We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Caro Hotel. Very friendly staff, very nice design combining old ruines with modern (e.g. breakfast room and restaurant). We were by car and had to use the car everyday, which was no problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate that you have shared this positive feedback through Tripadvisor.

It is very gratifying to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, enjoying all the effort done in combining ancient and new elements in the hotel.

Considering that we offer valet service, the clients can use their cars every day without any problem, as you did.

It will be our pleasure to have you back with us in a future occasion in Valencia.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    140
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
68
482
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I spent my birthday weekend last November 2013 with 5 very close friends. We arrived at midnight at the Caro hotel after a very stressful Ryan air flight from Manchester due to their small minded policy's ! From there on in we had the best service, polite staff, great attention to detail the bar man was fantastic totally captured the hotels ethos which carried on to the bedrooms and fabulous breakfast,
Fully recommend this hotel, the perfect balance of old and new interior design.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a great standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Caro Hotel. We hope you had a lovely birthday and a great time with your friends.

Our 24-hour reception allows to check-in or get information at any time. There is also the possibility of a drink or snack any time of day in our Meta Bar served by one of our friendly bartenders.

After a night in one of our design rooms you can enjoy a hot buffet breakfast in the restaurant downstairs or, if you are in a hurry, a continental breakfast. You find the design of historical elements with contemporary art thought out the whole hotel, from the rooms to the restaurant where you can find a piece of the old town wall.

We would like to thank you for choosing Caro Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other future guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Valencia.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I really enjoyed staying here for two nights in October with my husband. The location was excellent and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to do. The design of the hotel is amazing and they did a wonderful job of modernizing it while keeping some of the old characteristics. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. I enjoyed the bathroom's large shower and tub and the room was very quite. I did not have any complaints about the lighting in the room as other reviewers did. We also had great service and everyone was very nice and accommodating while we were there. Overall a great place to stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

The location of the hotel makes that our guests can move easily around the city center without having to take a taxi and furthermore discover by foot the small, typical streets of the old Valencia.

Thank you for the compliment on the design of our hotel. We are also happy to hear your room was satisfactory, our housekeeping tries their very best every day to keep the rooms as clean as possible and will be very pleased to hear you pointed out those features.

Previous complaints about the lightning have been taking into consideration and we have made some changes. We are glad to hear you were content with the amount of light in the room.

We would like to thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel in January.

Hotel Pros:
- Great design - combination of ancient and modern
- Really big rooms with decent storage space
- Super comfy beds
- Very nice, open plan bathroom; with shower room and separate bathtub (really liked high-end Bulgari toiletries)
- Decent breakfast available for 20EUR

Hotel Cons:
- Swimming pool pictures are a indeed misleading - there is no way to swim in it
- Very poor selection of English speaking TV channels

Location:
- 5 min walk to the heart of the old town
- Many good restaurants around
- 10-15 min taxi ride to the shore/beach (c.15 EUR)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a concise analysis about your recent stay in Caro Hotel.
We will follow your list to give you a customized answer to your comment.

Your pros:

* Design – The fusion between the ancient elements found during the palace reconstruction and the contemporary design was one of our main goals when we started rehabilitating the old building. We are glad that you noticed and enjoyed this balance.

* Room size – Every of our 26 rooms is different from each other, so this means different sizes and different features. Anyway, all of them are quite spacious and offer all the advantages of a 5* hotel.

* Bed – We are really happy with the feedback on our mattresses’ comfort. Indeed, our mattresses were exclusively designed for the hotel.

* Bath – Our open plan bathrooms and the Bulgari amenities are part of our reputation. We are aware the interior design of the bathroom might be controversial, but we are pleasant that you appreciated it.

* Breakfast – Actually there are two options: Continental breakfast for 10 EUR or Buffet breakfast for 20EUR. All the products we serve are homemade and most of them are traditional from the land of Valencia.

Your cons:

* Pool – Indeed, it is not exactly a swimming pool, as you pointed out. We like to call it a ‘splash pool’. This is a recent feature in our hotel which increased our facilities because we do think that it could be a nice option to have a cool splash in the hot summer days, especially when it is really difficult to find a swimming pool just in the heart of the city.

* English TV Channels – At the moment, there are five different English speaking channels in the rooms. Nevertheless, we will take your feedback very seriously into consideration. This specific area could possibly see some improvement in the near future.

* Location: As you referred, we are right in the old town of Valencia, which is a big plus. You can easily reach all the main attractions on foot. There are, as well, a lot of good restaurants around, including of course our own: Alma del Temple.

Once again, thank you for your words and we are really looking forward to your next visit to Caro Hotel.

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Set in the centre of Valencia in an excellent position. You are greeted by the very friendly reception staff.
We stayed in room 34 (a special room). The rooms are very contemporary with wonderfully comfortable beds, beautiful shower and separate toilet. Also a bath. Very light and airy. BUT the problem is: the chairs are a nightmare to sit on. They look great but you have to put a pillow on them to be able to sit on them (bear in mind this is one of their most expensive rooms). They are a triumph of style over comfort!!
Then the lighting. I know a lot has been written about the lighting (again a triumph of style over practicality). But in our room a hotch potch of extra lighting had been added so that you had to turn things on and off individually. At bed time it was like doing the rounds!)
Back to the positives. The toiletries are wonderful (Bulgari) and the towels luxurious. In the evening they come round with a plate of petit fours which is a lovely touch.
They provide a big selection of free teas that you can order and are sent free to your room (personally I would have preferred them to provide a kettle in my room along with the tea selection but that's a minor quibble). Bear in mind coffee is not free.
The breakfast is very good. Charming staff. Fresh fruit, local cheeses, hams, salamis, tapas, cereals etc along with good coffee and that tea selection.

All in all it's like a loveable rogue. Lots of annoying things but you can't help liking it.

Room Tip: Not sure I'd pay extra for a special room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjrLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review.

We were pleased to learn of the many aspects of the stay you enjoyed. Our goal is to offer a perfect overall experience for all of our guests and your opinion somehow matches with previous comments made. Caro Hotel has very high standards in terms of customer service and we work hard to exceed our guest’s expectations.

We think it is probably not a coincidence that other Trip Advisor reviewers have posted similar concerns about certain aspects of our guest rooms. We monitor many of our really positive feedback get overthrown with not so positive observations about the lighting and the chairs. Honestly, there is something special about the individual design of the rooms and for instance its lighting and the furniture. It makes it difficult to introduce big changes but be assured that we will investigate for possible improvements for our future guests to make them feel more comfortable.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and please feel free to reach out for us if you would like to discuss your stay with us in more detail.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We liked the design of the rooms, and the combination of old an new, the infopoints and historical sights all over the hotel. Besides the hotal is centrally located in the old part of Valencia.
Apart from that we expected a five star hotel, but a hotel that maybe was a four or less star. Staff for example were not always friendly, the minibar was not refilled properly and other little five-star extras were just missing....

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Caro Hotel. We appreciate you took the time to do this as your opinion is important to us.

We are glad to hear you liked the design of the rooms. For several years we fully renovated the hotel with the goal of conserving the historical elements and combining these old parts with new modern design. Since we are very proud of the result we offer our clients a QR-guide to take a tour through the hotel and the info points.

The location of the hotel is a big plus since as soon as you leave the hotel you can find the historical center right there. The narrow streets lead you in a few minutes to the cathedral and other touristic sites.

We regret to hear our hotel did not meet your 5-star hotel expectations. Compared to big chains we are a relatively small but very unique hotel that tries to offer the same services as any other high-class hotel. Friendly staff and a properly refilled complementary minibar are to us basic services and these are some of the features that have been repeatedly pointed out by many clients. It is very unfortunate that you did not experience it in the same way.

Regarding the other little five-star extras that you found were missing, we would be grateful to know them. Please do not hesitate to drop us a line to info@carohotel.com and be sure we will take good care of them.

We will be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful building in the old part of town, but only a few blocks from the reclaimed river gardens and some of the newer parts of town. Although a little hard to find with the old part of town - lots of one way streets and pedestrian sections.

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, looking after us for restaurant and activity advice, helping me with my gluten free needs and with a place to store our rented bikes overnight.

The only comment I have on the hotel is trying to promote the decorative wading pool as a 'pool'. Made us think it was actually a lap swimming pool until we actually stood in front of it. definitely NOT a swimming pool.

Finally, if you get a chance to ride around Valencia, we highly recommend it. It is a great city to ride, rather than walk as it is very spread out and has several km's of reclaimed river that is now lovely gardens and architecture to see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning so many of the amenities and aspects that make Caro Hotel the perfect accommodation for your stay in Valencia. You are quite correct, we think, to say that the staff here is our most important asset. We do our best to assist with any request you might have, not only within the hotel but also for outdoor activities. For instance, to rent a bike is a good idea to move around in Valencia, either “Valenbisi”, the public bike rental or other bike rentals in the neighborhood. The Turia gardens are just perfect to cross the city in a safe and convenient way.

Regarding our pool, well, plenty of comments have been made so far. We are sure that once you see the location of the hotel and the surrounding area, you will understand better. Our pool is a great addition to the hotel and it certainly fits the concept. We are situated in the old city center and it is physically not possible. Still, we are convinced that it’s appreciated during the hot summer months, though for a lap pool there is just not enough space.

Should you came back to Valencia someday, we would be delighted to be your host again.

Happy New Year!
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#10 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Property: Caro Hotel
Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing