We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place has it all.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma del temple - CLOSED

Alma del temple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Alma del Temple is a unique restaurant. Its atmosphere is, perhaps, the most special of Valencia and, according to German publishers Taschen, it is one of the most stunning restaurants in the world: experience a dinner next to the foundations of the Arabic wall that surrounded the city in the 13th century. Admire a contemporary interior design project developed by Francesc Rife where natural light, steel and glass become prominent. And, of course, enjoy the taste of our dishes: Mediterranean, creative and affordable. Recommended by Michelin Guide 2015. Because we believe good cuisine should not be just for a few :)
Johnstone, Renfewshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This place has it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place really does have it all. Somehow it is all so good that the cynic in me started to look for the trick. In the end I just had to admit to myself that there isn´t one. What you see is what you get and what you get is pretty damn good! The setting is unique as you dine among the foundations of the Moorish walls of Valencia from the 12th century. Yet the decor still manages to be very modern and the art on the walls is by a local artist, bang up to date and extremely tasteful. But the real art in this place comes on the plate and in the service. The food is excelent. For mains I had monkfish and it was superb. My wife had a burger, yet this place certainly is as far from a burger joint as you could get. This burger was made from unadulterated, seasoned, meat straight from a sirloin steak or some other succulant cut of prime beef. The service was superb too and the staff are well trained, bi-lingual (at least) young professionals who actually know what´s what and what goes with what. The wine too was top drawer, yet, incredibly, the best part of all was the bill. I was prepared to pay for the quality yet, for once in a top place, the price was so reasonable I broke my usual tip % and didn´t grudge a centimo. We tried to book again for Sunday dinner. What a dissapointment, it only does lunch on Sunday!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelalot010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    90
    34
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you are traveling to Valencia, you must try this exceptional restaurant which has perfect ambience and food that is out of this world. The presentation is well thought out and exceptionally done, the flavor is something to be remembered forever and the wait staff provide just the right amount of service in a very discrete and professional manner. Our table ordered a bit of everything and enjoyed each and ever dish, The lamb was so tender and flavorful, it stood out as one of the best dishes I can remember. Regarding "full disclosure", Chef Brad Hyde is my son and yes i might have a "hint" of bias. Stil, I traveled from Oklahoma to visit Alma del Temple for the first time and would compare the experience favorably to any place I have ever eaten and believe you will have an equally wonderful experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A romantic setting with fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the lovely Caro Hotel in the Valencia old city and had the pleasure of dining at their restaurant, Alma del Temple. This is a very special place. The space is unique and attractive, combining the modern with ancient Arab and Roman walls. The service was professional and well done. But it was the food which was so dazzling. Chef Bradford Hyde, an American from Oklahoma, prepared dishes that were visually beautiful and delicious! From the amuse bouche, through starters, main course, and dessert, every dish was excellent. The wine list was small but carefully chosen. Having coffee and after dinner drinks on the charming patio was a perfect way to end our evening. Alma del Temple should be on the list of every foodie visiting Valencia!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank VoyageursUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Absolutely fantastic food, great service and friendly and knowledgable staff. The restaurant is in the basement of the hotel and beautifully makes use of the old stone walls and other features.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Woldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning food, exceptional value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ate last night at Alma del temple, we were in fact looking for Arrop which has moved but we're glad we stumbled upon this new restaurant! Michelin standard food for exceptional value. We shared the gazpacho, tartare and egg starters, which were full of flavour and then had monkfish with seafood ravioli and a huge steak for mains. All of this plus an amuse bouche, bottle of Albarino wine, water and a mint tea came to €70!! The decor is sophisticated minimalist and service very good. If in Valencia and after a high end meal you should try here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alma del temple also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing