We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The last stay EVER me thinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alameda Plaza
Ranked #75 of 98 Hotels in Valencia
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We used to stay here every year when we visited Valencia during the first 2 days of our summer holiday but August 2012 will be the last time. The staff are very nice and helpful however the issues last summer negated any good feelings they always instilled in us.

Major problem this year was the room we were given when we arrived at 01:00 on 15th August (after a long drive from Madrid with 2 young children) had a major leak from the bathroom and absolutely REAKED of damp. HOW THE CLEANERS DID NOT NOTICE THIS SMELL I DO NOT KNOW. However due to the lateness of arrival we stuck it out for the night. The next day we requested a move but the hotel had no family rooms left so we (2 adults & 2 children) had to make do with a double room with a sofa bed.

We received a 20% reduction on the bill however the rate the checkout girl used to apply the reduction was HIGHER than what we had booked via the hotel website so the reduction was only really 10%. I meant to chase up on this but after the holiday I let it go. My lack of goodwill for the hotel and this poor review is much more costly than the €10 less I received.

The old problems still persist:

- Breakfast quality average / never enough breakfast staff or plates or cups or on occasions food

- Two small slowwwwwww lifts to cater for all the guests hence at busy times you can wait for 10 to 15 minutes to go from a high floor to ground.

- Some family rooms not quite wide/large enough for families and as we always arrive around midnight (after our Madrid drive) we tend to get what others have rejected.

- Some of the room towels have as much softness and drying capacity as sandpaper. Always have to go to the housekeeping trolley and choose better ones.

- Checkout can take a while at busy times as the reception desk is small

Next year we have booked 2 nights at the BARCELLO VALENCIA which has better reviews and a more modern feel to cater for the number of guests staying.

We will actually miss not staying at the holiday inn - the staff are VERY NICE & helpful - BUT ENOUGH WAS ENOUGH LAST AUGUST.

Room Tip: Low floors becuase the lift service is poor during busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_O_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

A group of us stayed for a week while visiting the MotoGP, we had 3 rooms between us and apart from having to keep asking for more tea / coffee / milk in the rooms they were absolutely fine... two large beds in our twin room, dressing table, tv (only news channel was in english), kettle, fridge (which wasnt cold at all), hairdryer in bathroom, toiletries, bath and shower, cleaned daily. We were on floor 7, theres two small lifts but we never had to wait long. We didnt have the breakfast option, even when offered at a reduced price but found a lovely cafe about 2 minutes walk away. We did have lunch once in the bar area - it was just a pizza but wasnt very good... undercooked, very soggy and was basically a plate of melted cheese. All staff I encountered were friendly and helpful, and their English is much better than my Spanish. Its about a 20 minute walk to the Old Town and less than 10mins to the City of Arts... I'd definately look at staying here again next year when we go for the races.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adaviesFromWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been to this property (because of convenience to the business meetings) for the last 4 years. I made the decision I will not be back.

The ownership has done absolutely nothing (slow internet, slow elevators, old carpeting, skeleton crew even if the hotel is fully booked to improve and/or to upkeep the property). Granted, it is a Holiday Inn but the price charged is of a 4 star. Therefore, the service should be commensurate with the price charged. I feel as if I am in a do it yourself place; which by the way I don't mind as long as the price is for a do it yourself hotel.

It appears they are now catering to large groups of Asian travelers; the use a big portion of the hotel and that is great for the hotel, unfortunately the elevators are tiny and slow making it difficult when you have 50-60 patrons leaving the hotel at the same time.

The restaurant.- quality of the food is poor. What really enervates me is that the have 1-2 persons catering to 1 or 100 customers; they ran out of food obviously because the consumption is faster than the people replacing it. Does the owner ever comes to the property during breakfast? The personnel cannot clean the tables fast enough to have other patrons use them, cannot refill the beverages nor the food. If you don't get there early and if the hotel is booked, you will see empty serving platters, like a hurricane hit the restaurant.

I have been doing reviews for a while; in general I try to be on the positive side but not in this case.

Valencia is a beautiful city, try booking a more comfortable place unless you can get the per night rate for about 30 euros...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandyManMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

First of all thank you very much for your feedback. I am the director and usually arrived at the hotel at 7:30 am. I can assure you of normal breakfast no problems except the days that customers suddenly down to the restaurant which makes it not possible to meet all at once. Hence we have indicated in the elevators and reception schedules largest occupation in breakfast for the customer to choose a time where there will be less staff. I really am sorry your feeling, is also grateful to the further review staffing schedules.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the holiday inn for a week to visit the city and more importantly the Moto GP 2012.
It is well situated approximately 25 min walk from the centre of the old town and 5 min from the City of Arts. Easy access to local buses every 10mins, and the tourist bus every 30mins.
The hotel reception are friendly and speak good english, they were helpfull with directions and free maps are available at the desk.
We stayed room only, but were offered an option on arrival for breakfast everyday for just under 10 euros per person per day, which we didn't take, it is usually 14.40 euros per person.
We instead found a cafe within 2mins walk where breakfast was approx 4 euros each.
We had lunch at the holiday inn once, edible but not great - hamburger, fries, side salad and coke 10 euros. Drinks at the bar are expensive 4.64 euros for local pint (500ml) beer.
Kettle, teas and coffee in room but only 2 small milk portions ask at reception and you'll get another 2.
Safe in room, tested this by locking and attempt to over ride, it locked up and reception sent someone up immediately to reset. always worth testing if the safes don't have the 0000,1234 or simular over ride numbers.
Fridge in room is not very cold.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are large single beds, double are super king size but smaller room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear richiedavies

Thank you very much for your review. We take note around your feedback.

Best Regards

Juan Carlos Sanjuan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great hotel good location, Staff very helpful, Our room was clean and comfortable, Cannot comment on the food as we ate out,Had a drink at the bar and was very nice,We used taxi rather than driving parking a problem in Valencia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teejay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear teejay11

Thank You very much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

On arrival we were advised we could have a double room but with two single beds or a double smoking room with double bed athough it may not have been used by smokers even although we had booked a double non smoking room months previously. For a four star hotel we did not expect to find small holes in the bottom bed sheet and a larger hole in bottom pillowcase. Staff were very friendly and apart from this we had a pleasant stay. Desk manager was very helpful in arranging transport to the Moto GP race track for us for which we very very grateful. l

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear rebecca f

Thank you very much for your review. Now we must speak with the Laundry to know what's happend with the bedding

Juan Carlos Sanjuan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having stayed here the last time we were in Valencia in 2008 and being very pleased with our stay - we returned for a one night stay driving through Valencia. The hotel is located in a nice area by the park surrounding the city and within easy strolling distance of many attractions. A short taxi ride to the old town - or a longer stroll will get you downtown.

The hotel has the pool on the roof - which our daughter and we enjoyed during our last visit. Surprise surprise - its still there, but now there is no one manning the bar (you can get it sent up via room service) which was a little disappointing as a cup of coffee gets rather lukewarm after a long elevator ride, the fitness room adjoining the pool areas seems a little run down, the water dispenser is filled "now and then", etc. You get the picture Im sure.

The rooms were large and clean - with the exception that I couldn’t seem to close the window. This until I noticed the cigarette butte stuck in the frame. Once removed by me (not the cleaning lady) the window could close properly.

The hotel is still good - still a great breakfast - and ok service. Not as good as it was 6 years ago. But would I return? Yes - I would most likely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. The pool area is closed in winter weather reasons. I regret that in the window had butts. I talked to the housekeeper about what happened so that it does not recur.

I hope see uou soon

Juan Carlos Sanjuán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Rey Don Jaime
Eurostars Rey Don Jaime
#56 of 98 in Valencia
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Medium Valencia
Hotel Medium Valencia
#59 of 98 in Valencia
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Valencia Las Artes
NH Valencia Las Artes
#35 of 98 in Valencia
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Valencia
Barcelo Valencia
#30 of 98 in Valencia
1,988 reviews
4.5 mi away
TRYP Valencia Feria
TRYP Valencia Feria
#45 of 98 in Valencia
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Valencia Ciudad Las Ciencias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alameda Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alameda Plaza

Address: Paseo Alameda 38 | Solher Alameda, 46023 Valencia, Spain (Formerly Holiday Inn Valencia)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Valencia
Price Range: $50 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alameda Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is a modern 4* Hotel situated besides the City of Arts and Science. With good access to the city center and the beach.You can enjoy of our high speed wifi, have a nice meal at our restaurant or have a drink in the evening in our terrace.We have a wide variety of rooms including family rooms for a maximum of 4 adults or 2 adults and 2 children.For business travelers, we can offer our executive floor, with more space for working confortable in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alameda Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Valencia Hotel Valencia
Valencia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing