We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding in Valencia”

Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are based in the beautiful Spanish city of Valencia and provide private guided Bird Watching trips for individuals, couples, families and small groups. Visit some of the best birding sites in Spain with profesional local guides. All levels welcome from absolute beginner to expert. We can provide anything from a single day trip to a bespoke holiday, maybe combining your birding with a city break or a holiday in the stunning mountains of Valencia.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had 3 days of birding with David last week comprising of the plains and lagoons of the Albacete region, the marshes of Pucol and the wetlands and rice fields of Albufera. In all we saw 67 different species, many of which, were lifers for us, including Great Bustard, Callandra Lark, Swamphen and many others. A good return for the time of year with many summer migrants having left but were fortunate to see a few stragglers. We can thoroughly recommend David as a guide. He is friendly, knowledgable, well organised and good company and went the extra mile to make the trips enjoyable and productive. Another nice aspect of the trips were the typically Spanish bars we visited with David for refreshments along the way. Overall 100% satisfaction for us and we hope to make a return trip in the future.

Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you both and also to have been able to work with you to design exactly the kind of trip that you wanted. Many thanks...hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a brilliant day with David. He was clearly very knowledgable about the birds and the best places to see them. We were very glad we booked to have a guide for the last day of our holiday. We had done some birding independently as a group using websites to guide us as to where and what to expect. But a day with David gave us a greater insight into the birds we saw, what to listen for, where to look, and most importantly some inside information into the birds we saw with him and the birds we found in our independent trips. We cannot recommend him too highly. We have booked similar bird watching days with others in Spain and without doubt, David gave us a better experience all round. Book with him, you wont be disapointed.

Thank Ruth Flecknell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had two thoroughly enjoyable days birdwatching with David last week - the first at the Valencian Coastal Wetlands and the second, inland, around the Steppe area of Castilla de La Mancha. By the end of the second day, our list of sightings ran to almost eighty birds - many of them ones were "firsts" for us. The highlights for me were seeing Collared Pratincole, Golden Oriole, Calandra Lark and Great Bustard - all target species that David had suggested when we arranged the trip. In addition we had the unexpected bonus of seeing Montagu's Harrier, again another "first" for us. I can't praise David too highly for the trouble he took in making the arrangements for our trip, guiding us around the sites we visited and for sharing his enthusiasm and knowledge. I would recommend a day's bird watching with David for anyone who wants to do something a little different when they visit the Alicante / Valencia region and also for anyone with an interest in bird watching whether they are complete beginners, reasonably knowledgeable or established experts. Many thanks, David, for two fantastic days!

Thank FGG714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your kind and positive words. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to arrange the trips with you. I´m delighted that you enjoyed them. Many thanks for your booking, and for your support.
Best wishes,
David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I'm so glad we booked a birding trip, because it turned out to be one of the highlights of our holiday. We saw dozens of different bird species, from spoonbills to flamingos, from harriers to plovers. David's bird knowledge is astounding. Besides being great company he's also a perfect tour guide, providing everything we needed for a wonderful day.

Since my girlfriend and I aren't bird watchers at all, but just enjoy seeing wildlife, David planned a trip that showed us a huge variety of birds. However, if you wish to see a specific bird, I'm sure Richard can take you to the right place.

We can recommend this trip to anyone even slightly interested in birds as well as to experienced bird watchers. We will certainly book another birding tour if we come back to the Valencia or Alicante area.

1  Thank vostoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Many thanks for the review and for your kind words. I´m delighted that you both enjoyed the day and that the style of the trip was what you were hoping for. The birds and the habitats are the key ingredients but your company and enthusiasm were what made the day special. A million thanks! Please keep in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a fantastic day with David clocking over 42 species of bird, he was an exceptional guide who's local knowledge enabled us to view some spectacular bird sights. His was punctual, collecting us and dropping us off in Valencia, he made the day an enjoyable and relaxing one and also captivated our son with his birding facts. We will be back for more, hopefully the Steppes.

Thank 901DavidP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to Valencia Birding Birdwatching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing