We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and great value for money, but could be better”
Review of Hotel Dimar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dimar
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
lampeter
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good and great value for money, but could be better”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We really liked staying at the Husa Dimar in Valencia, it is very convenient for many parts of the city and it is convenient for restaurants and popular sites. The rooms are fairly minimalists (that is a deliberate style) and comfortable.

Although we arrived fairly late in the evening registration was efficient and politely done.

So why do we say could be better?

In the reception directly opposite the lifts were stored a number of bikes (which can be rented at the desk, as the city is very bike friendly and the nearby park is great for bike use), this makes the space very inconvenient for guests and it does not appear to be neatly organised, poor for such a good hotel.

Further down in reception was bar/coffee shop, it appears to have become neglected. Although it appears in all of the web site photographs we never saw it in use and when enquired about it (we arrived late, would have liked a drink and some food), it appeared to be an after thought and it was suggested we might want to try the bars nearby, which we eventually did.

Would we go back there? We would it is a good hotel, great value for money, convenient but a few small touches could make this a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lampey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    565
    138
    23
    8
See reviews for
186
641
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have previously stayed in Valencias old town so wanted to try this district this time around. The hotel is on a main road which is very busy but we weren't particularly bothered by the traffic noise - having said that we did request a high floor and had a room on the 9th. There is a treelined walkway down the middle of the main road and you have to walk past loads of shops to get to Colon which is the nearest metro station - approx 10-15 mins walk!
Go in the other direction and cross the bridge and you are straight down onto the Rio Turia - the old riverbed which is now a 9km green walk/cycle way through the heart of the city.
Rooms were very modern with all you need (including tea tray which you rarely get in Spanish hotels) Popular with business people, there are some good weekend deals to be had. The room was small but the bathroom was great and - massive bonus - we had a large sunny terrace to sit out on - rare in a city centre hotel.
There is a cafe and restaurant on site but we went out to eat - tons of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Far less touristy than the old town but only 15-20 mins walk away from it - a great way to experience a different side of the city
This hotel was great value and we would really recommend it and Valencia!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here room only for 6 nights in April/May. Very large room for a city hotel. We are in our 60s and it was easy 10 min walk from Colon metro. Yes, hotel is in a main road - but it is a very wide tree lined avenue with a park strip between the carriageways. We were on 3rd floor and weren't bothered by noise at all. Plenty of seats in lounge area at reception.
Unusually for Continent, there were tea/coffee making facilities in room- but take your own tea bags/coffee as only minimum left. I asked at reception for more each day and this was willingly given. You can buy milk locally and keep in fridge.
We had Spanish breakfast in cafes: coffee and tostado con tomate. Tried various places around hotel. Cross road, walk to left for few hundred metres and it costs only 1€90 per person (sign outside). Lots of tapas bars and restaurants around hotel.
15 min stroll into centre of town and right beside Turia Gardens. Bus No 2 outside hotel to go to beach and same stop for hourly bus to El Saler.
Would definitely recommend for price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I searched for a long time for a hotel that catered for people who cant eat wheat and gluten and this one had several reviews that said it did. I contacted the hotel group via facebook and they were very helpful reasurring me that i would be looked after and they were not wrong.
My partner and I stayed for four nights and we have found the hotel extremely handy for location, only a 10 minute walk from the Metro and a 5 minute walk from the central park area that stretches through several districts of Valencia, ideal for bike riding and walkers. There is also a bus route right outside the hotel which if you purchase a Valencia Tourist Card , ou can get travel on metro, bus and tram for numerous days all included in the price of the card. We found this really helpfull for getting used to the area.
Back to hotel - the facilities were great, rooms were modern, clean and kept that way daily by staff coming in and making the bed, changing towels etc. The bathroom was quite large for a hotel room with bath with shower over it, toilet, sink and bidet. Toiletries were provided also as well as a high drier. The room had air conditioning, televison which didnt have hardly any English speaking channels but we weren't too concerned by this. The mini bar was well stocked with drinks and chocolates etc with a price list in the room, Breakfast was a positive experience for me i spoke to the waiter and asked for the gluten free food, he took my room number and then bought out a plate which had 2 small cakes, 2 bread rolls and 2 slices of bread on it all gluten free. There was also a range of different foods for everyone else, breads, cakes, meat, cheese, hot food like bacon, scramble eggs, sausages, breakfast cereals, milk, fresh and tinned fruit, yoghurs, tea, coffee, fresh orange juice. I was really impressed by the selection and the best bit was you didnt need to get up early just to have breakfast as it was served from 7am to 11am so still plenty of time for a lie in.
Staff were very helpful, we asked for a local map and were given that and other leaflets about the attractions. We have also been told we can leave our bags when we check out and collect them later when we are ready to go to the airport.
I am a light sleeper and i bought ear plugs with me to the hotel, my partner slept really well during our stay but i think if i did not have ear plugs i may have been woken by noise from the road so it may be an idea to think about this when booking as you could maybe ask for a room away from the front of the buliding. Overall i cannot think of one bad thing about this hotel and would be sure to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numee28Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good quality hotel room, clean and large rooms. Wifi was good in the rooms but not working In reception. Reception area smelt of bad plumbing for the 4 days we were there. Staff appeared helpful but didn't really know bus routes or local info. English was limited and it was difficult to get answers from them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stay there with our family, we did ask For quitte rooms. We sleep on the 6 floor at the back side, and there was no noise! Great big room, spacious bathroom with a bath. ( they could clean it a little bit better ) lovely breakfast with something For everybody and nespresso coffee and a Jura machine, do really nothing to complain. Check in and out did go fast and the reception is very helpfull. Great italian restaurant just 100 mtr From there outside the hotel left just around the corner. Como in casa, best lasagna ever!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolanda19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumst, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is a great value for money. A good four star hotel.
Rooms are large and clean, hotel staff are helpful, breakfast is good better than in some higher rated hotels (eggs, fresh orange juice, smoked salmon, different pastry's, ...)
Location is great, just in the middle for every important sight (beach, old city and new building).
A lot of restaurants nearby.
You get more than you pay for ... I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collierke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#10 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Hotel Kramer
#9 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sorolla Centro
#3 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel Zenit Valencia
Hotel Zenit Valencia
#13 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dimar

Property: Hotel Dimar
Address: Gran Via Marques del Turia 80, 46005 Valencia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Gran Via
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Valencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#11 Business Hotel in Valencia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dimar 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Dimar Valencia
Husa Dimar Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing