We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great retreat in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sorolla Centro
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great retreat in the middle of everything”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

What a grat hotel.. Large room with every thing a traveler would desire. To be clear we did purchase the highest cost room.m wifi of high strength in room, terrace with table, two lounges and umbrellas. Too hot to spend time during siesta time, but wonderful in mooring before confronting the city and other tourists. Playing cards at midnight was a total delight with the music from the lower bar waffowing up to us. With the loud location, our room was quiet and peaceful. A caveat: a room is only as good as the other guests in the next room. Our floor had two rooms. During siesta, the guests next door were loud and shouting in our tiny hall next to our room. At 3 am they were as noisy, laughing, talking and even crying. Then to our dismay, it started all over at 6:30 am....thank goodness they were leaving! The hotel would have moved us to a lesser room had they not left. They do not provide breakfast in the price because as we were told, there were so many other breakfast places so very close. To their credit, the one day we did eat at the hotel, it was a large variety of safe food. We enjoyed the view from the area.

The main recommend we have for the hotel was the staff...from the front desk smiling greeting and patience with our poor Spanish to the server in the buffet area, to julia who cleaned our room daily and helped us with the umbrella. Great job, great hotel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BabeRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsorollacentro, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear guests:
We are happy to know that you felt comfortable during your stay in our Hotel. As you could check the Room you booked has a big terrace suitable not only to sunbathe but to enjoy any Summer night as you did. We are glad to know you took advantage of it.
We regret the inconveniences caused by the neighbors next door during your stay. Normally as the cost of Superior Rooms is higher than average, guests happen to be more respectful too. It hasn’t been the case this time, and we are sorry for it.
Regarding our Buffet Breakfast Room, the best place to start the day, you could also see the wide range of products offered and the nice view through the glass walls.
I personally have transmitted to Julia (the person in charge of the Room’s cleaning during your stay) your comment.
To sum up, on behalf of the Hotel Sorolla Staff, I want to express our gratitude for your lines, to let us know you had a good time in our Hotel. The Sorolla Centro Hotel’s team with its professionalism help guests to leave the Hotel with good souvenirs of their stay.
Thank you indeed to help us improve and for your time.
We hope to see you again in this, your Hotel in Valencia.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    468
    71
    7
    6
See reviews for
234
596
85
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

What a find! New, comfortable, very clean. Get a corner room with a balcony overlooking the outdoor cafes on the street below. Fabulous place.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsorollacentro, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your comments and for dedicate part of your time. We are glad to know you enjoy our Hotel, as you could check the situation is unsurpassable, it´s impossible to be more centric.
Fantastic your expression “ What a find! New, comfortable, very clean” This last point is the most attention we take, our housekeeping team, headed by our housekeeper, are who diary tidy and clean everything, in and out the hotel.
We are sure your recommendation will be useful for a future guests, because it´s possible they request corner´s rooms. We have few of them, just one each floor, but always we have availability it would be a pleasure for us to please our guests.
I would like to express our gratitude, not only mine but also for all the Staff. With their professionalism achieve good memories from our guests of their stay at Hotel Sorolla Centro.
We hope see you soon in this, your hotel in Valencia.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice comfortable hotel in a good location. The only issue was that I constantly had to keep logging into the wifi, not only every time I returned to the hotel but also several times in an hour at times. Frustrating and made viber calls virtually impossible

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsorollacentro, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Customers, we are glad to know that you liked our Hotel, as you could check our location is excellent “more central impossible”.
We pleased your comments about the Wi-Fi, it’s not normally to have incidents, you can check it in other comments made by other guests in TripAdvisor and there is no one about any incidents with our Wi-Fi.
I inform you that we checked our Wi-Fi system and it indicates that the line is working properly, sorry for the inconvenience we have caused during your stay but the truth is that the Wi-Fi line is working well, we haven’t got any complaint by other guests.
I would not say goodbye without thanking you for trusting in our Hotel, for your comments and for your time in comment our Hotel.
We hope to see you again soon in this your Hotel in Valencia.
Thank you very much.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed (3 of us) in this hotel for 4 nights and we were really satisfied with the hotel and the staff. The hotel has a perfect location in the city center, few minutes away from North Train Station. It is true that many fast trains arrive to Joaquin Sorolla Train station, but there is a shuttle bus free of charge between these 2 stations, which departs every 10 minutes, so this is not a problem. Also, it is close to the bus stop, so reaching Ciudad de las Artes y de las Ciencias is very easy, too.

The room and the bathroom were clean, our only „complaints“ were that the triple room should be little bit bigger (it wasn't easy to find place on the floor for 3 big suitcases in order not to have to jump over them while moving around the room), and that they should provide more electricity sockets (2 per each person in the room). These days every traveller has a cellular and the camera batteries which have to be charged every day. We had to unplug TV to have 3 sockets.
The beds are very very comfortable.
The wi-fi in the room was very fast and free of charge. The room was quiet, it didn't have great view, but we asked for the room that is not on the main street, so that was fine.

The breakfast has good food offer, cca 10 eur per day, little bit overpriced but it is like this in other hotels too, I think.

The staff on the reception was great. They helped us a lot, answering all of our questions, and we had at least couple of them each day :-). Octavio even spent few hours trying to find us a good non-tourist restaurant (all were either closed or fully booked that night). He asked us how to say „Thank you“ in Croatian, since we were their first guests from Croatia, which was cute, so I would say once more „Hvala“ to him this way.
Armando gave us lots of advices on restaurants, unfortunately we weren't able to check them (closed when we wanted to go there). The only one we checked was La Rosa at the beach, but we were not satisfied with the service there (we had table reservation, but we were standing there 45 minutes waiting). Paella de mariscos was very tastefull but they tried to charge us 20 eur more. After our complaint, they didn't even appologize. I know this is not Armando's fault, but maybe he should recommend some other restaurant, because our experience with La Rosa was very bad. At the same time, 2 more tables were also very unsatisfied.
But, all other advices from Armando were very useful.
Fernando also helped us every time we needed.

So all together, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room on the courtyard side don't have nice view but are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantaghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsorollacentro, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Customers, on behalf of all persons who are part of this great little Hotel Sorolla Centro familywelcomes your comments.
As you could see our Staff is young people but they are great professionals, they are the ones that get customers like you leave our Hotel with good memories. We are glad to know that you felt comfortable during your stay and our staff helped with everything you needed. Nobody better than you can evaluate our service and our facilities, quiet room, comfortable beds, fast and free WiFi and most importantly for us, cleaning inside and outside the room.
I convoyed to all the staff your comments as these help us to improve day by day with the sole aim of satisfying our customers.
I wouldn’t say goodbye without thanking you for trusting us and for giving your time to comment our Hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again in this your Hotel in Valencia.
Your sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

After taking in all the comments on Trip Adviser we booked Sorolla Centra and so glad we did. Just veer to the right pedestrian street from the north train station take the first right and you have arrived. We departed from the new station and walked back to Noed and took the free shuttle that runs every 10 mins so not sure why anyone would say its difficult. The guy on reception spoke excellent English and was very helpful with our many questions. We loved our room with its little balcony giving views to the action in the street below but also loved that when you closed the window any noise was minimal.

Yes the room is just big enough but well furnished and very comfortable. Everything was clean and the towels thick and fluffy. For those who commented about breakfast - there is a good range of foods to select from but there is also many cafes on the street if you want cheap!

We loved Valencia and had no trouble extending our accommodation for the same rate. A highly recommended hotel - great value for money.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsorollacentro, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Customers, we are glad to know that after you read other guests comments by TripAdvisor you decided to stay in our Hotel and get to know us personally. Thank you very much for appreciating our “Location – clean – friendly”, we appreciate every comment you indicate.
As you could see all the Staff is young people and great professionals, they are the ones that get customers like you leave our Hotel with good memories. I convoyed to all the staff your comments as these help us to improve day by day with the sole aim of satisfying our customers.
I wouldn’t say goodbye without thanking you for trusting us and for giving your time to comment our Hotel.
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel trough TripAdvisor for future customers.
We look forward to seeing you again in this your Hotel in Valencia.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a nice clean 3 star hotel with disappointing breakfast.

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Sorolla Centro in April 2012. As hotel website mentions they are very close to North Train Station. But, if you go to Valencia by RENFE AVE fast train then you arrive at the Joaquin Sorolla Station, not the North Train Station (Estacion Nord). Between the 2 train stations there are shuttle buses.

The location of the hotel is perfect for sightseeing; it is in center of Valencia, just few steps from most attractions.

The room and bathroom were very clean. There was free wi-fi in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, we were very disappointed by the breakfast. There were not many choices. And the fried egg was like plastic and smelled like fish. We could not eat it.

I recommend this hotel but not the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cehada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsorollacentro, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear guests:
As you can check on the comments left by previous guests in our Hotel’s TrypAdvisor page nobody before you had complaint about our Buffet Breakfast. Your degree of satisfaction can vary and we understand that, but we find it surprising your adjective “disappointing”. As a three star Hotel we are offering in our Buffet Breakfast a wide range of first quality products.
On the other hand, we are happy to know that you found perfect the Hotel’s location, its cleanliness, the friendliness and helpfulness of our Staff during your stay.
Regarding the Central Train Station, you could corroborate how close the Hotel is located from it, just 200 meters away, whereas just some months ago a new Station was built to receive the trains coming from Madrid and Barcelona (AVE (High Speed Train) and Euromed). It’s name is Joaquin Sorolla Station and is just 600 meters away from the Hotel.
To sum up, let me forward you on behalf of the Hotel Sorolla Staff our most sincere gratitude for your time.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is only a three star hotel, so don't expect a lobby, but the accommodations are very good and the personnel could not be more friendly. One caveat, the hotel information emphasizes the closeness to the North train station. This is true, however if you are using a fast train to or from Madrid or Barcelona you will arrive at another station one mile away from the North Station. The hotel is on a pedestrian area and you are close to everything in the center of the city. The wifi connection is very good. This is a very good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsorollacentro, Director General at Hotel Sorolla Centro, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear guests, thanks for your comments, yes we are a 3 stairs Hotel and as well you say you can’t expect a large hall but with our excellent service we try to compensate it. We are glad to know that you liked the rooms and that the staff was very kind during your stay in Valencia. As you could see our free Wifi service works perfectly.
Regarding the Main Railway Station, as you could verify it’s just 200 meters from our Hotel, but for the High Speed Trains “Euromed & AVE”, going to Barcelona or Madrid, a few months ago in Valencia opened the new Joaquin Sorolla Station and this one is just 600 meters from the Hotel.
I conveyed to the Staff your comments because they are who, with their professionalism make that our guests leave our Hotel with good memories.
I would not say goodbye without thanking you for trusting us and for giving your time to comment our Hotel.
Best regards not only mine, also from all the Staff because the Hotel Sorolla Centro is like a great small Family.
We look forward to seeing you again in this your Hotel in Valencia.
Thank you very much.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Hostal Venecia
#4 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#10 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
La Xerea
Caro Hotel
Caro Hotel
#1 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Hotel Kramer
#9 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorolla Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorolla Centro

Property: Hotel Sorolla Centro
Address: Calle Convento Santa Clara 5, 46002 Valencia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Valencia
#4 Family Hotel in Valencia
#6 Business Hotel in Valencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorolla Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sorolla Centro is located in one of the most commercial pedestrian areas of Valencia, just 100 meters from the City Hall Square, perfect to visit walking all the attractions of the Historic center, being perfectly communicated by Bus and Metro to any point of interest in the city including the Airport.Rooms are comfortable and with a modern décor, being fully equipped including LCD TV with International channels, (FREE WiFi and Safe Box) and the most important, in perfect conditions and cleanliness.We remember you that booking directly through our official website where you’ll always get the BEST AVAILABLE RATE and 1 welcome free Bottle of wine in your room the check in day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sorolla Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorolla Hotel Valencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing