We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Especial” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Especial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is precious. The decor is of the most refined taste. The lighting is superb!
It was better than I expected. Every corner was beautifully crafted with attention to the smallest details.
It is located in the old city, you are near everything, yet it sits at a quite street.
Breakfast is as classy as the hotel itself.
This place makes you feel good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Carolina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Caro Hotel for your stay in Valencia. Our clients' opinions are very valuable to us and are always forwarded to the rest of the team.

Situated in the heart of Valencia, our hotel accommodates 26 rooms and every one of them has been thought to become unique, as you kindly pointed out. We tried to combine the modern interior design with the original archaeological remains found during the reconstruction of the Palace, which took us over 7 years.

We are also delighted to notice that you enjoyed our recently improved breakfast, full of local and homemade fresh products.

Even though a few months have already passed, it feels good to know that you remember your stay in our hotel. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    138
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
62
475
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Caro Hotel Valencia for 2 nights mid February. We drove from Madrid. You will need GPS to find your way to the hotel because it is through a maze of one way streets. You leave your car out the front of the hotel and they will park it for you. This is an extra charge of 25 Euro per night though. But it was handy. And if you need it at anytime they will happily bring it in and put it back at your request.

Check in was quick and easy. The reception is very modern and welcoming. We booked quite a long time in advance and got quite a good rate of about $130 AUD per night on Expedia. We were in room 2. It was very clean, and very modern. Quite large also. The only issue would have been that it was quite dark. The minibar is stocked with drinks that are free of charge.

Overall for the price i was happy. it was in a great location in the centre of town. Only wish we had longer to stay and explore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Valencia. We appreciate your review about Caro Hotel and are glad to read about your fantastic overall experience in the hotel and the city.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was up to your expectations. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to make each guest feel at home. It is true that our hotel is a bit hidden just in the heart of the city, but we like to think that is also a part of its charm.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed one night and cant recommend this hotel highly enough. The location, staff combination of historical building mixed with contemporary interiors is wonderful

The breakfast buffet is of a high standard.

I also visited the restaurant in the hotel for dinner superb food and for the standard very well priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickwood50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your stay in Valencia and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, which has increasingly been improved thanks to other guests' contributions.

It will be a pleasure for us to see you back very soon in your next visit to Valencia.

Best regards,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

First stay in Valencia, lovely hotel and friendly staff. Located in old part of town near to a great bar / restaurant called Almudin. Felt a bit new and perhaps still has a few teething problems (the air con in our room went wrong on second night and noise was unbearable, but night staff came promptly to remove fuse!). Bar seating area is quite small and service a little slow but overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tishentosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear that your overall experience was satisfactory.

However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise of the air conditioning in your room. As of our conversation during check-out, we would like to inform you that the problem has eventually been solved.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and we try harder every day to improve our service in every possible way, especially when it comes to bringing prompt solutions to guests’ requests.

We would love to welcome you back for your next business or personal stay in Valencia.

Best regards,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here on a recent holiday to Valenica. The hotel is very small and clean and has a good minilamist decor. It also boasts history having being a palace previously. It has relics of this throughout the hotel which is good. It is also very well centrally located and walking distance to most sites which is key for me. The disadvantages are that many rooms abut a school which is very noisy and I had to change my room. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My only concern is that it can feel overfamiliar as you see the same faces you have to walk past daily which almost feels like you are being watched. Not quite sure if I shall stay here again though it was very good as a first visit

Room Tip: do not face the school
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sureLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of Caro Hotel team we would like to thank you for your review. It is feedback such as yours that allows us the opportunity to address the areas that affect our guests' experiences and makes us aware of such details we have to correct and improve.

First of all, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience with noise. We are fully aware that this is a very important issue for our clients. For this reason, we try our best to accommodate our guests in quiet rooms to let them feel comfortable and make them enjoy best the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel.

We like to think that our guests take with them the familiar feel of the hotel due to the size of it or due to warmed welcoming receptions, or simply because of the way we like to deliver service. However, always acting with the most respectful and discrete possible way. We apologise if somehow you felt uncomfortable during your stay.

We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Best regards,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

that was our first stay in the Caro. We are living in Spain and stayed few times in Valencia deferent hotels. Caro is a nice boutique hotel just few minutes walk to the Cathedral. Its not easy to find it, but easy to remember..:) Valencia is amazing - history and modern are connected in amazing way. Caro is the best example. The design of the Hotel - is fantastic. every detail is important. I think next time we will ask another room, as our was quiet small. But that didn't spoil our stay.Bar area - beautiful. Its very clean place. The staff is very professional and friendly ( one of the best in Valencia).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karolina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about Caro Hotel.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel design and, above all, the friendliness of our staff.

Your feedback makes us want to work harder every day to satisfy our guests’ needs.
We would like also to invite you to visit us again in the future and try another room from the 26 available. Every of them is unique, as it is different from each other.

Kind regards,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This small boutique hotel that is located in the heart of the old part of this beautiful city is a surprising find. It was originally a small "palacete" belonging to a prestigious Valencia family before it was turned into this lovely boutique hotel. It took them 7 years to finish the work as they kept discovering amazing archeological treasures during the construction period. Some of the discovered pieces are on display throughout the hotel and these add a certain touch of beauty and mystery to the very modern and design look of the hotel. The professionalism coupled with the warm smiles of the staff added to make my stay an extremely pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroHotelVLC, Gerente at Caro Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us here on Trip Advisor.
This is the best gauge by which we can measure our performance and make changes where necessary and appropriate.

It’s great to hear that we met your expectations during your stay and we would like to appreciate you pointing out all the nice details of our little “treasure”.

Thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Caro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#9 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#6 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Property: Caro Hotel
Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing