We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveler rating
174
429
338
133
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
429
338
133
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the holiday inn old town walking distance business trip tourist bus clean hotel euros spain minibar
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week in September.

Hotel is in a fairly good location, about 30 mins walk to the beach, about 20 minutes walk into town but close to the large Turia park.

Staff were all friendly. We were upgarded to a suite on the top floor, so room was very large and had great views from the coast to the old town. Room had free WIFI, large lcd tv, sofa.

Our rate included breakfast, this was a good buffet breakfast. Fair choice, but always busy. Always managed to get a table though.

Happy Hour cocktails were good.

Rooftop pool was small, but did the job.

The Tourist bus stops right outside the hotel.

Check out the Pizzaria across the road, the Pizza's are ENORMOUS.... So are the salads. Very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksmith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, Director General at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Marksmith34

Thank you very much for your review to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in person the next time you visit

attentively

Juan Carlos Sanjuan
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Amazingly affordable rates for a very clean and comfortable hotel in Valencia. The Wifi was free and there was a field behind the hotel where people could park for free (Although they don't tell you this.) There are two wine bars immediately outside the hotel and other cafe's and pizza parlors nearby. The Hotel also has a cafe/bar and a restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falco7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, General Manager at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Falco:

Thank You very much for your review. It's very important for us to know who our guest fell in our hotel.

I hope see you soon.

Juan Carlos Sanjuán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights (Sat, Sun, Mon). Managed to snag the non-refundable pre-pay nightly rate of 75 euros which did not include breakfast. Given that it was a nice-sized room, bright, in a good location and has all the modern conveniences, the price was well worth it. The wifi signal was strong and no code required. These were the most comfy matresses we slept on (not too hard or soft). Our room had two double beds and at least 2 feet of space between the beds. Many mid-priced European hotels have two twin beds situated right next to each other.

As others have mentioned, the magnetic key swipe system to operate the two small elevators took some getting used to.

A Mercadona supermarket was two short blocks away (near the Tennis Center) and handy for stocking up on fruit, drinks and snacks. There is a small refrigerator below the tea/coffee-making facility near the door.

Since it was the weekend, the town center was packed. After having spent 9 days in Andalucia, arriving in Spain's 3rd largest City was an eye opener. The whole atmosphere changed after we left that area to visit the grounds of the City Arts and Sciences/Ciutat de les Arts I Les Ciences. My sister is an architect and Calavatra fan so naturally she was awed. As an amateur photographer, I could not stop taking pictures from every angle imaginable.

On Sunday, we had a late paella lunch after walking along Malvarrosa Beach on Paseo de Neptuno. Having read that most Valencianos eat paella for lunch rather than dinner, we sought out either La Pepica or L'Estimat. Not surprisingly, these two restaurants did not have staff outside trying to lure in customers. We noticed many local families and some visitors in both and chose L'Estimat. Paella Valenciana is made with rabbit so we stuck to Paella Marisco (seafood). All servings are for a minimum of two persons. 17 euros per serving for the paella plus 1.50 euros per person "bread charge" (did not matter if you ate the bread or not). All the tourists were seated in the same area of the restaurant. Eat the bread, because the wait for the paella was 50 minutes despite the waiter telling you it is 25 minutes. The food was good and authentic, but not the earth-shattering experience I had hoped for.

Afterwards, we went to the Science Center. We purchased the combination ticket which included the Science Museum (nice architecture but the exhibits are so-so; compared to the Science Museums in Philadelphia, Chicago and San Francisco), an iMax movie (we saw "Sea Monsters" - the English translation was provided through a separate headset but could not drown out the Spanish which was blaring through the theatre) and the Oceanografic/Aquarium. We saved the Aquarium for Monday which was the best of the three. It had a unique layout and a pretty good dolphin show.

I had heard that October 9 was a Valencian holiday but had no idea that it was also a Festival of Pyrotechnics. At midnight, we were woken up after hearing several loud explosions. We saw the reflection of fireworks off the windows from a building accross the street. So we got dressed, ran oustide, and not far from the hotel entrance facing Turia Park, hundreds of locals were in the street watching the fireworks display. It was an unexpected surprise.

Make sure you visit the Central Market. We enjoyed some fresh-squeezed juices and empanadas. I also purchased handmade chocolates shaped like olives, chocolate covered blueberries and nougat from the friendly owner who kept giving us free samples (Vann's).

In short, the Holiday Inn is situated nicely between the Ciutat Vella and the modern Science City. It is located in a residential neighborhood right along Turia Park. If you are a biker, jogger or enjoy strolling, this is an ideal location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dushi-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, General Manager at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thak you very much foor your review, When we put the system in the elevator access was controlled to ensure safety to our customers. Given that he has been bothered more benefit we proceeded to disconnect.

Juan Carlos Sanjuán
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

BEST service, great staff, very clean , great restaurant, EXTREMELY helpful and knowledgeable people who speak english and if they don;'t they find someone who can, Take there time to make sure you know exactly what is on and how to get to everywhere. Alex. was awesome Awesome restaurant across the road. Big red bus service across road easy walk to town, What more could one ask for.

Room Tip: Couldnt go wrong booking in here
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank von s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, General Manager at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Bons

Thany you for your review. Alex is a awesone recepcionist, you tell the truth.

I hope see you soon in our hotel.

Juan Carlos Sanjuan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This Holiday Inn is in an impressive building on the edge of a roundabout. It has free underground parking, free internet and the price was very reasonable, so ticks all the boxes.

You can walk to the old town and a taxi takes less than 10 mins.

We went to the DTM race and that took about 25 mins. It is 15 mins from the Airport and the roads are fairly direct to the hotel. It is a fairly clear route.

The room was quite basic and felt a bit old, with a big structural pillar in the middle of the room. Bed was fine. Walls were thin and you could hear the neighbours quite a bit.

Lighting in the lobby is strange and does nothing to create a warm atmosphere.

They did not take a copy of our credit card and so it made it difficult to buy breakfast etc which was not included in our package. Breakfast is not until 8am on the weekend which was too late for us.

So a convenient hotel at a great price, but not the most luxurious we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLIDAYINNV, General Manager at Hotel Alameda Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

The parking at the hotel is not free, it depends on the rate that can be hired.

Thank you for your kind comments.

I hope see you soon in the hotel

Juan Carlos Sanjuan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews