We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall still good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overall still good.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The overall service was good. All staff could speak English and helpful in orientating us around. However, we did not receive our morning call as they took down the wrong room number. Luckily, we woke up half hour late ourselves and still able to pack in time. I was not impressed with this.
It's the same spread for breakfast everyday with fresh fruits and fresh orange juice. A change of the spread will be good. The pool is probably a fish tank for human that can be accessed through the bar. There's no kettle in the room we miss although we can order complimentary tea. I personally don't find the room luxurious for its rating. Wifi connection is good.

















Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time and the effort you have taken to share your experience at Caro Hotel. Your opinion is very valuable for us and it will for sure, improve our future performances.

We absolutely regret the fact that we have not been able to meet your expectations during your stay, and we fully understand that your experience was affected by such an inconvenience regarding the wake-up call. Indeed, we had the chance to explain the reason personally to you but it is our mistake and we apologise for that.

Regarding our breakfast buffet, we offer a wide range of local options such as natural juices, home-made pastries and cakes, a variety of cured meats from the region, fruit and other products that we continuously adapt to seasonal changes. We personally think that such a wide range of delights offers a good start of the day for all our guests.

As you have mentioned in your review, you will not find a kettle in your room, and for that reason we do offer a free complimentary tea service with a great tea menu, which can be brought to your room at any time. Along with our complimentary tea we offer Room Service.

We regret to find out that you were not impressed with room 24. Something you might find interesting is that Caro Hotel allows to choose the room when booking through our website. Therefore we hope that, with the possibility of a next stay with us you can be located in the room that best suits your needs and expectations.

It would be fantastic to have you back, and have the opportunity to change your opinion about us. Thank you again very much for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    139
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
66
479
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Søgne, Vest-Agder, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A small hotell, only 37 rooms, in a restored old town-palace, nearby the cathedral of Valencia.
Excellent service, clean and very modern interior. We did not eat at the hotel, only stayed there for one night.Lots of tapas bars and other restaurants in the area.
If you come by car, be sure to have a GPS, it is hard to find it in the narrow streets of the old town in Valencia.
On their web site, there is a movieclip for every single room at the hotell!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

As you mentioned, our hotel is a bit different and it is located right in the heart of Valencia where you find everything you need within walking distance, which is an extra if you are spending just one night in the city.

We always recommend our clients to check the location of Caro Hotel beforehand. It is sometimes a bit confusing with all the narrow streets in the old part of the city, so a GPS is always helpful if you are coming by car. However, we also advice our guests to give us a call when arriving in Valencia. Thus, we can provide with some useful tips to reach the hotel in an easier way.

Our homepage www.carohotel.com shows our exact position in a map. There, you will also find details of all our rooms with further descriptions and a good collection of photos and videos. Just a small correction, Caro Hotel has 26 rooms in total, not 37 ;)

We hope next time you are able to stay longer and enjoy our beautiful hotel and its surroundings.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a chic and stylish hotel with the service to match. My wife & I stayed at Caro for four days in September and unfortunately I was quite ill during my stay. (For reasons completely unconnected with the hotel.) However, the staff were exemplary offering assistance with special dietary requirements and helping as regards the nearest hospital and pharmacies.
The hotel itself is a stunning mix of contemporary style and tasteful nods to the past with the older architecture being preserved and celebrated in a series of interactive information points throughout the hotel.
The hotel's location is perfect for exploring the old town of Valencia with the staff helpfully pointing out useful bus routes to attractions upon arrival and providing a map to help.
I would recommend this hotel and we shall return in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us in Caro Hotel and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations.

It is a pity that your stay was affected by such an inconvenience. Unfortunately there was not much we could do if your body’s defenses are down because it takes some time for the body to recover. A few days have passed by since you left the hotel so we hope you are well by now.

The design of the hotel houses a lot of secrets and we consider that it is not only a hotel but also gives a very interesting insight into the cultures that passed through Valencia and the remains associated to these periods. QR codes placed all over the hotel can be read with a simple app on your phone and give a great overview of the long tradition of this palace. We love storytelling and it is sort of a game finding out all the hidden details Caro Hotel has to offer.

Even though you felt a bit weak, we know that you had a good time exploring the old town as far as this was possible. We are sure next time you will enjoy it even more without being limited.

We do hope to see you soon,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

There are not too many 5-star hotels in Valencia's historic center - mostly 3-star and hostels. So if you are looking for top-notch hotel in the center - Caro would be the choice. And it's not very expensive too - we booked our rooms for under 180 Euro per night.

Caro hotel is situated in a beautiful ?-century mansion. Inside it's completely redesigned to the highest standards - reminded me of the great hotel Casa Fuster in Barcelona.

Service is great, the Cathedral is just a 3-minute walk, as well as Turia river park (which is remarkable).

Each room has a unique design and a name and it's very quiet. We've heard A/C working in the nearby buildings, but after midnight it always stopped.

Would recommend it especially for a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time of reviewing your stay with us.

First of all, we appreciate your comparison with one of the most emblematic hotels in Spain. Both preserve important architectural elements and have a certain singularity but each one in its own way. Of course they are not comparable in size and approach but it is a perfect example of how great hotels in this world function.

In general, there are not too many hotels in the heart of Valencia and the ones you find are mostly hostels and small properties of 3 or maybe 4 stars. We are really pleased that you chose our property for your stay.

Valencia is very proud of its architecture and the city is very strict about any changes to the street image. Many clients decide to choose us not only because of the great location and the surroundings but also because of the architectural concept, the perfect combination of historical remains and modern, minimalist design. The transformation of our 19th-Century palace has been very intense but it was definitely worth it. The result is a unique environment with 26 singular rooms, awaiting for you to be discovered.

In the name of Caro Hotel we would like to thank you again for your kind comment and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

It takes a few hours to realize what an ideal location the Caro hotel is in, in Valencia. You can basically walk to everything including the ultra-spectacular enclosed market. The reception people were excellent. In particular, Martin and Claudio. Thank you!!!
The hotel itself is a bit unusual and maybe not for everyone. It has been painstakingly restored over ancient ruins. The old Roman tiles have been salvaged and are prominent throughout the hotel and in the rooms. Cool! In our room, and I'd imagine many or all of them, the bed rests on the floor on a box-spring. Maybe a bit too low for some people. The floor is a gray finished concrete. There is nothing on the gray walls (on of our walls had many black scuff marks from previous quests luggage). The room has black curtains, no other color and very low lighting at night. It is interesting in its minimalism though! In the ultra-clean bathroom, there is an excellent waterfall shower and bath facilities, fine Bulgari toiletries and other touches that make the hotel a step above. As mentioned before, the location is perfect, albeit a bit difficult to find if driving. They provide valet parking which was excellent for us.
Once you get your bearings, you will find terrific local shops, really fun tapas restaurants and the central market, which you cannot miss! Note: that the market closes by 2pm each day. This is an excellent hotel in Valencia that really is a 4 1/2 but just needs some more attention to details in the rooms for my tastes.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with the larger windows which may be brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a brief summary of your stay with us in Caro Hotel. Just from the way your comment is written, we realize that you did not just stay in our hotel but also dug a bit deeper into the concept of our hotel and how it functions.

A contemporary design among many architectonical finds all over the hotel have been united into one unique space. You think our hotel is “unusual” and we have to say that you are right. To be honest, this is how we want it to be. Otherwise this project would just be another hotel in the city. Referring to the design, you say that it might not be the “hotel for everyone” You are also right because tastes differ but we can assure you we work hard every day to be the one for everyone.

In order to get to our hotel, we recommend everyone to use a GPS if you don’t know the city. Sometimes, the one-way streets in the old town are a bit confusing. We suggest our guests to have a look at our website to see where we are located exactly, just to avoid confusion when coming to the hotel. Once here we are more than happy to take care of your vehicle in our parking garage.

In our hotel you will find all the amenities and services you expect from a hotel of our category and more than that. What makes the difference is the individual touch. We consider it a good thing not to be chained to amenities that you can find anywhere or standard procedures that we are obliged to follow strictly; this is what makes us authentic and simply from following Tripadvisor you will realize. No standardized answers…or are there?

Thank you very much again for sharing your impressions.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This delightful boutique hotel is a gem. It was clearly painstakingly restored but clearly maintains its historic charm. Rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds and luxurious pillows. The snacks and drinks in the complimentary mini bar is a nice touch. Breakfast should be included in the room rates but it is not. All in all an excellent choice in a great location in Valencia. A bit hard to find by taxis so probably should ave a map with you of the location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your stay with us.

We are very proud of Caro hotel history and we are glad to know that our guests appreciate it. As you noticed, the hotel is divided by the Arabic wall that surrounded Valencia 800 years ago. Besides, the entrance exhibits several and unique archaeological pieces that represent the rehabilitation work of this property, which lasted nearly seven years.

We offer complimentary drinks and snacks for those guests who book directly with us. Also mini bar is free in all rooms and refilled on a daily basis.

It is a privilege to have the hotel located within walking distance of all the important sights in the city. With such a great location, you can discover Valencia on foot and it is certainly one of the key features all our guests point out.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Caro Hotel was a delight. Caro is a perfect hotel for those looking for a beautiful respite in the old town, among the Roman ruins. The HiTech restoration was stunning. We especially liked the architecture and the way the old Roman wall had been framed and placed in our wonderfully restored room with every luxurious convenience, uncluttered and pristine. The garden was wonderful. The staff was charming and put themselves out to provide us with directions, tickets, schedules and reservations on the train. I would go back to Valencia just to stay at this hotel. No children with us, so I can't comment on kid's activities onsite. They could swim, i suppose. We didn't have time.

Room Tip: Choose a room with part of the old Roman wall on one side. (Not the least expensive rooms, but a del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn Rorem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this 5* rating.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to improve the quality and service of our hotel and we try our best to make the guests feel like at home. Whatever request our guests might have, our staff is always willing to help in every possible way. There are so many things to see and do in Valencia and we are convinced to find the right places during your stay.

In your comment you have put special emphasis on our restored palace. It took us 7 years to convert this unique building into a marvelous hotel. Its architecture preserves behind its walls over 2000 years of Valencian history. For instance, he most relevant remains of the old city-walls are located in our restaurant Alma del Temple, although a few are also located in some of our 26 rooms.

Again, we are glad you liked the concept of our hotel and we will be delighted to see you again in your next visit to Valencia.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#10 of 101 in Valencia
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 101 in Valencia
1,583 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 101 in Valencia
1,230 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 101 in Valencia
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Property: Caro Hotel
Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing