We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique hotel”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel is very unique, small, modern, friendly staff, however make sure to have a printed location map to show the taxi driver because it was very hard to find the location. overall the location is good, few minutes walking from the center of town. the hotel displays some artifacts as part of renovated building which is very interesting. the rooms were a bit ultra modern so some might find it cold and unpractical. but we enjoyed our experience very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your opinion about your stay in Caro Hotel and we are happy to know that you enjoyed it.

Caro Hotel is located right in the heart of Valencia, just a few meters from the old town and perfectly addressed to visit most of the highlights in the city. As well as many European cities, the old town might be a bit difficult to drive by car and therefore our hotel might be a bit hard to find. However, we understand that our location gives us an advantage and an added value to enjoy the visit to the city and we encourage our guests coming by car to contact us in case they need directions to reach us. Sometimes a little local help simply makes it!

Additionally, Caro Hotel combines the elements of the past with contemporary design, so in almost every room you can find a different style of design mixed with a piece of the history of Valencia. We agree with you when describing our hotel as unique: we try to get the balance between antique and modern, small and spacious at once and close but courteous service. We enjoy by making our guests' experiences truly memorable and comments like yours are really valuable and allow us to improve and enhance our service.

We hope to see you again in your next trip to Valencia.
Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 858 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel in located next to Plaza de la Virgen and is the perfect base for shopping, site seeing, whilst its only a 10 minute Taxi ride to the beach and museums. There are some great restaurants nearby and I would recommend Restaurant 2012 which is located in a square just around the corner.

The hotel is beautiful and the service is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel, but hear are a few (very minor) negatives. We required an extra bed for our 7 year old and we were charged a 40 euro room upgrade per night (still not a big room) and a 70 euro extra bed charge per night. They have recently created a new pool area, therefore we decided to have the first afternoon around the pool, however there is only 3 sun beds and the pool in 1.5 meter x 5 meters. Its a splash pool and not a swimming pool.

However, I would defiantly stop here again and I would give it 9.5 out of 10.

Room Tip: check the extra charge for children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We highly value your appreciative words and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff, as well as your recommendation for future guests to stay in Caro Hotel.

It is a privilege to have the hotel located within walking distance of all the important sights in the city. That makes it even more convenient to enjoy Valencia on foot and it is certainly one of the key features all our guests point out.

We would also like to take this opportunity to add a few details to your comment on the extra bed: given that all 26 rooms in our hotel are double rooms, when an extra bed for a third person is required, we are more than happy to accommodate the requests. We advise guests who wish to do so to make sure that they book an Executive Category Room (or higher) in order to properly accommodate the extra bed. Those rooms are more spacious and allow to leave enough room to feel perfectly comfortable.

We also take great pride of our recently opened lounge pool, a splash pool as you mentioned. We think it is a great addition to the whole package of Caro Hotel as all our guests can go for a refreshing swim in the particular atmosphere of our open-air terrace. Considering we are a small boutique-hotel with only 26 rooms in the heart of the city, it has been fantastic to have the chance to finally offer a cozy pool.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in a future stay in Valencia.

Best regards,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Had one night at this hotel! The service was fantastic the hotel staff were well trained and very polite nothing was a problem! Even offered to go and pick my car up and park it in the hotel car park for me! Food in the hotel is very nice although we only had breakfast dinner would have been just as good!

My only criticism is that it is a bit misleading to find by car! But don't be put off!

Para decir algo a los españoles! si todos los sitios en España tenía el nivel de servicio como estos! No estaríamos en la situación donde estamos! Hay que visitar este maravilla de hotel y tome nota!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bozhkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at Caro Hotel. These comments are really valuable and allow us to improve and enhace the hotel experience of all our guests.

The location of our hotel, just in the heart of the city of Valencia and only a few meters from the Cathedral, might make it a bit difficult to reach it by car, especially if you have not been before to the city. Although a standard GPS should be enough, we advise all our guests who are coming by car and are not familiar to the city to give us a call so that we can improve the instructions to get here. It is really easy but you need to take the correct streets :)

We hope to see you again in your next trip to Valencia. Visiting our restaurant Alma del Temple will definitely make your next stay completely memorable.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Caro Hotel for 4 nights and we wish we could have stayed longer! It is by far the best hotel we have stayed in, anywhere!
This beautiful 19th Century hotel is in a very quiet location and it’s only a short walk to the Valencia Cathedral and Old Town.
Our room was very elegant and we loved the way we could scan the bar code on the entrance to our room and in the room to view videos about the wonderful architecture that dates back to some 2000 years ago.
Our room was brilliant, the shower was superb and the Bvlgari toiletries were glorious, we had bathrobes and slippers, free tea at any time from the hotel tea menu, it was really clean and most of all the bed was so comfortable, infact, the bed was too comfortable as we haven’t been able to get a good night’s sleep since the holiday. We would love to find out what kind of mattress the Caro use?
There was free wifi in the rooms and in the common areas – this is a big plus.
On a personal note, as we were celebrating a special occasion the hotel kindly provided us with a bottle of Champagne and nice sweets to enjoy – we were thrilled!
The staff were very friendly and we will be back, we totally recommend this hotel.

August is holiday season so it meant that the Alma del Tempe restaurant was closed – such a shame! It would be good if the hotel advise this on their website in advance so that when guests book, they are aware, as we were a little disappointed not to be able to have dinner in this greatly reviewed restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yonkers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The one thing that stood out above everything else was the spectacular service. Our primary interactions were with Martin and Victor. They made us feel like we were the only people in the hotel. They have us great tourist tips and were always very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Bvlgari products in the bathrooms. The location is perfect with lots of surrounding restaurants. The immediate area around the hotel is quiet and conducive for a good night of sleep. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSGSWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for you nice comments, we highly appreciate these. It is a pleasure to read your review and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are aware of how important customer service is, and we consider this our most valuable asset. For this reason we focus, as much as we can, on making our guests' stay memorable at Caro Hotel.

As previously mentioned, the hotel is at the perfect location to reach Valencia main sightseeing places on foot.

Regarding our amenities, those who book a stay with us can try our Bvlgari’s complete line of Eau Parfumée products, made with scented plant oils and silk proteins fragranced with Italian bergamot and pepper.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, located in a quiet yet central location. It is very smart and comfortable and the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The bar is intimate and has a very nice outdoor sitting area. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant, it was very popular each evening, suggesting that the food was very good. If we return to Valencia we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discerning_visitor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your experience at Caro Hotel.

We are glad we reached your expectations. We are always trying to improve the quality of our service and do our best to bring a friendly approach so our guests feel at home.

We are introducing some improvements to the outdoor area like the pool, which soon will be finished, and also the new appetizers we offer to our guest in our Meta Bar. We hope to see you again so you will experience these new improvements.

Thanking you again for your nice review.

Best regards

Caro Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Cairo in May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed the ‘experience’. I call it an experience because the hotel has only been open 1 ½ years and it has a very upscale and modern décor. The hotel is done in a mostly black or dark grey, and white color scheme and the fixtures and furnishings are contemporary in style. This tends to make the hallways and even the reception and bar areas a bit dark and somewhat austere. The very friendly staff speaks very good English and was always helpful and informative. Our rooms were done in the same contemporary style and our second room (room 27) was large, quiet, and very comfortable. The room had a large bath area but no door to separate it from the sleeping area, comfortable king bed, minibar that was free and constantly restocked, in-room wifi with adequate speed and best of all didn’t require me to repeatedly login, and a window that opened for fresh air. The first room we were given was room 33 which I recommend you avoid unless you are much less than 5 feet tall. It is at the top of the hotel where the roof slopes down through the room making it virtually impossible to walk around in the room without hitting your head on the ceiling.
The hotel is ideally located within a 5 minute walk to Plaza de la Virgen, Valencia Cathedral, Plaza de la Reina, a tourist information center, ATM, and lots of shops and restaurants. And if you like to walk, it is an easy and pleasant 45 minute walk to the City of Arts and Sciences along the old river channel that has been made into a green belt. I strongly recommend the hotel for its location, friendly staff, and amenities.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rockymountainrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear guest,

In behalf of Caro Hotel and the entire crew we would like to thank you for your late but really positive feedback. We are a young team with a lot of vitality and energy and we work hard to improve and create unforgettable experiences.

It is a privilege to have the hotel located within walking distance of all the main sights in the city, which makes it even more convenient to enjoy Valencia. Our hotel features a perfect combination of historic remains of the 19th century Gothic palace and contemporary design elements. We are glad that you liked it and we highly value your appreciative words regarding location and general features of the hotel.

When it comes to the rooms, you mentioned numbers 27 and 33 where you stayed at. Even though they are the same category, number 33 is an attic room, quite romantic we should say, and it has sloping ceilings with 3 windows making this room one of the brightest places in the hotel. Many people simply love it although we also understand those who prefer a different kind or room. Regarding room number 27, it is a good example to represent the unique and authentic style of Caro hotel.

We thank you again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor and hope to see you soon in your next trip to Valencia.

Sincerely,
Team Caro Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
The Westin Valencia
#12 of 98 in Valencia
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#6 of 98 in Valencia
1,975 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,379 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#3 of 98 in Valencia
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range: $145 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing