We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelo Valencia
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Decent, very modern hotel. Really large rooms, modern elegant design, good breakfast. The wifi access is not so good in all hotel places. Nice view of the city. I would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view on the science and arts park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vangelis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    612
    212
    58
    34
See reviews for
259
666
52
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chita, japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

I noticed I forgot my battery charger in my room after I returned home.
My tour conductor said nothing will return if you leave something in a hotel in Spain.
But it was not true, the hotel returned my lost property with no charge but the postal charge.
This hotel makes me love Spanish people.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ipot-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing,sussex,england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I won a 1 nights stay for this hotel on twitter, and i booked to make a weekend out of it. We arrived around 11am and took the metro (Green Line 5) to Amistat metro which took around 25 minutes then walked down to the hotel - they say its 10 mins but i would say more 15-20. But its a nice walk down the road. We arrived at the hotel and it looked lovely and modern from the outside and the initial impression in the lobby did not disappoint. Its all spotlessly clean and looks brand spanking new - and the hotel is 6 years old so all credit for the maintenance and upkeep of the building. Got checked in no problem and the male receptionist was so helpful in pointing out places of interest on maps etc for us and did it without making us feel like we were in the way etc... all the staff in this hotel have the same attitude, nothing at all is too much trouble. We were in room 814 which just about had a small view of the arts and science area - if you want a full view of this it will cost you an extra €15.00.
There is a taxi rank right on the door step of the hotel and a taxi to the town centre will cost around €8.00. If you do a left when leaving the hotel it is about a half hour walk down to the port and beach. The tourist bus goes from opposit the doors of the holiday inn - point 8 on the blue route map or outside the oceanografic point 4. Its €18 for 48 hours and we were on this all the time fantastic way to see everything. You can change at point 1 on the map and swap to the red route and see historic valencia which is what we did.
One thing we found really difficult in Valencia was to find somewhere to eat! We walked around for over an hour on a Friday night in the town centre for a restaurant and could not find one restaurant - plenty of tapas cafe bars etc... but no restaurant. So we took a taxi back to the hotel and walked down Avenida de Francia where we had seen an italian restaurant earlier in the day by our hotel called La Mafia - we got there around 21:00 and they asked if we had booked and we said no but they found us a table - we thought it was strange as there was only one other table eating in there, however, within 10 minutes the restaurant was almost full! We later found out that it opens at 20:30!! The food was spectacular, and the portions are massive! The pannatone bread with tomatoes and onions is to die for - we ordered one each on the 1st night we ate there and when it came there were 8 big pieces per plate! The 2nd night we ate there we just had 1!! The pastas have so much filling to them and the pizzas are so big they are bigger than the plate! The service is brilliant - a little slow at bringing the bill but then the restaurant was packed so i cant complain. 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 jugs of sangria cost us €55 so not too pricey. We liked it so much we went back on our 2nd night!
Breakfast at the hotel is perfect - spanish omlettes, sausage, eggs etc... plus loads of pastrys all freshly cooked, fresh fruit, cereal, cold meats and cheese, and a selction on breads and rolls. Hot and cold drinks. Its €18 per person but we had it included in our room rate. Certainly sets you up for the day!
Our bedroom was massive, lovely power shower, separate toilet, 2 sinks, mini bar, fridge, sliding partition which separated the bedroom from the shower area, beds were super comfy, massive window to see out of. Cleanliness was spectacular, could not fault one thing.
Checked out and left our luggage there at the hotel all day as we were not flying until 9pm.
I would 100% return to this hotel without question - i always try to stay in a barcelo when i am in Spain as I think they are the best brand without question.

Room Tip: The higher floors have spectacular views, but you will be charged a premium if you want a room direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nikki012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed for two nights in October, rooms are clean, modern and huge ! Great location, staff bend over backwards to help with every little detail. Across the street from the science museum and the lovely park :)

Highly recommended ..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramone2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Really enjoyed by one night stay at the Barcelo Valencia. Extremely professional staff, very clean room, great breakfast and lovely room. Would recommend!

Room Tip: I upgraded to get the view of the museums, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SenorDingusDongus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel runs the risk of being like the man who tries to ride two horses and eventually falls off both in that it`s quite a treck from both the old town and the beach so perhaps ends up disappointing both beach goers and old town visitors by being a bit too far to walk to either.Having said that it`s near the museum of arts and sciences if you want to visit and you can also catch a bus right outside the hotel to the old town.The bus for the beach is about a 10 minute walk away and then a 10 minute or so ride.
It`s a modern ,clean hotel with secure parking in the basement area(at a cost of about 20Euros per day during our stay).Check-in and check-out were easy.
Our room on the 7th floor(out of I recall about 9 floors) was quite small but the bed was comfortable and the room was adequately equipped.TV was modern with a few English language news channels.No tea or coffee making facilities of course,they do tend to be rare in Europe sadly.Mini bar was stocked though naturally expensive.
Bathroom was a little odd in that it didn`t really exist!The bathroom area was basically off the hotel room with no door dividing the room from the wash basin.The shower though did have a glass door as did the small toilet.Not exactly private,and maybe a bit off putting for some people.Toiletries and towels provided were fine.
Breakfast was in a dining area and was buffet style.The choice was excellent,full range of most things you could reasonably ever want from a hotel breakfast.One of the very best I`ve come across .Hot and cold food,pastries,fruit,fresh fruit juice,various coffees and teas,hot chocolate.
The bar off reception is good.
Overall a good choice if you want to take in both beach and town and therefore don`t want to stay in either area all the time.It`s quite impersonal and not somewhere to go if you like the staff getting to know you and pretend they`re your new best friend but since I don`t put much store by that ,it didn`t bother me and the functional aspect suited.Only real gripe,they need a couple more lifts--too many times you wait way to long for it to arrive and often it by-passes your floor or is full when it stops.I did mention this to reception and they say they are aware of the problem but just in case it isn`t sorted any time soon(this is Spain after all!) think about choosing a room on the lower floors so you can use the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

stayed there for a weekend in september.

hotel is 30 min from airport. 20 min with metro (3 or 5) and then 10 min walk
you can buy a 10 tube passes for 10 euros at the airport. useful if there are moe than two of you

hotel is located in front of the green belt and the museum of arts
takes 15 min with the bus (nber 19) in front of the hotel
careful tubes are very scarce coming back in the e evening. taxis are around 10euros to come back from the center

hotel is not badly located as you can stroll on the beautiful gree belt or go to the oceanic area (must see) however the hotel lets you down
very impersonal, decor is very bland. lifts are just plainly stupid as they don't let you get out and let someone else go in.
rooms are ok. has good beds, tv, fridge, locker but there are no proper separation fr the bathroom. basically you are going via the bathroom when you get in. lights are not great because the two interruptors for bathroom and bedroom are next to each other so if you want to go to the toilet in the evening you might wake up your partner by mistake. anyway the layout is a subjective opinion but we didn't like it.

the hotel as a gym and also a spa. careful, the sauna is part of the spa so you have to pay which is not clearly stated. the fitness has a few machines and a bench. might as well go running in the green belt !

breakfast was great, good selection of fruit, pastry and cooked items
service was als good, the reception is ready to help

basically ok but wouldn't recommend if you can get same price closer to center
the carmen area is a good place to go out

valencia is a very walkable area so enjoy, it is great and it is true, a great paella is difficult to find. las thing the beach is fab and is a 10 min bus ride (19) and the port nearby holds the grand prix circuit and all the americas cup sailing buildings

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoaozinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hotel Melia Valencia
#6 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Carme
NH Valencia Center
NH Valencia Center
#24 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
NH Valencia Las Artes
#33 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#8 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Valencia

Property: Barcelo Valencia
Address: Avenida Francia 11, 46023 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Valencia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#5 Spa Hotel in Valencia
#14 Family Hotel in Valencia
#14 Business Hotel in Valencia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelo Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Valencia Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing