We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - horrible rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hospederia del Pilar
Ranked #64 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location - horrible rooms!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was in Hospederia Del Pilar for a city trip in Valencia. The location is very good, just in front of the Central Market and next to all other facilities (you're in the city centre, so you cannot ask more!). The staff is also very kind and helpful. However, the facilities are horrible! First of all, the building is very old. Then, the rooms are old as well (not like the pics they show on the website) and quite dirty (my bed cover had a huge spot in the middle, not sure it has been cleaned). Also, people were probably smoking in the rooms and in the corridors, since I was smelling tobacco all the time. More attention to the cleanness and to the common rules would make this place better than what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    147
    70
    14
    6
See reviews for
25
114
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neos Marmaras, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The perfect place to stay when you are on a budjet!location is perfect,very close to nightlife and many sightseeings,low price and clean!for me this is more than enough.if i vist valencia again i would stay there for sure.notice that there is no elevator which for me is not a problem but for some people might be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyriakos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent location, very helpful staff. Right next to the central market.

We had an A/C unit that rattled and since the hotel was sold out we couldn't change rooms.

Clean and simple, but if I wanted to stay in Valencia's old city, I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Worth considering if you need a cheap but OK place to stay in Valencia. The rooms are quite small and basic but everything's super clean and the staff is friendly. Also, the location is very good, only 10 minutes walk to the Placa Ayuntamento and only a few steps away from Barrio del Carmen. Free WiFi but really shaky. Consider asking a room with a balcony as others can feel a bit cramped and claustrophobic.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hjam_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Pension El Rincon
#89 of 99 in Valencia
126 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hostal Moratin
Hostal Moratin
#77 of 99 in Valencia
74 reviews
SH Florazar Valencia
#73 of 99 in Valencia
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Casual Valencia Vintage
Casual Valencia Vintage
#17 of 99 in Valencia
282 reviews
Sant Francesc
Hotel Alkazar
Hotel Alkazar
#72 of 99 in Valencia
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia del Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia del Pilar

Property: Hospederia del Pilar
Address: Plaza Mercado 19, 46001 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > El Mercat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia del Pilar 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hospederia del Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing