We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel was close to all I wanted to see (hop on hop off bus, market, great places to eat, and the train station). The staff was helpful and nice. If you have a chance start your day at the market with some coffees and pastry.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 770 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel Mediterraneo is a very nice establishment in the centre of Valencia. The Old Town of Valencia is not too big and the hotel's location let you to easily walk to the main sights. You actually don't spend more than 15 minutes to reach any point of interest in the Old Town living here. Valencia-Nord station is also in 5 minutes walk if you come by train or want to get out of town.
The price for three stars hotel in this part of the city is indeed very reasonable. Besides, the location is not the only advantage this hotel has.
The staff was very nice and polite. The reception is available 24/24, so we received a warm welcome despite our arrival at the midnight.
The room was nicely decorated and clean. It was cleaned everyday - once the cleaning lady even came without knockin' when we were in the room, but this incident became the single disadvantage I can remember. The size of the room was quite regular (not too small or too big), the bathroom which I really liked was rather spacious. There wasn't an air conditioner but it was not hot or stuffy. With an open window it was rather cool due to Valencian June winds.
My experience with Hotel Mediterraneo was very positive. I would definitely stay there on my next trip to beautiful Valencia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0zaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent hotel at a very reasonable price. Stayed 4 nights in June. Arrived late at night but they were were expecting us and made us feel very welcome. Excellent room, larger than expected and the bathroom was also larger then expected and a lovely hot shower. We also made good use of the air conditioner. Close to walk to the historical centre and also to the metro and train station. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. We are hoping to go back and would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends and family. We cannot comment on the breakfast as we ate at a little cafe next door as we preferred to eat outside and make the most of the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hullstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. It was so easy to find this hotel, very near the Train station ( a short walk) and most sights. Security in the area is good as we had to leave at 12 midnight for the train station. Our room was average, room was bigger than what I expected with enough bathroom space. We were provided with a double bed but the cushions, beddings and pillows could use some sprucing up. Our room was located in the first floor near a sidewalk with the cafes so one could hear the noise (although not too loud) from the café patrons. It was when these cafes would close up that the noise coming from them would waken you. The room was kept clean. Overall this was good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is simple and straightforward, with helpful and friendly staff. Cituated near the station, metro and in the historical centre. We stayed here four days and had no complaints atall. You can easily walk everywhere by footh and you are never far from the hotel. It was perfect and jsut how we wanted it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icegini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I needed a reasonably priced hotel close to Valencia Nord (railway station for early train). This hotel was recommended to me by a local colleague and fitted the bill perfectly. Five minutes (I walk at pace) from the station and a little further from the "main drag" and a similar distance from the "old city" (suggest visiting the old city over the main drag every day of the week).
The staff are friendly and did exactly what was expected not that I needed for much in my short stay. The room was perfect with plenty of sockets, lights etc. Bathroom good enough for me with plentiful hot water (after a short wait - I'm used to that at home). I used the lift twice - when travelling with my case: if you are on a higher floor and are claustrophobic then it could be a long ride. The suitcase (20kg) and I (95kg) filled the lift suitable for 4 people.
Breakfast was good value with plentiful supply of coffee (or tea I suppose).There is no restaurant or bar but with Valencia on your doorstep you don't need them - room minibar not excessive either.
For short break in the city in my budget don't think I would improve on the Mediterraneo.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic get a low floor. Beware that floor 1 also houses the breakfast area so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo A, Director General at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear David,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review in TripAdvisor and for sharing your experience with all of us. We are really pleased that we were able to fulfil your expectations and that you found the Hotel Mediterraneo a nice base to explore our wonderful city.
I am sure the rest of travellers choosing our hotel will find your comments helpful.
Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel is small, which is for us positive. Service is very good and people working ther very nice, friendly and cooperative. Price is right and position of hote is excellent: downtown and extremely close to Metro; restaurants, tourist buses etc.
We doactually suggest it !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo A, General Manager at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Marina,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. The entire team at the Hotel Mediterraneo would like to thank you for your four star review and positive comments. We feel specially proud about your comments about our staff friendliness.
As you mention, we are in a privileged position right in the city center of Valencia, within walking distance of most turist attractions, as well as great transport links to the rest of great locations in the city.
Once again, thanks for taking some time to share your comments,
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia Vintage
Casual Valencia Vintage
#15 of 98 in Valencia
399 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 98 in Valencia
1,406 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia del Cine
Casual Valencia del Cine
#28 of 98 in Valencia
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Hotel Zenit Valencia
Hotel Zenit Valencia
#19 of 98 in Valencia
972 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,632 reviews
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#22 of 98 in Valencia
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Avenida Baron de Carcer 45, 46001 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: $84 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort right in the city centre of ValenciaThe Hotel Mediterraneo is a comfortable hotel located in the city centre of Valencia next to the Plaza del Ayuntamiento (Town Hall Square), the main train station (Estacion del Norte), Mercado central, Palacio de la Lonja, the cathedral and a few minutes away from the Barrio del Carmen, one of the cultural and historical zones, as well as 10 min. walk away from the main commercial and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing