We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,508)
Filter reviews
1,508 results
Traveler rating
862
432
144
49
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
862
432
144
49
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building old town spa treatments star hotel lovely hotel spa area steam room junior suite jamon storage space large bathroom loved this hotel breakfast was excellent turia gardens four nights visiting valencia river bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 1,508 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for four nights to get a look a Valencia. Firstly a fantastic location, not only a short walk the old town, cathedral, shops - but across the road is the park and a wonderful walk to arts and science and aquarium sites. The only taxis we took were to the beach and airport and the hotel will book them for you easily.

The service was excellent - rooms are serviced regularly with water and towels and evening chocolate - yay!the staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great and also enjoyed the spa pool when we needed to chill and Cool down.

The staff were helpful from the moment you walked in - they make this a fantastic hotel - thanks!!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JbeeWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, General Manager at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kind words. Here at Hospes Palau de la Mar***** we take great pride on exceeding our guests´expectations and with comments likes yours, we believe we are on the right track.
Nonetheless, we will continue to work hard in order to improve our services and the final experience of our guests.
The staff is our most valuable asset, and we are glad to hear that they were an important part during your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Vicente Juanis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

We stayed for three nights for our mini-moon! We were upgraded to a beautiful deluxe room. The hotel team were very friendly and helpful when we arrived and they gave us some great recommendations for sightseeing and dinner.
It is very straightforward to get to from the airport - hop on the metro and from the metro stop it is less than a 5 minute walk to the hotel. We walked everywhere - although our walk to the beach was a little too much!
The breakfast was fantastic.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NikkiClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, General Manager at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Dear Claire,

I'm glad to hear that you had a good time in Valencia and enjoyed the hotel! Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff and the hotel in general. We will be happy to welcome you back on your next visit to Valencia!

Kind regards,
Vicente Juanis,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

We were off to a bad start having booked two connecting rooms through our travel agent well in advance, as we were travelling with 3 kids. Upon arrival the front desked informed us that we could not get connecting rooms, blaming our travel agent for having placed a booking for two separate rooms which was what they could offer us. .
I found that hard to accept, having guaranteed connecting rooms in writing on the voucher from our agent. Connecting rooms is after all way more convenient when you are travelling with kids. After standing firm on our booking towards the front desk (as well as having our travel agent calling the hotel) the hotel admitted that the mistake was theirs. Apparently the guest that was supposed to move out the day we arrived had chosen to extend their stay and the hotel policy was to let guests extending their stay keep their room. When they were caught lying about who was to blame for the mistake, the management were quite humble and we received several apologies as well as an upgrade to the Presidential Suite the day after. As well as some free drinks, spa vouchers etc. But we had to settle for two separate rooms the first night. The rooms were nice but they vary considerably in size. One of our two rooms was as far as we could see one of the smallest in hotel. The other one was of decent size. As this is a five star hotel I think I would have been a little dissapointed if I was travelling to Valencia for a weekend getaway with my spouse, splashing out on a five star hotel and got stuck with the tiny room we got on the second floor. Probably a good idea to check with the hotel what type of rooms that are available prior to booking.
After a lot of back and forth we got the Presidential suite late afternoon the next day. A large elegant suite with what seemed like 4 meter headroom, 2 bedrooms, living room with a stereo, 3 TVs and 2 large Baths had very comfortable beds. definitely a nice upgrade from the night before an it seemed that they were truly sorry and regretful for the situation they had put both us and themselves in.
The pro's for booking this hotel: Central location, Fitness room and a small swimming pool, sauna and steamroom, a nice courtyard/garden,and a frontside restaurant with outdoor seating, we got two fantastic restaurant recommendations from the front desk and they are doing their best to make up for any mistakes they make and get their guests happy
cons: It might be that they just had a bad spell when we visited but they managed to get themselves in all kind of trouble/extra work by trying to out the blame for not providing the correct rooms on others.Its probably the best to be honest in the first place and try to be proactive in finding a solution when you put yourself in a troublesome situation, instead of waiting for the guest to be angry before you act.

Room tip: Rooms vary in size
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon-Crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, General Manager at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Dear Jon,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your detailed comments about your stay with us at Palau de la Mar. As you mentioned, we do indeed take full responsibility for the problems with the rooms and are very sorry that it wasn't resolved straight away. I am however glad that you enjoyed the hotel, in the end, and managed to have a nice time in Valencia with your family.

We hope to welcome you back if you decide to visit Valencia again, as we would like to have the opportunity to regain your trust in us and show you what a true Hospes experience is like.

Best regards,
Vicente Juanis,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

We came to this wonderful hotel to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary, so we treated ourselves to a Junior Suite. It was very spacious (i.e. enormous), clean (i.e. immaculate) and quiet, well equipped bathroom and we immediately forgave it for only having skylights rather than regular windows.
The restaurant was great - excellent food and prompt and courteous service at all times - we must commend all the restaurant and bar staff.
Had a fabulous massage by an excellent, very experienced masseuse and the spa, though on the small side, was also lovely - clean and tidy and a nice relaxed and calm ambience, even with a young child in there as well.
All the staff were smart, friendly and completely professional, and the staff on the front desk, and in particular the concierge in charge of 'guest experience', were also very helpful in making reservations for us and making recommendations for things to see/do places to visit. We very much appreciated all their help.
This is a great hotel, in a really good location between the old city and the Turia Gardens. High ceilings and some gorgeous old wooden doors, all done up with a crisp modern style blending really well with the beautiful old features.
I see some reviews have questioned its five star status. We can only think this might be because the restaurant and the spa aren't huge, or perhaps because of some of the rooms that we didn't see. It might only be 4 and a half stars on facilities, but its certainly 5 stars on service. Thanks very much to all of the staff Hospes Palau de la Mar.

Room tip: We were on the top floor, junior suites, and the room was large, spacious and quiet
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue45011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, General Manager at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Dear Sue,

What a wonderful review! It makes me so happy to see that you liked our hotel so much and I'm especially glad to read all of your comments about the staff, rest assured that your review will be shared with everyone. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, or maybe you will want to discover our other wonderful hotels in Spain!

I hope you have a lovely day.

Warmest regards,
Vicente Juanis,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

We visited in June 2017 having never been to Valencia before for a weeks holiday. The hotel and staff are highly recommended. Location is excellent, (and walkable if eanted6, for most of the sights. We walked to the main shopping area, which is 5 mins away, and the old town. The lovely new science & technology site on the old river bed of the Turia, we also walked to, although buses (tour or otherwise), are available too. Lovely friendlly city to visit with loads to see and do!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jacqualineberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that I read your excellent review. Here at Hospes Palau de la Mar we aim to exceed the expectations of our guests, and with reviews such as yours, it is clear to us that we are succeeding. However, we will still continue to work on improving so that whenever you decide to come back, we delight you with an even better experience.

Yours sincerely ,
Vicente Juanis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews