We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing bad to say about it”
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Reviewed May 29, 2011

A nice hotel, not the best. We didn't have breakfast there, there are a lots of small coffee shops cheaper. Our room looked on the main street and was a little noisy however it was clean and the stuff was friendly and helpful. The metro station wasn't just right away but a short walk away. In the neighborhood there are markets and other shops other than restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrisSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 751 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed with a friend who was visiting her son. The hotel was ideally located for access to the centre. The staff spoke good English and were extremely helpful. The rooms at the back are dark but very quiet and having stayed there for four nights I would not hesitate to recommend it.

I would definitely go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mochu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Had a great stay here with the girlfriend - was the perfect base for a weekend city break - close to all the sights and bars/restaurants. Would definitely stay here again as was also close to the transport links and the main square.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andypr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed at the Mediterraneo for 3 nights recently on our first stay in Valencia.

The location is ideal - only 10 minutes walk from the train station and the Xativa metro station. The rooms were on the small side, but if you are using this place as a base to explore then that won't matter. They were incredibly clean and the beds were comfortable.

The staff were helpful and although they were not English speaking my basic Spanish and a phrase book got us through. Remember - you are in Spain, not England, please make an effort, even it's just 'please' and 'thankyou'.

Valencia itself is a wonderful well looked after city, which is great for families. There are many things to do there - the Bioparc, the Science and Arts Museum and the Oceanagrafic aquarium are 3 examples of massive investment and in my opinion amongst some of the best places I have visited on a European city break.

The public transport is very good - take advantage of the efficient and cost effective travel cards. We bought ours at the airport and jumped straight on the metro there and within 20 minutes we were in the middle of Valencia. The total cost was 20euros for 3 days of unlimited travel, and it comes with a booklet offering discounts to the main attractions and some restaurants.

The weather was 29c and sunny and the heat was dry. Couldn't have asked for more. We went down to the beach which is vast and the sand is beautiful, white and clean.

We visited Valencia after having visited most of the other obvious European cities and we were not disappointed. It didn't feel like the hustle and bustle of other cities and certainly felt safe and friendly. I would not hesitate to return there for a night or two and would stay again at the Mediterraneo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

The hotel was situated perfectly to explore the city and also to get transport down to the beach.
We stayed on the first floor by the breakfast area. I imagined this was going to be a noisy experience but I was wrong. The room (103) was quiet, with a view overlooking the high street.
My wife and I were pleased with the size, cleanliness and decor of the room. There was a shower and bath and also a minibar fridge. The tv did not work but this is a hotel to be used as a base for exploration not spending all day in.
We didn't have breakfast as €7.50 seemed steep, especially with the amount of cafes around.
Finally the staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful.

If you are a person/couple who want a comfortable base for enjoying the city then the Mediterraneo is ideal.
If your after lavish comfort go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Garbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

My son and I really enjoyed our stay at the Mediterraneo. The front-desk guys were helpful and friendly, hooking us up with tickets for one of the best fallas. We had a room overlooking the main street, with nice big windows in the room and the bathroom. Little tv, minifridge, nice clean bathroom, comfortable beds, just enough room. Somehow managed to get a room for friday and saturday nights of las fallas, and were perfectly situated in the center to enjoy the festival! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BarnFlip56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Two days ago returned from Valencia where I stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Mediterraneo.
Upon arrival the staff was friendly and tried to give the explanations in English which was appreciated. Unfortunately when entering the rather small room the first thing I noticed was the unpleasant smell. The room and bathroom costing slightly more than 100 euro per night, without breakfast (7 euro, not very great but ok), was very clean but too small for two persons (but luckily I was on my own). The only single rooms (210-310-410), costing euro 77 excluding breakfast, were even smaller with a bath which in view of the size you cannot call a 'bath'.
Opening the window in the room(room 209) I had a, not so nice, view on the inner courtyard (about 20 square meter) extending to the 8th floor with a lot of pipes end valves. No fresh air was able to reach my window.
The following day I asked for another room but the only change possible to room 409 which was the same room but 2 floors higher. The problem was a bit less outspoken but still there.
My guess is that people who stay the longest periods and pay the most money get the worst rooms.

I would recommend people booking at this hotel to ask for rooms
2/3/405 to 2/3/408, situated in the side street or rooms 2/3/402 to
2/3/404 if you do not mind the traffic on the main street, unless you prefer quiet nights at the (smelly) backrooms.
There were also some rooms at the 1st floor (next to the breakfast room) but do not know the layout.
Personally I would not book there again, but think you can still get worse at Valencia.

jan nevejans - belgium

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank guma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,568 reviews
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#24 of 98 in Valencia
968 reviews
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia del Cine
Casual Valencia del Cine
#30 of 98 in Valencia
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia Vintage
Casual Valencia Vintage
#17 of 98 in Valencia
355 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
Hotel One Shot Colon 46
#13 of 98 in Valencia
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Avenida Baron de Carcer 45, 46001 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: $62 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort right in the city centre of ValenciaThe Hotel Mediterraneo is a comfortable hotel located in the city centre of Valencia next to the Plaza del Ayuntamiento (Town Hall Square), the main train station (Estacion del Norte), Mercado central, Palacio de la Lonja, the cathedral and a few minutes away from the Barrio del Carmen, one of the cultural and historical zones, as well as 10 min. walk away from the main commercial and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing