We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor food”
Review of Vicentino

Vicentino
Ranked #205 of 3,490 Restaurants in Valencia
Price range: $19 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brewery - restaurant of two floors in full historical center, elaborated kitchen, wide wine list and excellent relation quality - price. From his first floor, conference direct of the "Miguelete" and Cathedral. Assorted bar of great variety of lids, seafood and plates of daily and domestic production. Lounge deprived for events.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had ajo arriero casero which should have been cod and potatoes with pasta (English translation). It was just a mush of white sauce with bread sticks. Awful. Followed by tortilla in tempura. Sounds odd I know but this did not resemble a tortilla in the slightest. It was just shredded potato and onion deep fried. Several other tables complained about the food the night we where there. Then they added an item to the that we hadn't ordered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    256
    76
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

There is a reason that a restaurant that looks like this is rated so low. We stopped in for a small bit to eat, this clearly angered the server in his near empty restaurant... I ordered a tea with some honey not sugar, again this seem to put him out. He brought the bread which was decent enough but he spilled the accompaniments and may no attempt to clean it up.
He then brought the food, the razor clams were old and smelled awful so we left them be. The blue potato and egg dish was simply uninspired it sounds nice but lacks any love put in the dish. I ordered the Iberian ham which is hand sliced but clearly they don't know how to as I tried to choked down the thickly sliced meat but simply could not. It seems like such a waste to cut it wrong for such a beautifully raised and prepared animal. I am a chef of 20 years and this was my worst restaurant experiences...ever. Save your money there is better food to be found anywhere in Spain but here

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Devin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicentinos, Propietario at Vicentino, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Google Translation
Ante todo, he de pedirle disculpas por no poder contestarle en inglés, pero no creo que lo hiciese con toda la corrección que merece la nota.
En relación a su visita, he de decirle que no creo que su crítica sea equitativa y podría enserñarle muchos lugares donde comería usted pero por mucho más dinero ya que Vicentino es una de las mejores ofertas calidad-precio que pueden encontrarse en el Centro de Valencia y para ello me remito al resto de comentarios de clientes que hacen, en contra de lo que usted dice de nuestro local, que gocemos de una buena consideración (12 excelentes, 11 muy bueno y 3 normal frente a tan solo 1 malo y 2 pésimos), como es estar cerca de los 100 primeros entre más de 1.000 restaurantes y ello pese a llevar abiertos menos de un año.
Creo que su crítica no es justa y le diré, además, que no tenemos patatas azules (blue potatoes) como usted dice ni jamón ibérico llamado asi ya que nuestra carta lo recoge con su denominación de origen (Guijuelo para el cortado a máquina) o su marca (Joselito, cortado a mano).
Gracias no obstante por su comentario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fantastic night out with friends”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Looked quite an up market restaurant but the food was fantastic. The atmosphere was so welcoming. Very busy so id probably book in the summer season. The soft rice dish was to die for....Similar to paella but with lots of very tasty sauce.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pearcesouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Very delicious foods!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I really satisfied with Vicentino's foods. The seafoods were perfect and the price was fair. If you are in Valencia, you should definitely go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
500 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“fresh paella and more”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

in the heard of town on a main street we discovered the place offering high class tapas in a gourmet atmosphere and a range of paella and rice dishes.

we chose the paella valenciana, with chicken, rabbit, fresh artischoke and several sort of beans - all typical local products. freshly prepared we had a nice lunch here in the ground floor of the restaurant, upstairs there is another larger room with lots of tables too.

remarqueable: top top whine by the glas (the price allmost for free!), he class presented dishes liek for example a vegetarian plate, not the usual left overs of green of the kitchen, no here well picked vegetables, perfectly grilled and dressed on a plate! nice selection of sweet and dont forget do try a sweet wine by the class, for example the costa diva miel - sweet muscat white great flavour of oranges and beautiful color (if you like it, find it in the wine shop opposite the nord train station on the left.....)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicentino also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Vicentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing