We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the highlight of our hols in Spain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours

Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are based in the beautiful Spanish city of Valencia and provide private guided Bird Watching trips for individuals, couples, families and small groups. Visit some of the best birding sites in Spain with profesional local guides. All levels welcome from absolute beginner to expert. We can provide anything from a single day trip to a bespoke holiday, maybe combining your birding with a city break or a holiday in the stunning mountains of Valencia.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the highlight of our hols in Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a two day guided birding trip with David and it really was the best part of a 3 week hols in Spain. Not only did we see about 11 birds new to us but many more we would not have seen on our own. He knew exactly where to take us for the best chance of seeing birds. Apart from the birds we so enjoyed the areas he took us to, the steppes and the mountains, so different from the coastal resorts we usually go to.Although not absolute beginners we learned a lot about birds just by being with him for a couple of days. We can fully recommend a trip with David to anyone with an interest birds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A super day bird watching with David in the Albufera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I and my friend, both novice bird watchers, booked a half-day bird watching tour with David. He picked us up from our apartment in central Valencia and took us to the Albufura region just south of the city. He is a most charming and knowledgable guide who knows just how to pitch the day - we both thoroughly enjoyed the time and both wished that we had organised a longer day with David. His knowledge extends far beyond birds to the history and geology of the local region - we had a lovely day - thank you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WooferSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both and to spend time amongst the superb birdlife of Albufera. Whenever you´re in the area please feel free to contact me and we can design something bespoke to suit you. Many thanks once again for taking the time to leave a review.
Best wishes,
David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birding in Valencia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had 3 days of birding with David last week comprising of the plains and lagoons of the Albacete region, the marshes of Pucol and the wetlands and rice fields of Albufera. In all we saw 67 different species, many of which, were lifers for us, including Great Bustard, Callandra Lark, Swamphen and many others. A good return for the time of year with many summer migrants having left but were fortunate to see a few stragglers. We can thoroughly recommend David as a guide. He is friendly, knowledgable, well organised and good company and went the extra mile to make the trips enjoyable and productive. Another nice aspect of the trips were the typically Spanish bars we visited with David for refreshments along the way. Overall 100% satisfaction for us and we hope to make a return trip in the future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you both and also to have been able to work with you to design exactly the kind of trip that you wanted. Many thanks...hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A thoroughly enjoyable and well organised birding day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a brilliant day with David. He was clearly very knowledgable about the birds and the best places to see them. We were very glad we booked to have a guide for the last day of our holiday. We had done some birding independently as a group using websites to guide us as to where and what to expect. But a day with David gave us a greater insight into the birds we saw, what to listen for, where to look, and most importantly some inside information into the birds we saw with him and the birds we found in our independent trips. We cannot recommend him too highly. We have booked similar bird watching days with others in Spain and without doubt, David gave us a better experience all round. Book with him, you wont be disapointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth Flecknell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
“Two Fantastic Days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had two thoroughly enjoyable days birdwatching with David last week - the first at the Valencian Coastal Wetlands and the second, inland, around the Steppe area of Castilla de La Mancha. By the end of the second day, our list of sightings ran to almost eighty birds - many of them ones were "firsts" for us. The highlights for me were seeing Collared Pratincole, Golden Oriole, Calandra Lark and Great Bustard - all target species that David had suggested when we arranged the trip. In addition we had the unexpected bonus of seeing Montagu's Harrier, again another "first" for us. I can't praise David too highly for the trouble he took in making the arrangements for our trip, guiding us around the sites we visited and for sharing his enthusiasm and knowledge. I would recommend a day's bird watching with David for anyone who wants to do something a little different when they visit the Alicante / Valencia region and also for anyone with an interest in bird watching whether they are complete beginners, reasonably knowledgeable or established experts. Many thanks, David, for two fantastic days!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FGG714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your kind and positive words. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to arrange the trips with you. I´m delighted that you enjoyed them. Many thanks for your booking, and for your support.
Best wishes,
David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing