We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, atmosphere could be better but otherwise very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Purple Nest Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purple Nest Hostel
Ranked #22 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, atmosphere could be better but otherwise very good!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location and facilities, kitchen first class for cooking own meals. Rooms slightly pokey, i stayed in a 10 bed and the room really should have only had maybe 6 beds max. Hostel itself well set up, only 1 washer and dryer so can take time to get in to use. Bar/common area was very good, and nightly meals with a drink for €6, decent value. 3 bike hire shops quite close by too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hostel would be quieter as front rooms face a busy main street, take earplu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    135
    50
    21
    12
See reviews for
9
53
88
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krasnodar, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We occupied the whole 8 bed's room and stayed here for 2 days. Most of all we appreciated the location. We didn't spend much time in the hostel, otherwise I could say more about other things. The free breakfast was nice, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestroIGOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Purple Nest is my favourite Hostel in Valencia. 100% cheap, central, clean. People are nice and professional. There's free wifi in every room and breakfast included. Every person has a personal little closet for luggages, bathrooms shared but always clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImaginaryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 days in July. The hostel has a nice vibe, unlike big chain hostels, though its probably best suited to you if you're in your early 20s and want to party.

It was perfectly ok for a few days but it really needs aircon. We were so uncomfortable from the heat.

Good points
- Decent kitchen, fridges etc
- Large communal area
- OK location in the old town.

Bad points
- No air con in the room, so we were SWELTERING in the summer heat. Absolutely unbearable and impossible to sleep.
- Shared bathrooms are a little bit skanky, with a huge well in the shower floor - you literally have to stand astride trying not to slip into it!
- Very loud. People running up and down the corridors shouting all night long. On weekends, there's banging music from
downstairs too.
- Wifi only worked in reception area.
- Old creaky beds need replacing. The slats were broken and hanging out of the top bunk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hostel is great value for money, good location, good facilities.
My major problem with this hostel is the air conditioning. We stayed there in the height if European summer with temperatures being 33-35 degrees everyday. The air con is centrally controlled and is turned on between the hours of 7pm-7am. Despite frequent requests for it to be made colder our room remained uncomfortably hot meaning sleep quality here wasn't very good.
One washing machine and one dryer, costing €2 each, free detergent.
I was on the top bunk and the bunk stairs creaked uncontrollably as did the bunk itself meaning everyone woke up if I needed to get up in the middle of the night.
The staff were friendly and helpful, they even helped us find pharmacists and assisted us in translating from spanish.
luggage lockers in room (just make sure you have a spare lock.)
Plenty of shared showers and toilets, and separate male and female bathrooms.
Value for money, just be aware if you're there when its hot, don't expect to sleep well!

Room Tip: The 5th floor doesn't have it's own showers/toilets (I read this on a sign) so be aware of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in the Purple Nest with 8 of my friends in a 10-bed dorm, for 3 nights. It's great value for money, the staff are helpful, the room was clean, the bar area was great. Happy hour from 9-10 every night. If you want to play beer-pong, they give you a long table to use and provide paper cups and a ping-pong ball.
The staff are very friendly. On arrival they inform you of the free walking tours of Valenica, they organise pub crawls every night (which start at 1.30am!!) and they take you to all the best bars in Valencia. Highly recommended for 18-30 year olds. Naturally it attracts a young crowd so if you're touring Europe or just having a messy alcohol-fuelled 'Lads' holiday, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a double room. It had a great view as we had our own rooftop balcony. The shower and toilet were clean and the kitchenette was enough for me to whip up pad thai. We had a piece of door frame fall down and the maintenance man fixed it straight away. Would def stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Xerea
The River Hostel
The River Hostel
#11 of 171 in Valencia
208 reviews
Red Nest Hostel
#23 of 171 in Valencia
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Pla del Remei
B&B Hi Valencia Canovas
B&B Hi Valencia Canovas
#4 of 72 in Valencia
353 reviews
Quart Youth Hostel
#15 of 171 in Valencia
122 reviews
El Mercat
Home Youth Hostel Valencia by Feetup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Nest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Nest Hostel

Property: Purple Nest Hostel
Address: Plaza Tetuan 5, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Purple Nest Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Valencia, just 10 minutes’ walk from the cathedral, Purple Nest Hostel offers bright, air-conditioned rooms. It has a roof terrace and a lively bar.Rooms are decorated in cheerful, vibrant colours, with tiled floors and original designs painted on the walls. Guests use shared bathrooms and towels are provided.Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there are also computers with internet that can be used for an extra charge. The hostel features a pool table and vending machines, and free coffee and tea is offered.The Purple Nest is a great base for exploring the sights of Valencia and enjoying its nightlife. The bus station is around 2 km away, and the bus for the beach stops close to the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Purple Nest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing