We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience El Palmar
from $39.46
More Info
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
63
95
31
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
95
31
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip local village paella boats tonica spain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 220 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2019

A village in an unlikely location - in the middle of a lake/swamp where rice is grown (Paella!). Mostly good restaurants here but alos canals

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank EuropeanDiversity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

This so called attraction 10k outside of valencia was so dissapointing. Firstly how do you get there,the only transport was a bus every 2 hours there and every 2 hours back, its the same bus on a loop. The bus was crammed standing room only,both ways ,for an hours trip in the heat with no air con, its like going backward 50 years. The lake is not viewable unless you get on one of the boat trips, did I say boat, well a small wooden open boat about 20 foot long with no life vests or any safety features whatsoever. People dont worry to much when on holiday, but this is when fatalities occur, I would not set foot on one of these. Eating out, because it so popular all the cafes and restaurants do their own thing,some you can only eat and drink but cannot get a drink, most close at 5pm so if your looking for dinner you have to eat when the locals do. Given the choice to go again for free, no thankyou.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We didn't eat here in the end, due to the time we arrived.. but we did take a local boat trip for €4 each. The boat trip lasted around 40 minutes and was really nice. Be careful if you are aiming to reach El Palmar by bus, as there are two '25' buses, one of which looks like it's heading to El Palmar but turns off. We improvised and managed to hitch-hike the extra few kilometres there.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

A super place to sample paella, said to have been invented in this town. The dishes are prepared to order, and many varieties can be selected from the dozens of restaurants along its picturesque streets. Set amidst the second largest rice producing region of Spain, you can take boat trips on the fresh water lake for bird watching and photos.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

We visited this small village for lunch one day in Sept. and had a great meal and drove into the rice paddies to watch the harvest. Very pleasant day. Try Rest El Sequer de Tonica.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews