We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel peaceful”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

A very quirky modern boutique hotel
Beautifully appointed incorporating many ancient artifacts which are catalogued by QR reader points around the walls. Great restaurant downstairs in a huge high ceiling room incorporating Moorish walls .
Very central position in the old city in easy reach of everywhere . Valencia is a beautiful city teaming with culture and very interesting. The Caro is a great place from which to explore on foot. There are no hills and traffic in minimal in the old city.A great long weekend destination with dozens of great and cheap places to eat amazing food whilst soaking up the culture

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank GarryGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for the time you have expended to write your opinion. We really appreciate the feedback that our guests do after to stay with us because it is the basis to become a superb hotel.

As you have appointed, there are some ancient reminders scattered around the hotel. All of them are catalogued by QR in order to introduce our guests the history of Valencia and the Marques de Caro Palace, where the hotel is situated nowadays.

We are glad to know how much did you enjoy Valencia and our location in the old town. We know how important is to be near everything after a hard journey and, for this reason, we consider that our position is one of our strongest points. Furthermore, we are lucky to be near some excellent restaurants where you can enjoy an important part of our culture, the gastronomy.

We will be glad to welcome you again if you decide to visit Valencia in the future.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 884 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good location, but too simple. We have a problem: we booked an executive room but they gave us only one standard, without any explanation. I paid less, but I don´t know if the price was corrent.
I think they must take care of this little things if the want to be a good hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m angeles g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Maria Angeles,

Thank you very much for using this travel platform and for your short but expressive comment. We get excited about all the positive comments we receive and we would have wanted you to have an enjoyable stay with us. Unfortunately, this time it was not possible and we feel somehow responsible and apologize for not having provided you with the same experience.

We hope you understand that these are things that we do not want to leave unmentioned. Someone reading your comment might think that something went terribly wrong. Without covering things up, there was an electricity problem we were not able to solve on time on the day you arrived. One of the floors was affected by the light outage and that is why you were given a Superior (not a Standard) Room and not the Special Room originally assigned. This occurrence was personally explained to you when you checked-in without knowing the source of the problem, and it did not seem to be a big inconvenience for you. Anyway, these things happen and sometimes are beyond our control.

We would also like to take this opportunity to offer you again a compensation in our hotel if you decide to stay with us in the future. This will give us the chance to revert your opinion and we are sure your expectations will be covered.

We sincerely hope to welcome you next time you visit Valencia.
Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Caro hotel for three nights in September and found the hotel very convenient to explore Valencia and the attractions around the old city. This is a boutique hotel, offering personalised and excellent service. Out room was comfortable and tastefully decorated but a bit small and hot. We did enjoy the happy hour in the hotel courtyard every evenings, and it provides great opportunity to meet other travellers and share your experiences.However, we found the loud music most unrelaxing and do suggest to the Hotel to play something less noisy. Continental breakfast could be improved by offering a greater selection of savoury foods and a change of menu occasionally. We didn't dine at the hotel but the restaurant menu was interesting and very sophisticated if a tad expensive compared to other good restaurants in the area. We found the staff in this hotel very attentive to guests' requests and helpful in suggesting places to visit. We certainly would stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Western wall are very hot in the afternoon as they get the full sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for using Tripadvisor to share your opinion about your stay in Caro Hotel. Without putting emphasis on any of the points you mentioned, the last phrase of your review is the perfect summery of your stay. You are recommending our hotel to future clients and this is the main purpose of this portal, the voice of the traveler.

Our little palace is in a residential area of the old city of Valencia (La Xerea), a beautiful neighborhood full of amazing homes, just a few footsteps away of all the sights and shops. Pure history at your doorstep.

We are glad that you enjoyed the daily Happy Hour on our Meta-Bar terrace, meeting other guests and sharing experiences. We agree that the necessary acoustic company is important to create a nice, comfortable atmosphere so it would be interesting to know if it was because of the volume or the style. Anyway, we feel responsible for that and we will take charge of it to avoid future inconveniences.

Regarding your additional concerns, we would like to add a few sentences:

- A Continental Breakfast normally consists of bread or toast, slices of cheese and cold meat, cereal, fruit and drinks like coffee, tea and sometimes juice. This is a general term used worldwide and the main ingredients only differ a little bit depending on the country you are in. In our hotel this kind of breakfast is served in our restaurant, on our Meta-Bar terrace and of course in our guest rooms. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we are sure that if you like breakfast to be more extensive, our large Breakfast Buffet accompanied by our special breakfast menu don’t leave anything to be desired.

- We offer a total of 26 rooms in different categories and all of them feature amenities you expect in a hotel of our category including complementary minibar and as a special addition, Bulgari’s complete line of Eau Parfumée products. We want our customers to feel the hotel; this is why every room is presented individually on our homepage. In size they range from 21 to 80 square meters offering plenty of choices. Many of our guests celebrating special occasions choose one of our special rooms or suites for extra space, but of course that is entirely a personal preference.

Thank you very much again for your comments. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again here in Valencia.

Warm regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel was perfect. We went for only a night in August and had a great experience. The service we received was brilliant, the staff spoke in English and were extrememly helpful. The room (on the top floor) was light, with a very comfortable bed. The bar was great for having a mojito before a night out.
It was difficult to find but after asking around, we eventually found it. We went to a gorgeous restaurant called Vertical which I would highly recommend.
All in all, a brilliant hotel which we will most definitelt return to. My boyfriend now fiance proposed here, so we have a lovely special memory of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaHowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear guest,

We really enjoy reading all our comments here on Tripadvisor and as usual, we individually thank you very much for sharing your own Caro Hotel experience. It is very important to know how your stay was and we can assure you that we work hard to improve ourselves every day. Keep in mind that we are a young hotel and we still have a long learning process ahead of us. The last weeks and months have been very intense so we really appreciate the kind words you have written about our staff, including our language skills.

We always try to do our best to make a memorable stay. A perfect stay as yours is what we want for every client so you won’t find us resting on our laurels. It makes us happy that you carry a very special memory with you and that your fiancé picked Valencia and our hotel to propose to you. On behalf of our entire team we congratulate and wish you all the best.

It is not a secret that it’s sometimes difficult to find the hotel since there are a lot of one-way streets in the old town of Valencia. It almost seems like you’d have to “earn” your stay by first finding the hotel. We would recommend you to insert our address on your GPS-system when you are coming by car. Just in case you don’t hit it right away, don’t get desperate. It will be worth the effort.

We can’t wait to welcome you back, next time already happily married!

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The overall service was good. All staff could speak English and helpful in orientating us around. However, we did not receive our morning call as they took down the wrong room number. Luckily, we woke up half hour late ourselves and still able to pack in time. I was not impressed with this.
It's the same spread for breakfast everyday with fresh fruits and fresh orange juice. A change of the spread will be good. The pool is probably a fish tank for human that can be accessed through the bar. There's no kettle in the room we miss although we can order complimentary tea. I personally don't find the room luxurious for its rating. Wifi connection is good.

















Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank TravelSmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time and the effort you have taken to share your experience at Caro Hotel. Your opinion is very valuable for us and it will for sure, improve our future performances.

We absolutely regret the fact that we have not been able to meet your expectations during your stay, and we fully understand that your experience was affected by such an inconvenience regarding the wake-up call. Indeed, we had the chance to explain the reason personally to you but it is our mistake and we apologise for that.

Regarding our breakfast buffet, we offer a wide range of local options such as natural juices, home-made pastries and cakes, a variety of cured meats from the region, fruit and other products that we continuously adapt to seasonal changes. We personally think that such a wide range of delights offers a good start of the day for all our guests.

As you have mentioned in your review, you will not find a kettle in your room, and for that reason we do offer a free complimentary tea service with a great tea menu, which can be brought to your room at any time. Along with our complimentary tea we offer Room Service.

We regret to find out that you were not impressed with room 24. Something you might find interesting is that Caro Hotel allows to choose the room when booking through our website. Therefore we hope that, with the possibility of a next stay with us you can be located in the room that best suits your needs and expectations.

It would be fantastic to have you back, and have the opportunity to change your opinion about us. Thank you again very much for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A small hotell, only 37 rooms, in a restored old town-palace, nearby the cathedral of Valencia.
Excellent service, clean and very modern interior. We did not eat at the hotel, only stayed there for one night.Lots of tapas bars and other restaurants in the area.
If you come by car, be sure to have a GPS, it is hard to find it in the narrow streets of the old town in Valencia.
On their web site, there is a movieclip for every single room at the hotell!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

As you mentioned, our hotel is a bit different and it is located right in the heart of Valencia where you find everything you need within walking distance, which is an extra if you are spending just one night in the city.

We always recommend our clients to check the location of Caro Hotel beforehand. It is sometimes a bit confusing with all the narrow streets in the old part of the city, so a GPS is always helpful if you are coming by car. However, we also advice our guests to give us a call when arriving in Valencia. Thus, we can provide with some useful tips to reach the hotel in an easier way.

Our homepage www.carohotel.com shows our exact position in a map. There, you will also find details of all our rooms with further descriptions and a good collection of photos and videos. Just a small correction, Caro Hotel has 26 rooms in total, not 37 ;)

We hope next time you are able to stay longer and enjoy our beautiful hotel and its surroundings.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a chic and stylish hotel with the service to match. My wife & I stayed at Caro for four days in September and unfortunately I was quite ill during my stay. (For reasons completely unconnected with the hotel.) However, the staff were exemplary offering assistance with special dietary requirements and helping as regards the nearest hospital and pharmacies.
The hotel itself is a stunning mix of contemporary style and tasteful nods to the past with the older architecture being preserved and celebrated in a series of interactive information points throughout the hotel.
The hotel's location is perfect for exploring the old town of Valencia with the staff helpfully pointing out useful bus routes to attractions upon arrival and providing a map to help.
I would recommend this hotel and we shall return in the future.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us in Caro Hotel and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations.

It is a pity that your stay was affected by such an inconvenience. Unfortunately there was not much we could do if your body’s defenses are down because it takes some time for the body to recover. A few days have passed by since you left the hotel so we hope you are well by now.

The design of the hotel houses a lot of secrets and we consider that it is not only a hotel but also gives a very interesting insight into the cultures that passed through Valencia and the remains associated to these periods. QR codes placed all over the hotel can be read with a simple app on your phone and give a great overview of the long tradition of this palace. We love storytelling and it is sort of a game finding out all the hidden details Caro Hotel has to offer.

Even though you felt a bit weak, we know that you had a good time exploring the old town as far as this was possible. We are sure next time you will enjoy it even more without being limited.

We do hope to see you soon,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#7 of 98 in Valencia
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#12 of 98 in Valencia
1,773 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 98 in Valencia
1,406 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 98 in Valencia
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: $208 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Mirai, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing