We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. We loved the location, the comfort, and the helpful staff; the major downside was having to leave!
The hotel is within an easy walk to everything in the old city, and there are bus stops a few minutes away to destinations further afield. Nonetheless, the hotel is blissfully quiet at night.
Our room was spacious, comfortable, and well laid out, with ample storage for clothing. There were a few design quirks - a fixed desk with nothing to stop things falling down behind, a shower that sprayed water across the bathroom floor (not an unusual feature of European floors), for example.
Perhaps a little more seriously, the floor tiles in the shower and bathroom were somewhat slippery when wet. That's OK if you have no balance problems and are careful, but if not, it could be an issue.
While talking of architectural quirks, the stairs were of black stone, and dimly lit. They looked great, but we felt a little uneasy walking up and down.
Nonetheless, the conversion of an old building with ancient historic elements was generally brilliant, and resulted in the creation of a really good boutique hotel.
The staff were exceptional. They were always ready with recommendations and practical advice, and pleasant at all times. That is what makes a stay enjoyable, and in this case, it did. The recommendations as to places to eat were so good that we missed out on dining in the hotel's dining room, which is an extraordinary space downstairs. Next time ...?
We would stay here again, and would recommend it to others (despite with the limitations I have mentioned).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troypolyboutsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to explain your experience at Caro Hotel.

We are glad we have reached your expectations and you have found our hotel well located, comfortable, very quiet at night and our staff friendly and helpful, as you have mentioned.

Thank you also for pointing some of the quirks of our hotel design. Sometimes choosing between beauty and comfort is not easy. Caro Hotel has a completely new and avant-garde design, some of the design pieces like lamps, chairs and some furniture are exclusive of our hotel. We regret some of them have not brought you the level of comfort expected.

Many thanks for recommending us, we hope to see you soon again.
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    153
    41
    9
    5
See reviews for
73
523
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laxfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Caro twice, book ending a long weekend with friends in Ibiza. Both stays, and the respective rooms, were wonderful. The staff couldn't do enough for us and managed the difficult balancing act of being warm and friendly without being intrusive. The location is superb, close to everything while also being far enough away from the touristy areas. The only negative was that the terrace bar was closed for refurbishment. Never mind, we'll check that out on our next visit! Thanks to everyone at the Caro for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLowthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Chris,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.
We know that you always have a choice between hotels and we are pleased that you have chosen Caro Hotel while you were in Valencia. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you not only enjoyed the amenities of our property but also had enough time to really discover the surrounding area of the city centre as well as its cultural and culinary offers. We are glad to know that together we found the right balance and everything was up to your expectations.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the temporary closure of the terrace of our Meta-Bar. As you were able to witness yourself, we are going to have our own lounge pool soon. There are only a few more days left until it is going to be finished. Please keep up on any TripAdvisor reviews to see how everything worked out.

We thank you again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor and hope to see you soon in your next visit to Valencia.

Warm regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANNEL iSLANDS
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. First time to Valencia but hopefully not the last. The Caro was a good choice. Definitely the best location for seeing all attractions and just a bus ride to the beach. The room was spotless, not the biggest I've stayed in considering its 5 star rating but had everything that was required, including complimentary juices, water and nibbles in the mini bar. This with the nightly chocolate on the bed was a lovely touch and one that some hotels even 5 star no longer offer. We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on food. The staff were extremely helpful and appeared genuine. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend. Anyone thinking about a stay in Valencia will not be dissapointed with the Caro hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and your thoughtful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the character of our historic property as well as our quiet neighborhood location and experienced a peaceful and relaxing stay with us. We like to answer our Trip Advisor reviews because it is a unique way to connect with our guests who share their experiences here and let others know what they can expect.

We are glad to hear that you loved our complementary ecologic chocolates left at the turn-down service and accompanied by the weather forecast for the following days. That's a 'sweet' eye catcher that helps you plan the next day!

Our convenient location is a huge plus and you will find the historic part of Valencia at your doorstep. For everything else and beyond the city limits we are more than happy to find the most suitable option. We are most certainly an urban hotel but even so it will not take you long to get where you're going -museums, concerts, restaurants, even the airport. Some destinations are a short drive by taxi or a hop on a bus.

At Caro Hotel you have the choice of 26 different experiences. This is why we always encourage guests to directly contact us (using our online chat, for instance) so that we can assist them with their reservation. This way we can easily respond to requests and provide an impeccable stay at our property. On our homepage www.carohotel.com you have a great overview of all the rooms and their unique features. We invite you to stay up-to-date on “Offers and announcements” in our TripAdvisor profile which may give you special privileges for bookings made through our homepage.

After this brief update, there is just one thing left to say: hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Team Caro Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Driving up to Caro Hotel through the maze of old town Valencia was absolutely amazing! An old Arabic Palace with stunning attributes being used in the hotel. A boutique hotel of 26 rooms. Very modern with the twist of old. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was available and helpful in all our requests. The restaurant in the hotel was also excellent, a Michelin recommended! Would definitely recommend it! Although the hotel didn't have a fitness centre or a pool, the quality of service was superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to let us know your experience in Caro Hotel.

The Palace of the Marquis of Caro has been masterfully redesigned to become the first monument-hotel in the city of Valencia with original pieces such as the 12th-Century Arabic city walls or a Roman mosaic.

We are glad you also liked the hotel surroundings on the very city center of Valencia. Our location allows our guests to enjoy the city within walking distance making it very convenient for leisure, tourism, nightlife and culture. Our staff is well informed and able to advise you about the city highlights and we are happy we were helpful during your stay.

Regarding the pool and other amenities, we are just in process to build a swimming pool in our private terrace for our guest’s leisure which will be available this summer.

As you also mention, Alma del Temple is our restaurant. It is well-known in Valencia and offers Mediterranean style food and also local traditional dishes such as paella buth with an innovative, creative touch.

It will be a pleasure to host you again in a future occasion.
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel midweek after looking at previous reviews . Very professional reception staff, quick check in managed to get into our room at 11am. Great central location. Ultra modern hotel.Hotel bar relaxing..would stay here again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nor309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We do really appreciate your opinion and your sincere words.
Thank you for sharing your view of the hotel. Our staff is always trying to provide the better service possible and these reviews make us realize how we are doing it.

One of our priorities is to make the guest feel comfortable during the stay and we reach that goal by having every room ready at the time of your arrival. We know you guests feel more relaxed if you have the chance to leave your suitcases in the room and then taking your time for a small rest after the trip.

We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and also our MetaBar with a pleasant and relaxing time with us. It will be pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely.
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Every hotel should have a Unique Selling Point - the Caro has many, but its greatest strength is its perfect customer service. The team here are worth a fortune - and they're a credit to their employers.
From locating my brother's ipad (left on the inbound flight!) to sorting us out with rooms and rebooking our new flights after the French air traffic control strike - nothing was too much trouble and everything was done naturally and without any fuss - amazing!
The rooms are beautiful, the terrace relaxing, the location superb - I won't bother looking for any other hotels in Valencia - you can't beat perfection!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackyB168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

It was such a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with us and for your delightful remarks. We really appreciate to read so many USP´s in your review.

As you said we are very good located. We are placed in the city centre and you can very easily reach the cathedral, La Virgen and Reina Squares as well as the central market and the silk market. Shopping areas are just few minutes walking.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we really hope to see you back soon

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

a lovely small boutique hotel, with creatively designed rooms that make good use of all the space. Located at the end of a street in the old city, just 3 minutes from the cathedral. Staff very friendly and helpful. Outdoor patio bar very romantic. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhouston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you have mentioned, we are a small lifestyle hotel with only 26 rooms, a different kind of hotel based on the proximity between the staff and the customers with a very special atmosphere.

Our small and cozy terrace welcomes guests to enjoy the Spanish weather in a quiet and sunny patio. In our Meta Bar you can taste our local wines and also artisan beers made of medlar, honey and rosemary among others, in which you will find the aromas of Valencia in an exceptional place.

We appreciate the time you took to write your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#7 of 98 in Valencia
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 98 in Valencia
1,662 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,294 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#6 of 98 in Valencia
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Property: Caro Hotel
Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing