We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and cozy hotel in a key location in valencia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

i spent 3 nights in this nice hotel in the heart of valencia. first of all, the hotel occupies a whole ancient and nice building on a nice area, 100mt from the metro station almeda. very convenient for those who come from the airport and close to the old town too. then the service was very good, very nice and kind staff! the room was very big with a huge bathroom in marble. there are some small defects here and there in the room and in the bthroom i.e. there is no extra toilet paper available, and u can see small wholes or imperfections in the walls. but great shower and bathube, very clean, ery quiet and wonderful breakfast. i recommend it also cause the price is quite okish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedritogiandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest:

First of all, I wish to thank you for sharing your comments with us in Tripadvisor.com.

I really appreciate your opinion, and I'm happy to read about your satisfaction with some of our points as: service, location, customer attention or breakfast.
By the other hand, you can be sure that we are going to check and improve the other small defects of maintenance mentioned.

I hope to welcome you back personally at Hospes Palau de la Mar.

Kind regards.

Patricia García Vizcaíno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here during the Las Fallas and it worked out perfectly.

Awesome hotel. Great location. Didn't eat or drink here but the pool is nice.

Room had a huge outdoor deck, which was really nice for sobering up after all night of partying.

They also took us in on super short notice.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tianling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

We are happy to know you had a pleasant stay with us during Fallas. We are very well located to visit the city center those days since the car is not needed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in a future and continue enjoying the city and our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is very good but a few details keep it from getting the maximum rating. Let’s start with what is positive…
The hotel is very nicely decorated and done in excellent taste. Senior staff is professional and always very willing to help. Even from the moment I made the reservation there was a sense of genuine interest in making sure everything would be great. For families the setup is also first class. The hotel hallways with doors that close off room pairs. This allows you to have to separate rooms, one for the parents and one for the kids (3 small ones in our case), keep the room doors open and still be in a completely private area. Children under 12 eat for free in the hotel restaurant that serves very good food at reasonable prices. The buffet breakfast included in the price of the room has an great variety of great food. Located just outside the east border of the historic city center, it is only about 200 yards to the Turia Park along which you can walk (for about a mile) all the way to City of the Arts complex. Or walk out of the hotel in the opposite direction and you'll be visiting the famous Miguelito at the Cathedral in less than ten minutes. There is valet parking available, not included in the room price, for 25 euros a day.
Why it doesn’t get the top rating…
The junior staff, while very willing to help, at times is not quite up to the task. Wear and tear shows up occasionally: a small chip on a plate, a bit too many scratches on a piece of furniture; a minor wiggle on a bathroom fixture. It’s not that any of this is major, and at a lower price they would probably go unnoticed but at 280+ euros a night (for the two rooms, two adults and 3 children – breakfast included) everything should be noticeably good. One last thing that I didn't particularly care for (though it is par for the course in most hotels) was what I call “nibbling”, defined as the act of charging small amounts of money for “extras” that have a high chance of being requested. In my case it was eggs at breakfast: they are made to order at a cost of 4 euros. I don’t object to the price itself, but to the feeling they are being cheap. They should charge 50 cents more for all rooms and include the eggs.
Neither my wife nor I used any of the Spa services or installations so I cannot comment. Bottom line… would I go again? Almost certainly yes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Charles

It is great for us that you enjoyed your stay in our Hospes Palau de la Mar.

We always try to do our best in order to make your stay confortable and renewall.

We really apreciate the time you took to write your comments about us.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Patricia García Vizcaíno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel for a second business trip. Great location, walking distance to old Valencia, restaurants, and even the Science Centre.

Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is clean, modern and high tech.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bravo_deals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you having the time to write your comments in Tripadvisor.com.

I appreciate you enjoyed our facilities.

Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,

Patricia García Vizcaíno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We just checked in and it is definitely not a five star hotel and we are rather disappointed.

1) I have never been to a 5 star hotel that just gives 3 pieces of tissue with the amenities. Not a box. That's very odd.

2) old small non LCD tv.

3) no separate shower room

4) bathroom paint peeling, tired looking furnitures

5) no coffee/tea making facility

We have travelled and stayed in so many hotels and this hotel is more like a 3.5 stars.

The saving grace is its friendly staff & convenient location. But given a choice, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brinkleybum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are sorry your expectations did not match your experience.

I apologize for all this inconvenience that may you not enjoy your stay with us and I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you in a near future and we will do our best to archive your expectations.

Thank you for your comments.
Sincerely

Patricia García Vizcaíno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The staff at the Hospes Palau de la Mar were very kind. They had a flower for my wife at check-in and even made coffee for us at 4am when we checked out early to catch our flight back home. They did everything they could think of to make us comfortable during our stay. The hotel is well situated in the city and I recommend some of the Tapas places nearby. Our room was not well soundproofed, so we were disturbed one night by some loud guests, but overall a very pleasant stay. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to my friends who find themselves in Valencia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidK052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks for all your comments. In Hospes Hotels we allways try to make your stays unforgettable.

I hope to welcome you back at Hospes Palau de la Mar.

Best regards,

Patricia García Vizcaíno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We could only stay here 2 nights as the hotel was subsequently fully booked for a conference, however we did enjoy our short stay.
We liked the location as it gave us plenty of flexibility for visiting various restaurants nearby but was still within walking distance of the older parts of town and very close to the river bed.
Good quality furnishings in the room - exactly as one would expect for something that bills itself as a stylish boutique hotel, and the room was a nice size.
There seemed to be quite a lot of public space as well, both inside and outside, which meant that the hotel never felt really busy.
Very helpful staff who were happy to provide excellent restaurant recommendations - with the exception of one member of staff that seemed to want to force the hotel restaurant down our throats. Fortunately another member of staff intervened.
Breakfast was good although at €20 it should be, and then asking for a further €4 for eggs seemed rather unnecessary.
Overall, a very good stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director General at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks for all your comments. In Hospes Hotels we allways try to make your stays unforgettable.

It is great for us that you enjoyed your stay in our Hospes Palau de la Mar.

Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,

Patricia García Vizcaíno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 98 in Valencia
1,732 reviews
La Xerea
Caro Hotel
Caro Hotel
#1 of 98 in Valencia
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#5 of 98 in Valencia
1,959 reviews
El Mercat
Vincci Mercat
Vincci Mercat
#7 of 98 in Valencia
743 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#8 of 98 in Valencia
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel

Address: Avenida Navarro Reverter 14-16, 46004 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: $138 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing