We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming restaurant”

La Francesa del Carmen
Ranked #75 of 3,867 Restaurants in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Francesa del Carmen.A little charming restaurant located in the very heart of “El Carmen” district.Nice music ambience, really genuine cooking prepared with excellent ingredients and lots of love.Warm atmosphere where one feels right at home due to the fact that it is run by the owners, she at the kitchen and he at the dining area.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went "early" for dinner and were warmly welcomed. Most people arrived around 10 pm. The atmosphere is romantic; French music adds to it. The food was delicious, a slight departure from pure Spanish fare but the tastes were superb. I loved the eggplant salad and the tuna main dish was done to perfection. The restaurant is down a quiet street but the area is alive with restaurants and diners. It's particularly enjoyable when the server is so warm and jolly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stopoverqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odilegarland, Propietario at La Francesa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por tu opinión stopoverqueen!

Nos encanta poder ser lugar de parada para muchos turistas y viajeros que descubren el barrio del carmen y se pierden entre sus calles. Os esperamos en vuestra próxima visita a la ciudad.

Un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 272 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everything in 'La Francesa del Carmen' is superb. It is without a doubt one of the finest restaurants in all of Spain. The owners, Fernando and Odile, are two of the nicest people that you will come across. Dishes to definitely order are: Ensalada de Berenjenas (eggplant), Ensalada de la Francesa, Brochetas de Atun, Pollo al Curry. Bread is excellent, wine is excellent. All ingredients are fresh and from the Mercat Central. This is the place to go for your last meal on Earth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odilegarland, Gerente at La Francesa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks for your comment, Drew! We hope to see you again soon, for Xmas maybe, like Santa Claus?

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an incredible meal at La Francesa del Carmen. Every dish was fresh and flavorful. We especially loved the Brique de Morcilla and the Alambre de Atun. The maitre d' is the proprietor and we felt so warmly welcomed. Great value for the superb food and service. Slightly off the beaten path by being an a tiny street, but still convenient to the city center. Well worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sasha360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is excellent , the food is very good with a súper menú. A very nice atmosphere.will definitely repeat every time we are in Valencia. Thank you for a nice evening. Lionel & Cristina

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lionel846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were slightly lost and stumbled onto this little place in the old city. The place is warm and tables are really closed to each other but I guess that adds to the atmosphere. The food was good and it hits the spot but nothing I would love to try again. The service was personable and we were well taken care of.

2  Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odilegarland, Propietario at La Francesa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thanks for posting your opinion, julie s

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't feel comfortable in our restaurant. The next time you come to visit us just tell us you need more space and we will do our best to change your table and provide your the best experience.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Francesa del Carmen also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to La Francesa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing