We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary hotel with a classic twist”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Contemporary hotel with a classic twist”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Valencia and the hotel was a bit tricky to find, but boy was it worth putting up with the Sat Navy to get here.
First off the hotel has valet parking at the same price as public parking so don't shop,around , just. Drop the keys and forget about the price, €25 per night, that's the deal for Central Valencia
One inside its a real blend of modern in an old building, almost like b ding Ina modern museum as there are parts of the old building on show everywhere....very tasteful

FREE wifi everywhere and no annoying passkey.
Breakfast is good value and the little bar area is intimate but friendly.

Staff are very attentive and your a 5 min walk from the shops and many of the attractions... Thoroughly reccomended

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time and the effort to post your review on Tripadvisor! Hopefully there are more to come in the future.

For first-time visitors it is sometimes a bit hard to find your way around. Especially if you do not know the city and you are not used to the traffic conditions of a Mediterranean City. We like to offer our valet service because once you are checked-in, you do not have to go back on the street again and look for a parking place. Any parking garage in the center is about the same rate so you do not have to think about it twice. Wireless internet is free of charge and the access is simple for our clientes. It is not only more convenient for our guests but it also makes our life easier and saves time.

Our breakfast is tailored to your needs, which means that you can choose from an extensive menu. Or you can go for the breakfast buffet which also includes lots of homemade products and local specialties.

We are also pleased to hear that you found us to be the perfect place to stay in Valencia. The architecture and interior design are only 2 of the reasons why guests decide to stay with us. Our palace is a very inspiring alternative to standardized hotel concepts and it houses lots of secrets to be discovered. Just ask us for our QR-guide and we will show you other surprises waiting for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    149
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
70
512
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the Caro Hotel.

There are many plus points to mention...first of all the location is just great. It's situated just around the corner of the main central square, in the middle of the old town, close to hundreds of bars and restaurants, churches, shopping Streets, so no question about that.
Another plus is the very nice service of the friendly staff. From morning till evening, from breakfast till dinner and reception, they are very kind, so another plus for the service.

We were less enthusiastic, even not impressed by the rooms. We saw 3 rooms, and they are all quite dark. There is a minimum of light, and this probably fits to the artistic touch they wanted to give, but it does not feel very well. Yes, they were clean, modern, space enough, but a bit...nude, let's say.
Last thing we can say and maybe this can be taken as an advise for other guests, maybe it's not a bad idea to inform if there is a wedding going on in the restaurant. Because that might not be the ideal night to stay...very much noise by as well the guests as extra machinery on the roof (I guess for extra kitchen purposes) so it does not really match with the 'silence' we expected.
Finally also breakfast was a bit disappointing. Many small and beautiful bites (mini pizza, mini tortilla) but for 20€ per person this is way overpriced. Esppecially if you know that you can have great breakfasts for 5€ one block away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank de_wereld_is_klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Caro Hotel and for sharing your experience. Good or bad, we absolutely appreciate your comments.

We are pleased to find out that you have highlighted as positives our staff and the location, we consider both of these aspects extremely important. As the well-known expression states: 'There are three things that matter in property: location, location, location', perhaps if we also apply this to hotel property, we can tick all three boxes!!

In terms of the team, of course you might expect an spotless customer service in a 5* hotel, but in addition to this, our staff is naturally caring and considerate with guests' requests.

Being that said, we are fully aware that your stay was spoiled by other issues, which are as much as important as the ones previously mentioned. As you mentioned, the lighting was part of the whole project and was only intended to create a tenuous and romantic atmosphere. Please note, that we are looking into a new project to solve the lack of light and hopefully soon, this matter can be solved.

We hope you can accept our apologies for the noise caused by the wedding party. Your opinion is the best way by which we can measure our performance and make the appropriate changes.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel in your next visit to Valencia and be able to make up for the downsides during your stay.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have thought for a while about what to say about Caro Hotel. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of October.
It's clearly different and obviously sets out to be, but I personally don't think it is 5 star. I appreciate that at my age (approaching 60) I may be a bit set in conventional ways, and the Caro is certainly not conventional so people reading this review, amongst all the others that give it 5 Tripadvisor stars, will think we just picked the wrong hotel for us!
I liked the location and the very comfortable bed. The staff were pleasant ( nothing more) and wouldn't you expect them to be? We liked the free minibar and tea. The room was clean although the housekeeping staff did not come till late afternoon on the second day.

The room we had (36) was billed as Superior, but it was so dingy with one small window overlooking the central courtyard and the grey walls and black curtains did not help lift the mood. We stayed on two brilliantly sunny days but I would not have liked to stay in the room on a grey or wet winters day- I think it might then be how I envision a prison cell.

I will now be really picky and point out the niggling things which irritated about this hotel:

First impression on arrival - a reception desk of black marble all covered in greasy finger prints and a dusty artificial flower arrangement.

The lighting in our room was inadequate- I needed the light from my iPad to adjust the air conditioning by the door.

Only one comfortable chair and that was only about 300mm off the floor.

A shower with very cheap fittings which was not properly ventilated meant that it had a damp mouldy smell. The door seal on the shower also leaked so we had to use the bathmat to soak up a large pool that had run into the bedroom. Only one set of the nice quality soap and shower gel etc meant we had to keep moving it between the basin,shower and bath. A small thing but it irritated enough to us to request more (which was quickly provided along with some fresh towels as there was no turn down service on the first night),
Finally there were no hooks to hang anything including the two bathrobes we found in the toilet.

In terms of the public areas there is not much other than a small dark lounge ( which we didn't see anyone in) and the bar and terrace on the ground floor. There were no Sun loungers and the pool is no more than ornamental - probably gets the hotel another star but disappointing if you turn up looking to cool off!

I accept that others reading this may just see me as a picky old misery, hence why I have thought about whether in fact to write anything on this place and risk spoiling the hype.

As city hotels go the Caro was certainly not bad but it was also not really as good as it clearly sets out to be and some relatively small things seem to let it down - almost as if the owners ran out of steam and money at the end of what the hotel told me was an 8 year refurbishment. If you like very minimalist or are just out of prison you will probably give it 5 stars but for me it was only 3!

I

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 336PeterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We can tell you that it has been quite interesting for all of us to read through your comment. It is definitely the longest and most detailed so far, so we truly appreciate your effort to make this review about our hotel. This should not mean that our response needs to have the same length but you took the time of writing your extensive opinion so this deserves an adequate answer.

Our hotel has been functioning for almost 2 years now and so far we have received many comments regarding all kinds of aspects you could possibly imagine. We like to write all the suggestions down to see the details we can improve. Without going into details, many of them positive, some of them a bit critical, some really enthusiastic and even a few disappointed guests have left their opinion about our hotel. It happens in the best hotels in the world because it is simply impossible to have every guest a 100% satisfied.

Sometimes there is really nothing you can do from the hotel’s point of view because we all have our own preferences, including the hotels we stay at. You return to a hotel that adapts best to your preferences. Whenever you try a new one, you have certain expectations before even staying there. We feel responsible for the creation. Our job is to present and represent the product we sell the best way possible and fulfill or exceed these expectations. On rereading your comment it is clear you anticipated a hotel quite different.

Tripadvisor has become the most important tool for planning your trips but there are factors to be considered. If you choose a town where a 3-star hotel is ranked #1, do not expect 5-star service. If you stay at a pricy 5-star hotel, you might not call it expensive because this is the price range you were initially disposed to pay. Lots of comments regarding the design of the hotel have been loaded up so far. We are aware Caro Hotel is a unique hotel with a very personal concept of the interior design. Indeed, we are not a chain hotel where all the rooms look the same, doesn’t matter if you are in New York or Paris.

All rooms in Caro Hotel have been designed individually and equipped with first-class materials and furniture. In a way, that implies certain details, such as the ones related to our pieces of furniture, were especially designed for us, so they may differ from general standards.

Regarding the issue of our identity, we think that the content we offer on our homepage makes quite clear what kind of hotel we are and the product we offer. In addition, you have detailed information and videos about all the rooms. We enjoy being directly reached so we are given the chance to assist and find the one that most fits to your needs and expectations.

We are glad that you took the time of writing your opinion and of course you are definitely not 'spoiling the hype'. This is a learning process we have to follow and we appreciate all comments, especially the ones, such as yours, that allow us to improve in the future.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We chose this hotel for a four night stay with our two teenage daughters after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed!

The staff here are extremely attentive and professional but at the same time approachable and friendly - a difficult balance but perfectly achieved.

Beds were amazingly comfortable and come with a choice of pillow.
Tea is delivered to the room from a big menu at any time and there is a free mini bar of snacks and soft drinks that is refilled daily.

Don't bring a hair dryer as there is a fabulous one provided- better than my own at home!

The situation of the hotel is perfect for both the historic centre, shopping and the modern park of Arts and Science which is a pleasant stroll through the beautiful landscaped gardens that fill the old river bed.

Be aware however that the pool is not as large as it appears in photos and we would have felt quite uncomfortable swimming in what somebody else referred to as a fish tank (the sides are clear!) in full view of people at the bar area.

We will definitely recommend the hotel and hope to return again sometime soon.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 25 and 26 and they were perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the necessary time to share your experience with us in Caro Hotel. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff, they keep us motivated and eager to focusing on our guests' needs.

As you pointed out in your comment, all of our guests will find their choice of teas and pillows in the room. These details try to make them feel relaxed, nearly as at home, as well as the free minibar in all our rooms, with a good selection of snacks and soft drinks.

Our convenient location is a huge plus and you will find the historical part of Valencia at your doorstep. We are mainly a urban hotel with good transport connections which make it also possible to reach the main highlights in the city, such as the beach or the City Of Arts And Sciences.

Regarding to the pool, we are aware that it is not big enough to swim, but our purpose is to offer our guests a different choice to splash in the city centre, just to find a way to manage the unbearable heat during the summer. We think our lounge pool, together with our Meta Bar, cover that need and create a good atmosphere at all. However, we are sorry if our proposal did not completely fit your expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you soon in your next visit to Valencia!

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

A very quirky modern boutique hotel
Beautifully appointed incorporating many ancient artifacts which are catalogued by QR reader points around the walls. Great restaurant downstairs in a huge high ceiling room incorporating Moorish walls .
Very central position in the old city in easy reach of everywhere . Valencia is a beautiful city teaming with culture and very interesting. The Caro is a great place from which to explore on foot. There are no hills and traffic in minimal in the old city.A great long weekend destination with dozens of great and cheap places to eat amazing food whilst soaking up the culture

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for the time you have expended to write your opinion. We really appreciate the feedback that our guests do after to stay with us because it is the basis to become a superb hotel.

As you have appointed, there are some ancient reminders scattered around the hotel. All of them are catalogued by QR in order to introduce our guests the history of Valencia and the Marques de Caro Palace, where the hotel is situated nowadays.

We are glad to know how much did you enjoy Valencia and our location in the old town. We know how important is to be near everything after a hard journey and, for this reason, we consider that our position is one of our strongest points. Furthermore, we are lucky to be near some excellent restaurants where you can enjoy an important part of our culture, the gastronomy.

We will be glad to welcome you again if you decide to visit Valencia in the future.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good location, but too simple. We have a problem: we booked an executive room but they gave us only one standard, without any explanation. I paid less, but I don´t know if the price was corrent.
I think they must take care of this little things if the want to be a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m angeles g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Maria Angeles,

Thank you very much for using this travel platform and for your short but expressive comment. We get excited about all the positive comments we receive and we would have wanted you to have an enjoyable stay with us. Unfortunately, this time it was not possible and we feel somehow responsible and apologize for not having provided you with the same experience.

We hope you understand that these are things that we do not want to leave unmentioned. Someone reading your comment might think that something went terribly wrong. Without covering things up, there was an electricity problem we were not able to solve on time on the day you arrived. One of the floors was affected by the light outage and that is why you were given a Superior (not a Standard) Room and not the Special Room originally assigned. This occurrence was personally explained to you when you checked-in without knowing the source of the problem, and it did not seem to be a big inconvenience for you. Anyway, these things happen and sometimes are beyond our control.

We would also like to take this opportunity to offer you again a compensation in our hotel if you decide to stay with us in the future. This will give us the chance to revert your opinion and we are sure your expectations will be covered.

We sincerely hope to welcome you next time you visit Valencia.
Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Caro hotel for three nights in September and found the hotel very convenient to explore Valencia and the attractions around the old city. This is a boutique hotel, offering personalised and excellent service. Out room was comfortable and tastefully decorated but a bit small and hot. We did enjoy the happy hour in the hotel courtyard every evenings, and it provides great opportunity to meet other travellers and share your experiences.However, we found the loud music most unrelaxing and do suggest to the Hotel to play something less noisy. Continental breakfast could be improved by offering a greater selection of savoury foods and a change of menu occasionally. We didn't dine at the hotel but the restaurant menu was interesting and very sophisticated if a tad expensive compared to other good restaurants in the area. We found the staff in this hotel very attentive to guests' requests and helpful in suggesting places to visit. We certainly would stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Western wall are very hot in the afternoon as they get the full sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for using Tripadvisor to share your opinion about your stay in Caro Hotel. Without putting emphasis on any of the points you mentioned, the last phrase of your review is the perfect summery of your stay. You are recommending our hotel to future clients and this is the main purpose of this portal, the voice of the traveler.

Our little palace is in a residential area of the old city of Valencia (La Xerea), a beautiful neighborhood full of amazing homes, just a few footsteps away of all the sights and shops. Pure history at your doorstep.

We are glad that you enjoyed the daily Happy Hour on our Meta-Bar terrace, meeting other guests and sharing experiences. We agree that the necessary acoustic company is important to create a nice, comfortable atmosphere so it would be interesting to know if it was because of the volume or the style. Anyway, we feel responsible for that and we will take charge of it to avoid future inconveniences.

Regarding your additional concerns, we would like to add a few sentences:

- A Continental Breakfast normally consists of bread or toast, slices of cheese and cold meat, cereal, fruit and drinks like coffee, tea and sometimes juice. This is a general term used worldwide and the main ingredients only differ a little bit depending on the country you are in. In our hotel this kind of breakfast is served in our restaurant, on our Meta-Bar terrace and of course in our guest rooms. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we are sure that if you like breakfast to be more extensive, our large Breakfast Buffet accompanied by our special breakfast menu don’t leave anything to be desired.

- We offer a total of 26 rooms in different categories and all of them feature amenities you expect in a hotel of our category including complementary minibar and as a special addition, Bulgari’s complete line of Eau Parfumée products. We want our customers to feel the hotel; this is why every room is presented individually on our homepage. In size they range from 21 to 80 square meters offering plenty of choices. Many of our guests celebrating special occasions choose one of our special rooms or suites for extra space, but of course that is entirely a personal preference.

Thank you very much again for your comments. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again here in Valencia.

Warm regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#9 of 99 in Valencia
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 99 in Valencia
1,638 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 99 in Valencia
2,242 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 99 in Valencia
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Property: Caro Hotel
Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing