We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly Hotel - Excellent Value”
Review of Checkin Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Checkin Valencia
Ranked #67 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly Hotel - Excellent Value”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We enjoyed our weeks stay in Valencia at Solvasa. This is a very good hotel, spotlessly clean, quiet and with very good service. The prices are good although we took breakfast for just 2.20 Euro's at a nearby cafe. Only disappointment for my daughter was that wifi did not work (as mentioned in an earlier review)

The location, while out of the city, is ideal for buses and Ayora metro and the port, beaches an easy 15 minute walk away

One travel tip, paying for the multi trip bus and metro cards is far cheaper (70 - 80 cents a trip) rather than the expensive Valencia cards promoted at tourist offices. Plenty of buses go straight to the old city in just 10-15 mins. We thank Rosanna on reception for this advice!

If the hotel had a swimming pool it would have been perfect!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaBrava01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    189
    115
    43
    25
See reviews for
61
245
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel and would recommend it for trips to Valencia. True it is out of the city centre but is within 15-20 minutes walk of the city, about the same to the beach and the City of Arts and Sciences. You do get a taste of local life too. We were in Valencia for the Fallas fiesta and the hotel was perfectly placed for us, with so much happening locally. We loved seeing the communities celebrating and really felt that we saw so much more than just being in the centre. We did go into the city to experience the celebrations there which was brilliant too but the fact that we walked through the streets back to the hotel meant we were able to see so many more Fallas. We also went to watch Valencia v Real Betis and this was within walking distance too. The journey from the airport to the hotel was also easy with a 5-10 minute walk from the Ayora metro station to the hotel. The building is beautiful from the outside and functional in the public areas though will little character, however I did like the glass plaques.
Our room was large with a huge and very comfortable bed, we had a view over the courtyard and the room was spotlessly clean. The staff were all friendly and very helpful, making our stay very enjoyable. We did have breakfast in the hotel on 2 mornings and it was a buffet with a delicious array of food to suit everyone's tastes. There were some different food items both times which was lovely. Locally there are a few bars and restaurants but you need to wander to find them, one bar across the road has friendly staff and we used this for coffees. The wifi in the hotel was a little slow but was perfectly adequate for our needs. As other people have mentioned the only television programmes were Spanish, but this was not an issue for us....in fact I tried to watch the news to improve my understanding of Spanish, sadly not very successfully!
A pleasant and comfortable stay overall and I am sure we will be back for our next trip the Las Fallas in a few years!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diam0ndDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a last minute room rate, for 3 extremely comfortable nights, in a spacious & very comfortable room. Location was great - easy walk to town & close to the port & the spectacular Ciudad Des Artes Y Sciencas.

The hotel is a beautifully converted old flour mill, bright & neutral, but with gorgeous, colourful art adorning both public areas & the private rooms. Staff were friendly & helpful.

We didn't partake of the 7 euro buffet breakfast, but visited nearby cafes instead. There are also several supermarkets & a laundromat in the area.

Would gladly stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. In the late evening sometimes there was no bar service available. If there was we would have spent more time in the hotel at night. Otherwise we had a very enjoyable stay and would have no hesitation in recommending your hotel to familie and friends.

Tony Burke

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Solvasa for two nights in April 2012. We deliberately picked a hotel in the part of the city in which it is situated because we had only one full day in Valencia and wanted to use it to see the Ciudad de las Artes y la Ciencias. The hotel is only a ten minute walk to that.

We booked through the hotel website and got a better deal that way than through other hotel booking sites - the price we paid included our car parking, which was an offer they had on at the time.

We were very pleased with our room which was modern, bright and equipped with everything we needed (including a safe). The staff we met were very friendly and helpful - my partner, who is learning Spanish was able to practice her speaking with the chap on reception who seemed quite happy to put up with our mistakes! We didn't eat in the hotel, but did use the bar on both nights we were there. Whilst this was not staffed all the time, the reception staff organised a member of staff to attend to us when necessary and on the second night it was quite busy, due to the local tango club meeting in one of the hotel conference rooms.

The car park was a little difficult to find at first - as you approach the hotel (on your left) go just past the main gate and, set back from the road, there is the garage entrance. Don't do as I did, assume that the entrance must be in a side road otherwise you are into going around the block through some pretty narrow side streets!

We also walked into the city centre, which took us around 25 minutes (including time taken to check the map which we got from reception). Unlike another reviewer, we had absolutely no problem with the free wifi access - we got the code from reception and it worked fine. For football fans, it's worth noting that Valencia's home ground is also quite close to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my partner and 21 month old son on the 3rd October. We visited Valencia while on holiday in Salou.

The hotel is based outside the main tourist area near the science centre. The main tourist area is easily accessed by the number 4 bus which is located one street up behind the petrol station at a charge of €1.50 pp.

The rooms are spacious and clean and all you require for a quick break, hotel also provides toiletries so no need to take any.
The hair dryer is a little dated so would suggest you take your own. There is free wifi in the hotel also. From the 1st August the bar/restaurant is only open from 8 .30-10.30pm. I would suggest going up the street 100 metres to the Taj Mahal where you can sit outside and watch the world go by with a pint of San Miguel for €2.
They also do a fantastic kebab with all the trimmings that will leave you full for a week at € 3.50.

The hotel also provides car parking which is directly down the side. It took us 3 attempts to get into it as there is a sign on the wall that suggests no entry, but pay no heed. The entrance is also the exit, only one way in and out . Parking is charged at €10 per night and you can either pay reception or a machine in the car park.

Overall Valencia is a fantastic city and I would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Ps. If you are a F1 fan the road the hotel is located on leads to the marina area where the F1 circuit formally was. This is a beautiful area with plenty to do for all ages.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashlee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
NH Ciudad de Valencia
NH Ciudad de Valencia
#40 of 99 in Valencia
1,008 reviews
Abba Acteon Hotel
#74 of 99 in Valencia
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villacarlos
#54 of 99 in Valencia
374 reviews
Russafa
Senator Parque Central Hotel
AC Hotel Valencia
#32 of 99 in Valencia
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Checkin Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Checkin Valencia

Property: Checkin Valencia
Address: Avenida Puerto 129, 46022 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Solvasa Valencia)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Checkin Valencia 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Checkin Valencia is located in an incredible, unique place. The establishment is in an old factory that has been renovated to create a spectacular setting designed for the peace and relaxation of our clients. Our hotel is situated on one of the city's main avenues, providing excellent links with the port and city centre. We have a wonderful team of staff who provide fantastic customer service. Hotel Solvasa Valencia also offers some exclusive, fully-equipped facilities that have been exquisitely decorated. It is easy for you to find the accommodation option you are looking for. We have extremely competent, friendly staff and a complete "family" of hotels, apartments and bungalows that range from two to four stars. You will also be able to book on our official websites and find the price you were hoping for. Visit the official websites of each hotel, apartments or bungalows if you would like to find out more about them and their locations. You can enjoy a better holiday for much less. This hotel was opened in 2005. It is located in a building from the 19th Century which has been fully renovated while still respecting the structure of what was previously an old flour factory. The hotel has three floors across which our 93 rooms are distributed. Three of these rooms are Suites. Our elegant lobby has a lift, 24-hour air-conditioned reception a safe service you can make use of. Furthermore, the establishment boasts a bar and a lovely café. Guest who are travelling on business can find many modern conference rooms available, should they be required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Checkin Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solvasa Valencia Hotel Valencia
Solvasa Hotel Valencia
Valencia Solvasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing