We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern architecture”

City of the Arts and Sciences
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.06*
and up
Valencia's City of Arts and Sciences Tour
Ranked #6 of 263 things to do in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DISCOVER THE CIUTAT DE LES ARTS I LES CIÈNCIES. Science, nature and art in a complex devoted to scientific and cultural dissemination in Europe, placed in Valencia. The City of Arts and Sciences in Valencia is a unique complex devoted to scientific and cultural dissemination which is made up of five main elements: the Hemisfèric (IMAX cinema and digital projections), the Umbracle (a landscaped vantage point and car park), the Príncipe Felipe Science Museum (an innovative centre of interactive science), the Oceanográfico (the largest aquarium in Europe with over 500 marine species) and the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía (which takes care of the operatic programme). The Ágora gives the complex a multifunctional space.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Modern architecture”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We walked from our hotel to the museums, watched the dynamo movie, you can actually buy tickets ahead of time from the concierge at the hotel, this will save you time. I did not find the science museum as interesting as its architecture, the movie was great...I did not have time to visit the aquarium. However everyone said it is worth visiting! Check it out for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,849
    2,632
    1,022
    379
    165
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indaiatuba, SP
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture out side, content in side”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just to walk around is a great time, because the buildings are located in a great architecture master piece.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank UTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth visiting for the exterior, not interior”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you like architecture this is a cannot-miss location in Valencia. It's a long walk from the city center, or you can catch a bus that will drop you off a few blocks away and can walk from there. The grounds are beautiful and the buildings really are stunning. That being said, I can't really recommend you pay for the museum of science or planetarium, as we found the exhibits only moderately interesting. The museum just doesn't make use of the space inside, and when we went nearly half of the hands-on exhibits were 'out of service'. Go for the views, and just walk around the grounds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlndny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning building, average museum”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First of all the building is absolutely beautiful, really worth the visit by itself. We just visited the science museum which I personally thought was decent value for the length of time we spent there. However my score reflects the fact that several of the exhibits were out of order, with the number of visiters they must get there is really no excuse for this as I can't imagine many of the broken things were that expensive to fix. Bearing that it turns a 4 star review into a 3 star. None the less I still would recommend giving it a chance yourself.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Architecture.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Anyone who is fascinated with Architecture should make a visit to Valencia's City of Arts and Sciences. I have no words to express this splendid piece of work. This is like a Picasso's work for Architects.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank subbuvenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City of the Arts and Sciences also viewed

Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 

Been to City of the Arts and Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing