We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and staff .. just plain excellent”
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Reviewed October 18, 2011

What can I say? This hotel had an excellent location, very close to the railway station, carrer del barmen (i think it's called that), placa de torro etc. Really friendly staff, swift check-in, however you'll have to park at the railway station if you have a car taller than 2 metres (which we did). I would recommend this hotel for any group of friends looking to visit Valencia. The nightlife was great, especially a club called Fox Congo .. however, we then went to a club called Music Box, which was full of creeps. I'd avoid that one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiteshGandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 763 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here for a week in July, and were very happy with it. Our room was quite big for a city centre hotel and the location was perfect. Right in the heart of the centro historico, you can walk almost every where from it. We went to the beach a couple of the days, which was a 15-20 minute bus journey from the historical centre (bus stop is a five minute walk from the hotel) The bus that goes to the beach, also passes by the City of Arts & Science. The staff are very friendly but don't speak much english, but through gestures and pigeon spanish we were able to make ourselves understood! I think visitors to a country should make some attempt to speak some of the local language anyway, even if it's just hello and goodbye. Loads of lovely restaurants and coffee shops in the vicinity of the hotel too. All in all, we were very happy with the hotel which was competitively priced and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room on the second floor, which was much bigger than I expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cakes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Simply a nice hotel. We spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The room was medium sized, basic, with a very clean bathroom. One of the windows in our room didn't close well; the very helpful receptionist came to have a look at it, could not fix it, but told us he would send someone else. When we came back after dinner the problem was indeed solved.

The location of the hotel is great; we explored the old city centre of Valencia by foot, for trips outside the city centre you can easily take a metro or bus - stops are close by.
Didn't try the hotel breakfast - we thought it was quite expensive and there are plenty of restaurants / bars around anyway.

Don't go here if you're looking for luxury - otherwise it's really a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

A nice hotel, not the best. We didn't have breakfast there, there are a lots of small coffee shops cheaper. Our room looked on the main street and was a little noisy however it was clean and the stuff was friendly and helpful. The metro station wasn't just right away but a short walk away. In the neighborhood there are markets and other shops other than restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrisSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed with a friend who was visiting her son. The hotel was ideally located for access to the centre. The staff spoke good English and were extremely helpful. The rooms at the back are dark but very quiet and having stayed there for four nights I would not hesitate to recommend it.

I would definitely go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mochu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Had a great stay here with the girlfriend - was the perfect base for a weekend city break - close to all the sights and bars/restaurants. Would definitely stay here again as was also close to the transport links and the main square.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andypr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed at the Mediterraneo for 3 nights recently on our first stay in Valencia.

The location is ideal - only 10 minutes walk from the train station and the Xativa metro station. The rooms were on the small side, but if you are using this place as a base to explore then that won't matter. They were incredibly clean and the beds were comfortable.

The staff were helpful and although they were not English speaking my basic Spanish and a phrase book got us through. Remember - you are in Spain, not England, please make an effort, even it's just 'please' and 'thankyou'.

Valencia itself is a wonderful well looked after city, which is great for families. There are many things to do there - the Bioparc, the Science and Arts Museum and the Oceanagrafic aquarium are 3 examples of massive investment and in my opinion amongst some of the best places I have visited on a European city break.

The public transport is very good - take advantage of the efficient and cost effective travel cards. We bought ours at the airport and jumped straight on the metro there and within 20 minutes we were in the middle of Valencia. The total cost was 20euros for 3 days of unlimited travel, and it comes with a booklet offering discounts to the main attractions and some restaurants.

The weather was 29c and sunny and the heat was dry. Couldn't have asked for more. We went down to the beach which is vast and the sand is beautiful, white and clean.

We visited Valencia after having visited most of the other obvious European cities and we were not disappointed. It didn't feel like the hustle and bustle of other cities and certainly felt safe and friendly. I would not hesitate to return there for a night or two and would stay again at the Mediterraneo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia Vintage
Casual Valencia Vintage
#20 of 98 in Valencia
376 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia del Cine
Casual Valencia del Cine
#29 of 98 in Valencia
645 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#5 of 98 in Valencia
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Hotel Zenit Valencia
Hotel Zenit Valencia
#18 of 98 in Valencia
959 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 98 in Valencia
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Avenida Baron de Carcer 45, 46001 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: $67 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort right in the city centre of ValenciaThe Hotel Mediterraneo is a comfortable hotel located in the city centre of Valencia next to the Plaza del Ayuntamiento (Town Hall Square), the main train station (Estacion del Norte), Mercado central, Palacio de la Lonja, the cathedral and a few minutes away from the Barrio del Carmen, one of the cultural and historical zones, as well as 10 min. walk away from the main commercial and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing