d like you to know that the Jacuzzi is only open to de public during the summer time. That´s the reason why you didn´t find the water to be warm enough for a bath.

We would love to have the chance to create a wonderful experience for you and have you stay with us once again. Next time you find yourself planning a visit to our city, please feel free to contact us in advance so we can meet any special requests you may have.

Kind regards,
Hotel Acta del Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My partner and I stayed here in August. The hotel is great value and delivers on space, style and location!

The room was massive, and the ensuite also very spacious. We really liked the design of the room and had a very comfortable stay. The rooms were cleaned regularly and the staff were lovely.

The bonus for sun lovers was the space on the top floor. The Jacuzzi was a nice touch but the water isn’t heated, so quite chilly even for August, but we still enjoyed it!

I couldn't get over the value of the room in peak season and this included breakfast! It had everything you wanted toast, meat, cheese, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, tea and coffee.

The location was brilliant, right on the edge of the old town. Only a few minutes walk from great bars, cafes and restaurants, but much quieter compared to a hotel right in the centre of activity.

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Valencia and would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear guest:
We are glad to learn that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to deliver an unforgettable experience while visiting our beautiful city.

As you described in your comment we are located near numerous restaurants and bars, but at the same we can offer a tranquil atmosphere where you can just lay back and relax . And for a change of scenery, our easy-to-use public transportation will take you to virtually any other touristic attractions in the city in just minutes.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to Valencia. We look forward to your next visit!

Best,
Hotel Acta del Carmen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My general impression of this hotel was that they had opened it as a trendy, art hotel a few years ago but were now wishing they hadn't. They seem to have got bored of the idea of having to run a hotel.

The staff weren't rude but they weren't particularly friendly or helpful either. At one point the wifi had stopped working for both my and my sister's devices, so I went to talk to the man at reception: his initial reaction was not to believe me ("well i can connect, so you must be doing something wrong"), when I persuaded him that it really wasn't working, his next attitude was one of "who cares, what do you want me to do about it".

The rooftop terrace including the jacuzzi were closed when we were there, despite it being 30degrees and certainly not out of season! This had been one of the reasons we chose the hotel, so we were rather disappointed.

The room was ok, a bit tatty here and there. The bathroom needed a good bit of grout cleaning! But the worst thing was the noise from the street! Our room was effectively on a 5-lane motorway and the traffic noise was incredible, despite the double glazing and shutters. We hardly slept at all the whole time we were there.

The only available television channel in English was the Disney Channel! This does sort of drive you crazy after a while..

Breakfast was fine. The standard European selection of cereal, pastries, meat, fruit, bread, yoghurt etc.

The location was good though - very useful for the old town and the tram to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, we´d like to thank you for having chosen our hotel. We feel terribly sorry to learn that we fell short to meet your expectations.
Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Valencia. And we do not manage fall through, we appreciate our kind guests´ constructive feedback.

We´d like to let you know that we have spoken to our housekeeping department and they are taking proper actions ensure that our high quality cleanliness standards are met every time. Regarding the unfriendly associate, we have our front-desk manager looking into this incident and making sure we are dealing with a once-time isolated case. So thank you.

On the subject regarding our summer facilities, the rooftop terrace and Jacuzzi are only open from June to mid-September.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Valencia in the near future. Please don´t hesitate to contact us to arrange any especial request.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooftop Jacuzzi was good the hotel needed general maintenance especially to the bathrooms. We were first given a room on the second floor where the bathroom was mouldy and the shower head was caked in limescale. We were told that they had hard water. I refused this room and we were then moved to another room on the second floor. This room had nice views of the bridges and park and looked fairly nice and modern. Downside to this room was again in the bathroom – the sink came away from the wall, the bathroom floor flooded every time we used the shower. We would not use the overhead shower head as again this was caked in limescale. There was no mini-bar in the room just a fridge that did not chill very well and two bottles of water and the floor was not very clean – you could not walk with bare feet as dusty . Good 3 star but definitely not a four star.

Room Tip: Don't take room 501
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMayers2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for having chosen the Acta del Carmen Hotel for your recent stay in Valencia.

We are sorry to learn that your stay with us did not satisfy all of your expectations. From your comments we understand that the cleanliness of your room did not match our usual standards. We will investigate the reason for these shortcomings to avoid similar complaints in the future. As to the equipment of our rooms, we have taken note of your suggestions and passed them along to our maintenance department.

On the other hand, we are pleased to learn that you took advantage of our Jacuzzi on the rooftop commanding breathtaking views over the city. And, great to know that you were satisfied with the attention received from our dedicated team!

Again, we deeply regret not having met all your expectations this time but hope you will afford us a second chance to make amends.

Sincerely,
Hotel Acta del Carmen, Valencia
delcarmen@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Seu
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
#43 of 98 in Valencia
232 reviews
La Seu
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
#10 of 98 in Valencia
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Sweet Hotel Continental
Sweet Hotel Continental
#35 of 98 in Valencia
868 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
#13 of 98 in Valencia
489 reviews
Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel
#31 of 98 in Valencia
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HolaHotel Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HolaHotel Del Carmen

Property: HolaHotel Del Carmen
Address: Calle Blanquerias 11, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HolaHotel Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a 4 four stars hotel located in the heart of Valencia in the famous district of El Carmen, within walking distance of Old Town: Plaza de la Reina, Miguelete, Valencia City Council … Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a hotel that has 25 rooms, offering customers a personalized and unique treatment.The common areas and other facilities have been specially designed for the enjoyment of customers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your HolaHotel Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Del Carmen Valencia
Acta Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing