We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern, fresh, design, style, central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza de la Reina
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice, modern, fresh, design, style, central”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

First of all I recomment to take the superior rooms: They cost just some few euros, but they have a private terrace with a view of the city's roofs. Beautiful!
The room was spacious, clean and modern. The design is nice and the laptop in the room in really useful. The private terrace is gorgeous.
The hotel is really centrally located. So easy to walk everywhere and to visit Valencia.
The people at the reception are very nice and professional. I did really appreciate it.

The only one thing that could be an inconvinient is the car: to get there is not easy through the small street of Valencia.. and they don't have a parking (not even one outside the hotel in order to leave for 5 minutes the car!). But you can park the car some 300meters away on the big square where the post office is.

We didn't have the breakfast in the hotel: it's always better to get it in some bars on the squares and enjoy the spanish atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    374
    122
    38
    11
See reviews for
231
301
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Very clear commitment to design and style. Private and public rooms done in bold colours and shapes. Clean. Efficient service(generally).

However, maintenance is clearly hit-and-miss. The fridge in the room didn't work. The worktop into which the basin was set wobbled alarmingly. A light bulb had blown. The printer in this wi-fi hotel had run out of ink and Reception had no replacements available. The music in the public areas seemed to be from an era before melody was discovered.

Its advantage is its location - very near Plaza Reina and right in the heart of the old town. The downside is that there's no parking and public parking is pricey.

If a central hotel is what you want, we'd recommend it.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guardsman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Muy conviniente con ordenadores en las habitaciones. Personnel muy amabl. The only hotel in Valencia offering free internet, including a laptop and flat screen TV in the room.
Rooms are relatively small, but for staying one night, great.
Kids loved free internet and two-level beds.
Bathroom includes Jaccuzi. Event Guard, classy design. Free internet and very very friendly saff.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Location is very good, bit hard to find though. The room was tiny and the wardrobe was too close to the bed. No window, very small. We complained and they gave us a free breakfast which was nice. Not sure if I would stay there for much longer than 2 nights though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoodlesBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

The location of this hotel is good, and the staff on the desk speak English, but there are a lot of things wrong with it. The configuration of our room was all wrong, with the wardrobe sliding doors just outside the bathroom, so you are constantly edging past each other. Despite the fact that the TV was advertised with CNN and BBC World, there were no English speaking channels, and the staff had no idea how we could get the channels we wanted. In case you think I come to Spain to speak English, I speak Spanish, so have no objection to Spanish television, it is the bad service that I have a problem with.

PRO
Laptop in every room, free internet access
Right in the middle of old town

CON
No extractor fan in the bathroom.
Incomprehensible or inadequate heating controls (BTW, I have stayed in hotels around the world and can find my way around), and insufficient bed linen, resulting in us being obliged to put our coats on top of the bed in order to keep warm!
Do not even think about driving to this hotel. You will have to pay 20 euros per day in the public parking. (This is not the fault of the hotel, in all fairness, just a warning).
The lighting in the room is badly planned and too bright.
The staff, whilst apparently helpful, do not actually do anything to help.

I was not very happy with this hotel, as you can see. It is not at all cosy or comfortable, just relentlessly trendy, which is not what I am looking for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Do not get me started
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Aerosmithfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Really convenient central location, right by the Ceramics Museum. Only a step to the big squares, plenty of open-air cafés nearby, easy walk to the central market and Silk Hall. Friendly staff.

Loved the modern décor and massage shower. The laptop in the room was very useful. But what made our stay here very enjoyable were the 4 free bikes. The small-wheeled folders made getting about easy in the Caril Biki - cycle-paths in the alleys - and best of all on the wide paths of the Turia, which lead to the City of Arts and Sciences, and can take you in minutes to the old port, the America's Cup building, and the beach.

  • Liked — The bikes!
  • Disliked — The poor condition of the bikes - a bit of oil, tighten those loose nuts and bolts, pump the tyres!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SouthendEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Can't complain about the location, it's excellent. But the room?? Oh my god! A poky little dark room with a window to the atrium that needed the light on at all times....a really stale smell....a glass walled bathroom with a huge creaking door (where you can see your partner using the loo from the bed!), dirty walls & doors with strange wall-paper paste like stuff flaking off them, paint on the curtains, a solid, hard bed. bashed up furnisings & a generally scruffy air to it all...I could go on but I'm too depressed. This room should be a cheap single or a cleaner's cupboard!Didn't try the b/fast as 13euros +tax is well over-priced considering you can get a great meal round the corner in a sunlit square for half that. Average cost was115euros a night. We stayed in the old town in Barcelona for the same cost but had a huge bathroom & a balcony.
There are only 5 balconied rooms at the Petit - out of about 45 so the chances of getting one are slim.
The reception is a bit tired too - you can see where they're trying to get the 'boutique' edge but have scruffed it up & made it a bit tatty....lack of atmospheric lighting or cool background music adds to this.
Really unfortunate experience that nearly spoilt an otherwise pleasant trip to Valencia.....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fiver169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,465 reviews
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#7 of 98 in Valencia
1,861 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Catalonia Excelsior
Catalonia Excelsior
#19 of 98 in Valencia
893 reviews
El Mercat
Vincci Mercat
Vincci Mercat
#10 of 98 in Valencia
651 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 98 in Valencia
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza de la Reina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza de la Reina

Property: Petit Palace Plaza de la Reina
Address: Carrer de l'Abadia de Sant Marti, 3, 46009 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Bristol)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Plaza de la Reina 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace Plaza de la Reina is a cozy hotel in the centre of Valencia perfect for discovering the city. This old palace from 1930, located near the Cathedral, the townhall and El Carmen district, is the perfect option for families and couples visiting Valencia. Out hotel near Valencia's City of Sciences has rooms with terrace, family rooms and free WiFi connection. The Petit Palace Bristol Valencia Hotel is one of the few pet-friendly hotels in Valencia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza de la Reina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Bristol Valencia
Petit Palace Bristol Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing