We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel!”
Review of Vincci Lys

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vincci Lys
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I stayed at the Vincci Lys in December while attending a conference in Valencia. What a lovely hotel! My room was spacious, quiet, and elegant, with a tasteful decor. The bathroom was big and very elegant as well. The staff were most helpful and the breakfast, although pricey, was good. You have to buy an internet card but apart from that, I have no complaints, just praise. The lobby is as tasteful as everything else in the hotel, and when you walk in you feel like you've entered a peaceful, soothing space -which in fact you have. The location is excellent, just a 5-minute walk to the train station and near one of the major plazas. There are many restaurants and cafes at hand to choose from and the food is always good. Valencia comes alive at night so the location is much appreciated, as is the amazing quietness of the rooms. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_HToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2009

We loved the Vincci Lys and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. The room was very spacious with a sitting area, little hall way and lovely bathroom. Well equipped, air con to keep us cool in a (generally) swealtering August. Staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us maps and recommending places to visit to us. The photos online do the hotel justice, part of me thought it couldn't be that nice as we didn't pay a fortune for it (although August is out of season a little) so we were really pleased when we arrived. We went room only after reading reviews about Breakfast being expensive. We never went into the breakfast room, and there was a restaurant but we didn't eat there. The hotel is not far from 2 of the main squares in the town, and literally just outside are 4 / 5 different places you could have breakfast cheaply. Valencia itself was a pleasant city, very chilled out. We spent a relaxing week there and found plenty to do. You could easily do it in 4 days if you wanted, but after a hectic week in Barcelona, we liked taking it easy. We found the Menu del Dia excellent - whereas in other cities in Spain or Italy these are only at lunch / serve typical tourist fodder - in Valencia these offered a good range and were available in evenings too. We ate along a road called Calle Correjia virtually every night - lots of little restaurants that were inexpensive (Moma / Deja Vu / little Vegetarian place on the corner / La Pappadelle) and an Italian restaurant in beautiful palace suroundings which must have been near Calle Caballeros. All about E20 per person for 3 course meal (wine extra). Taberna de la Reina does good Tapas for lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bumbletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Overall, we were disappointed by Vincci Lys, and this is mostly because of our experiences on the first day we arrived. The hotel itself is reasonable value, but it certainly isn't cheap, and after reading rave reviews on tripadvisor and elsewhere we were excited about staying in this hotel for a 4 day long weekend break.

Unfortunately, when we checked in and went up to our rooms, we quickly discovered that we had been put in a smoking room, even though we had specifically requested a non-smoking one. It seemed fairly disgusting but we weren't too worried, as at around 80 pounds a night in this class of hotel we felt confident that the situation would be resolved quickly.

However, the staff at reception were incredibly unhelpful and unsympathetic, and claimed that there were no non-smoking rooms available until the next day. We had to ask them four separate times, and eventually ask to speak to the manager, before they suddenly found a non-smoking room (probably bumping another non-smoker into our stinking room!) and agreed to move us.

The rest of our trip was fine - the staff weren't particularly friendly but we didn't really have much cause to speak to them. The hotel is quite nice - centrally located, spacious rooms, clean etc. - but it's a bit soulless and our initial experience did put us off a bit.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as it seemed over-priced and empty (breakfast seemed particularly bad value) but there were lots of cafes in the immediate vicinity for a quick bocadillo and a coffee.

Overall it was fine in the end but not amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piranha1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

In a quiet semi pedestrianised street. There is a car park undererground with dedicated bays for guests.
Offered a grotty room with a window onto light shaft this was changed to a room with a terrace which was an impovement but really only suitable for one person as it was a very small room.
Diapppointing breakfasts with no flair. Souless restaurant that was empty on both my visits, plenty of choice nearby so dine out is the option.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I am going start with the bad and end with the good as I do think the hotel deserves it.
When we checked in I went straight to the room to lie down for a few minutes, only to be disgusted by a huge fresh blood stain on the pillow. I don’t understand if the maid staff is blind or they just don’t care, because I wear glasses and I saw it through the pillow case right away. So even worse means she/he didn’t change the pillow case which is almost as gross. There was a huge horse fly bussing around our room, which was just one more thing to annoy me after a long trip, but there a good points to this hotel. They are conveniently located with indoor parking, extra charge. The room was very large by European standards and well decorated in beach like tones and the bathroom was very spacious with plenty of hooks and counter space. The staff is awesome. They helped us change our rental car and printed out better driving directions to our next city. We had Ana help us most of the time, she is an absolute pleasure. It is easy to get out of the city if you are driving to another location/city. The parking rate was included in our stay and I booked the non-refundable rate which for one night came to $160 USD. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance and there is a department store down the block. And it you want the real Spain experience the bull fighting ring is one block away next to the train station, note the bull fighting might not be for everyone, so please understand I am not endorsing the sport.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinatot76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

To our esteemed guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This hotel is in a great location perfect for visiting Valencia. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and spacious and comfortable. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatrinaUK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed four nights (6-10 Oct). The hotel is in an excellent location and surrounded by shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. Despite this it was still quiet at night. A lot of the cafes/bars were branches of chains but never-the-less they were convenient and at least of a consistent standard and price.

The hotel could have perhaps done with some updating to the rooms and bathrooms but was still very clean and good value for a 4 star central city location. The staff were also very friendly and professional. One minor complaint was that the hot water was in fact, boiling hot and when having a shower, it was difficult to set to an acceptable temp..!

We were there over the local holiday weekend – including Valencia Day on 9th October and saw the local processions many of which started from the nearby town hall square. There were some truly amazing fireworks at midnight in the gardens of the old Turia river bed.

Valencia is as you expect for a major city, relatively, but there are still bars and cafes which are popular with the locals and not so touristy and have much more reasonable prices. One such café was Santa Ana on Calle Comedias no 3, between Calle del Mar and Calle de la Paz with good simple home cooked food . We found a good Argentinian steak house – outside the normal tourist area and on the other side of the river gardens: El Rancho (Asador Argentino) Avenida Primado Reig no 177 plus we enjoyed the ever popular La Pepica on Paseo Neptuno no 6 which is on the beach front of Playa de Levante and (rightly famed for its paella). For quick and tasty pintxos each costing 1.80 Euro (varied tapas each served on a small slice of baguette bread) head for Sagardi Euskal Taberna on San Vincente Martie no 6 conveniently located near one of the main Plaza de la Reina.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHotels, Community Manager at Vincci Lys, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

To our esteemed guest:

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Xerea
Caro Hotel
Caro Hotel
#1 of 98 in Valencia
858 reviews
El Mercat
Vincci Mercat
Vincci Mercat
#7 of 98 in Valencia
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Valencia
#12 of 98 in Valencia
1,746 reviews
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#2 of 98 in Valencia
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Lys

Address: Calle Martinez Cubells 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > Sant Francesc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
#3 Green Hotel in Valencia
#5 Family Hotel in Valencia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#17 Business Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: $82 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Valencia and just a two minute walk from the train station and the Town Hall Square. Vincci Lys Hotel is located on a quite pedestrian street and surrounded by all kinds of shops, restaurants and buildings of cultural interest. Decorated in an elegant and attractive style. It is the only hotel in the centre of Valencia with a car park and direct access to its premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vincci Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Lys Hotel Valencia
Vincci Hotel Valencia
Vincci Hotel Lys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing