We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars? I don't think so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HolaHotel Del Carmen
Ranked #90 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“4 stars? I don't think so”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I've been to a few 4 star hotels and this one is certainly not one of them! When we arrived, we were greeted by two men in jeans. No information about breakfast times or anything. We went to our room (501, keep away from it!!), it was the only room in that floor (next to the swimmimg pool and party area). When we went in we noticed a bad smell (sewage) so we asked for it to be changed and the man in reception was more concern if we had touched anything than the reason we wanted it changed. We got another room and during the night there was heavy rain, that came through the balcony doors even though they were closed.
The room was OK but badly finished. The only good thing was the shower. They did not put any more shower gel when we had used the ones provided, we were never aknowleged by the staff when we entered/exited the hotel and they were always dressed in jeans.
Let's face it, the hotel inspector would have been shocked that the place was given 4 stars in the first place.
Not going back again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HolaHotel Del Carmen, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear client,

First of all thank you for choosing Acta del Carmen Hotel for your stay in Valencia.
We are really sorry the hotel didn’t fulfill your expectations.

The reason of the bad small is due to the sewers of the old city centre of Valencia, that when weather changes make that the smell is stronger. We are working on solving the problem but it is quite difficult so it is not an internal problem and it is taking time.
Concerning to the water entering the room through the balcony; normally it should not happen if the door is closed. Anyway, the maintenance person has checked it out and everything is ok. Anyway, it could have been possible to change you to another room if you had come to the reception to let us know. We have it on mind for future possible problems.
As uniform, receptionists wear black trousers but just in that case they were not wearing because they did not have it available.

Referring to the amenities, they should be replaced every day .This is why we have talked with the responsible person and have taken the appropriate measures.

We would like to thank you staying with us and we are sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    101
    69
    42
    63
See reviews for
31
177
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sankt Petersburg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This hotel is very modern (nice little art gallery in the lobby) and very central. Its about 5 or 10 mins walk from one of the main and prettiest Plazas, and only another 5 from the Plaza de Reina where you can get the Bus Turistica for both routes. It overlooks the old river which has now been diverted which has been turned into parkland. Its also overlooking a main road but we were given a choice of a view or a quiet room. They spoke perfect English and they were extremely helpful. About 20 mins from the airport (taxi cost us 16 Euros).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahrheitssucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This place was great to my husband and I. We must have gotten a bit lucky with the room we were given because it had two small balconies over looking the park. Absolutely beautiful! We spent both nights of our trip sitting out there drinking wine. The hotel staff was very helpful and provided great suggestions on where to eat. The hotel also had a community laptop we were able to use to check our flight status.

This hotel is not located directly in the middle of town but it's close enough to the city center to walk there in 10-15 minutes. We arrived by plane and took a train to a bus that dropped us off right in front of the hotel. That probably took a little less than an hour.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffany_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Reading the details of this Hotel on the train to Valencia, we were really excited about staying here. This soon faded as we were met with unfriendly staff and directed to our room.
First off, it smelt of sewage (this was, however, later sorted) and the door to the bathroom was broken, with bits of wood rotted away from the frame (this was not sorted). It was clear why the wood was rotting after our shower - our "wet room" was exactly that: a soaking wet room taking a full day for the flooded floor to dry.
The beds were comfy and towels clean, however, I don't know of a 4 star hotel without the following:
Bedside table, chest of drawers, working plug sockets (only 1 out of 4 worked), welcome pack with any useful info or relevant numbers (we had to guess the number for reception - it wasn't zero).
What might have made our stay at this hotel more bearable would've been a view of Valencia, after all, we were in a good location. Our room didn't even have 1 window, unless you count the black tarpaulin hanging across a wall, covering a window, with a view of what looked like a massive concrete-housed ventilation system.
The one plus-side to the Hotel is its location, it's a 5 minute walk from the Cathedral, but the 4 star rating is massively misleading.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank albi264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valencia hotels

Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Very nice location in the central part of town, near the "old town". Rates were very reasonable, 65 euro for two people. Rooms were clean and stocked with many toiletries and decorated in "modern" theme. Front desk was very helpful and polite. I would stay here again!!! They had Wi Fi

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelynd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed at the Acta Del Carmen in July 2010. The hotel is close to the city centre and is only a 5 minute walk to the Plaza De Virgen and Cathedral, the splendid Torres de Serrnos almost next door, is an impressive landmark and make the hotel easy to find. Our room was clean and tidy and perfectly adequate for our purposes, although it could have been a little larger, the en-suite was nicely appointed with a very roomy walk in shower. The guys on the front desk were very helpful and provided us with plenty suggestions for places to eat, all were spot on. The air conditioning worked fine and thankfully kept us cool at night. There was no brochure or such that informed you of the hotels services, breakfast times etc, we later discovered that there was a sauna and Jacuzzi on the roof, sadly we did not have time to try either of them out. Over all a very pleasant stay and good value for money in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenSueSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I stayed in Acta Del Carmen in April 2010 and received fantastic service. As a couple in our early 20’s, we wanted somewhere that was clean, contemporary and close to amenities while being affordable. Hotel Acta Del Carmen was exactly that. Firstly, if you’re confused about whether to stay in the old or new side of Valencia, I would highly recommend the old time. It’s quaint, has some nice historical sites and it’s the area where a great deal of the good restaurants and nightlife resides. Our room was gorgeous. Plenty of space, simply, yet brightly decorated with a fantastic walk in power shower. We were concerned with there being a language barrier, fortunately the clerk at the desk spoke exceptional English and was a great help in regards to helping us get around, writing directions and recommendations. We only had the breakfast twice, both times it was a delight, with a good variety of pastries, meat slices, cheeses, cereals and fresh juices & hot drinks.

It was quiet at the time of year we went, and hardly saw anyone in the 4 days we were there.

The top floor sauna is tiny, but nice for relaxation. Unfortunately the outdoor Jacuzzi was closed, which was the only draw back.

In all, I highly recommend this hotel. Brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Seu
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
Hotel Adhoc Carmen
#10 of 98 in Valencia
357 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia Vintage
Casual Valencia Vintage
#15 of 98 in Valencia
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ad Hoc Monumental Hotel
#29 of 98 in Valencia
482 reviews
Sant Francesc
Sweet Hotel Continental
Sweet Hotel Continental
#33 of 98 in Valencia
898 reviews
La Seu
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
San Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
#42 of 98 in Valencia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HolaHotel Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HolaHotel Del Carmen

Property: HolaHotel Del Carmen
Address: Calle Blanquerias 11, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HolaHotel Del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a 4 four stars hotel located in the heart of Valencia in the famous district of El Carmen, within walking distance of Old Town: Plaza de la Reina, Miguelete, Valencia City Council … Hotel Del Carmen Valencia is a hotel that has 25 rooms, offering customers a personalized and unique treatment.The common areas and other facilities have been specially designed for the enjoyment of customers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HolaHotel Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Del Carmen Valencia
Acta Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing