We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in the Junior Suite last month for 3 nights. The room was perfect for us with the old walls and more modern features. It I was being picky I would say there wasnt enough storage space for all the clothes and shoes that we had taken and therefore the room looked quite messy once we unpacked. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on first night and the food really was superb and very reasonable for the standard served. We stayed B & B and the breakfast was also very nice. The location of hotel was great and there was lots within walking distance. The hotel has only been open 7 months so we did find most taxi drivers didn't know where it was but most of them have sat navs. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and couldn't reccomend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    138
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
62
475
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We enjoyed a short but great stay at the beautiful Caro Hotel. Extremely friendly, smiling and polite staff. The combination of old walls and modern design is fascinating. Also a couple of old coloured tiles here and there on the walls gives a beautiful effect. Wonderful old ceilings in some rooms. Majestic staircase. Sometimes the design (rigid pure lines?) albeit beautiful isn't very practical but only minor details drew our attention; details which could (and should) be adjusted I think. Perhaps there should be more light/lamps in the rooms so that reading, writing or working at the laptop gets a bit easier... And more hooks to hang one's wet towels on! Perhaps light in the shower would be nice; now only indirectly lit by the main lamp in the bathroom through the glass door. The bath is quite narrow: good for us slim guys but I wonder how more generously shaped people would fit into them... The beds are absolutely 100% perfect! We slept like roses and the sheets were super soft. Good pillows. Love the dark curtains; needed in sunny Valencia. The location is perfect. Quiet, yet on walking distance to "everything". One wish: perhaps a nice big tropical plant here and there?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorisAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile


We have just returned from 3 nights at the caro hotel. 

The hotel itself is very minimalistic and I did think our room (12) would have benefited from one picture on the wall as the whole room, bathroom and toilet was grey. 

It is in a great location and is within a 10 minute walk to most of the sights. 

The staff were helpful but not overly approachable/friendly. 

The bed was so comfy and the air conditioning was really quiet. You also receive a complimentary mini bar (coke, fanta, water, crisps, nuts etc) although only random items were restocked each day. 

The soundproofing at the hotel was fantastic, there were some open air concerts whilst we were there which we're extremely loud but in the room
You could barely hear it.

Room 12 has no decent view (you look onto a brick wall) but it wasn't a problem. 

The hotel was really nice and would stay again.

Lastly, make sure you know your fellow room mate well!! The rooms are very very open plan with no door on the bathroom or screen/curtain over the shower.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryLaurence121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Booked this hotel being on a round trip with our motorbikes and landed a Jackpot. This design hotel is located in the Oldtown of Valencia and for this all sightseeing-locations can easily reached by foot.

The overall impression is minimalism paired with the old structure of the building. This also refers to the rooms.

Speaking of the rooms, after 30 years of travelling (private and business) I can honestly say that I have never slept in better beds than in Caro Hotel. Maybe we were lucky with a very new room, but that was simply amazing! The interior of the rooms left nothing to wish for, at least for us. Bath tub, bath robe, of course a hair dryer, Bulgari shower gel and a complimentary mini-bar.

Also worth mentioning is the top class service. Always caring and trying to find the best solution, even planning in advance for possible problems. Everybody of the staff we met speaks fluent english. The hotel does not have a parking lot but cars are parked via valet-parking in a nearby parking garage. At least we were told so, because we arrived with 2 motorbikes and parked them on our own. :-)

In the afternoon we took a drink at the bar, in the evening we had dinner at the restaurant, both times nothing to argue, very good.

We paid 130 Euros for the room, not cheap but well worth the price. Breakfast is another 20 Euros per person, but you could have this in a nearby Café as well.

When we go back to Valencia, which is a sure thing, we will return to Caro Hotel 100%, we can totally recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taschkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you love minimalism (and we do) then you will love this hotel. The stylish and pared down interior contrasted beautifully with the opulence of the exterior, and of Valencia itself. The muted colours of the interior of the hotel were very relaxing in a city of seemingly non stop sunshine!

The website could be better, but they do show photographs of each room. We had room 24 and it was every bit at gorgeous as it looked on the site. The views from the room weren't outstanding (one set of windows looked out to another building) but we knew we hadn't chosen a 'room with a view'.

The room was really well laid out, with plenty of space, gorgeous Bulgari toiletries and great towels and bathrobes. Other highlights inlcuded a free mini bar (with snacks, water and soft drinks) and whisper quiet airconditioning.

We also loved the restaurant - Alma de Temple. The food was absolutely superb - we'd booked in for dinner for our anniversary but loved it so much we went back again for the second and final night of our stay.

This lovely boutique hotel in the centre of Valencia deserves the rave reviews it gets on Trip Advisor (and was how we found the hotel in the first place). I should just add that the staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us excellent recommendations for places to visit for lunch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theprezzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Booked this for my parents in law to stay in during the F1. They loved it. We visited the hotel too for a drink in the lovely terrace & a nose around & were very impressed. Beautiful room, fabulous position in the old town - although quite a distance to the F1 track - they really enjoyed a break from the noise & chaos!!
They will definitely be back.
Free minibar a really nice extra

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea00xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is build in an old Palace, which gives it a quite historic and nice touch. However, there are some things that could be done better. The bed is not very comfortable. We woke up with a back-ache every day. Breakfast is served and the choice is limited: one egg, either fried or scrambled with ham or bacon. Three small slices of toasted bread, some butter (just enough for the smallest slice of bread), one croissant (which actually was really good) and a small plate of fruits. Fresh orange juice and coffee (Nespresso) or tea. The quality of the breakfast was good but if you stay longer than a few nights it might get monotonous. The hotel staff is friendly and most of them speak English, but not all of them. In the room we could not find a hanger for the towels, only one role of toilet paper and the shower gel and toilet paper was not filled up daily. All smaller problems, but sometimes the small things make the difference between average and very good. The location of the hotel is very good. The historic old town is just around the corner and a major bus stop just 3 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#9 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#6 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caro Hotel

Property: Caro Hotel
Address: Almirall 14, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caro Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caro Hotel is a five-star monument hotel located in the heart of the city of Valencia. An urban and commercially independent hotel, its 26 rooms, all unique in themselves, and gastronomic restaurant are fine examples of the singular and highly respectful integration of its contemporary interior design, characterised by clean, geometric lines, designed by Francesc Rifé, with the original historical, architectonic features of the building. Below the eclectic appearance of a nineteenth-century palace, the hotel walls stand guard over a legacy of more than 2,000 years of history, which includes an original mosaic belonging to the founding of Valencia in the Roman era (2nd century BC.), the thirteenth-century Arabic defensive wall, several gothic arches and nineteenth-century constructions which, together with its warm, friendly, client-focused service, make this establishment a high quality must for all travellers who wish to enjoy a memorable hotel experience from a different perspective. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Prestigia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Caro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing